We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience at the Kirby House!”
Review of The Kirby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kirby
Ranked #4 of 7 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntley, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome experience at the Kirby House!”
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast, and our first trip to Michigan. The weekend will be forever in our memories and we plan to go back soon.

To start with, the Kirby House is beautiful. The attention to detail and the overall experience cannot be beat. The owners, Ray and Jim, were very friendly and helped us make the most out of our short 2-evening stay. They directed us to local favorites and even helped with directions. They made the stay extra special since we were celebrating a birthday. They provided balloons, cake, and a sign for the door. They even sang Happy Birthday at breakfast! Speaking of the breakfasts, they were outstanding. We are vegetarians and there was always plenty of food to select from. The cookies by the door morning, noon, and night were a great touch too. I think I gained some weight during our short stay (LOL).

We stayed in the Ann Bolyn room which had a very nice private bath adjacent to the room as well as a nice porch overlooking the beautiful pool and hot tub. We lucked out with great weather so we hit the pool a few times. The water was crystal clear and nice and warm.

The Saugatuck/Douglas area is a real gem. There is so much to do and see. So many shopping options and this is no traditional little quaint shopping village, these shops really had some different things that I have never seen before. I was really impressed with the prices too. Things were not marked up as they are in some of our shopping areas in Illinois and Wisconsin. Food was good everywhere we ate, but our two favorite places were in Douglas. You absolutely must try the Everyday People Cafe. The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. We were completely impressed. The other good place is right across the street at the Fire Dog Grill. This was a beautiful place with a great outdoor eating area.

We will be going back to the Kirby House soon. I can't rate it high enough.

  • Liked — The house was beautiful and the staff was wondeful.
  • Disliked — Would have like to pay a little less, but the Kirby House is comparable to other B&B in the area.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cmsxqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

The Kirby House was our first bed-and-breakfast experience, and likely, our best. Having stayed at other b&bs since then, it still remains at the top of the list. The Kirby House has a delicate balance of everything: privacy yet sociability, comfort yet elegance, modernity yet antiquey, and peaceful yet fun.

To begin, Jim and Ray are extremely friendly, helpful, and sociable. They are interested in their guests and they really take the time to get to know them. Therefore, the guests they attract are similarly fun, easy going, and open-minded folks. Breakfast time is the best; most of the fellow guests are very easy to talk to and the atmosphere isn't pompous. Everyone is welcome at the Kirby House.

Another reason to stay at the Kirby House is for the breakfast menu. Presented buffet style, there is a perfect mix of all kinds of items from gourmet pancakes to omelets. No four course menu of miniature portions that are drawn out and overly etiquette driven. There's good eatin' here and the eatin's quick for those who want to get out early and shop/sightsee.

I recommend The Kirby House for those who want a stress-free experience in an elegant setting without the stuffy attitude.

  • Liked — Room size, food, location, hospitality
  • Disliked — No TV
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank whitesandfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2005

For 18 years, my partner and I have spent Labor Day at the Kirby House in Saugatuck/Douglas, Michigan. We love it! The current owners, Ray Riker and Jim Gowran, have really found the perfect formula: warm hosts, gorgeous Victorian home, and breakfasts to die for (thanks Ray!). It is a gay friendly house, but lots of families and straight couples stay here, too. It's a very open and welcoming place.

Check it out. You'll fall in love too.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2005

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the Kirby House once per year for the last 5 years. We love it! Jim and Ray are wonderful hosts. The Kirby House is in Douglas-right down the street from Saugatuck. The house is great in winter or summer. The rooms are very comfortable (some have fireplaces) and you can get rooms with a private bathroom. There is an inground pool as well as a hot tub in the back yard. The Breakfast is not to be missed-perfection! Be sure to get the homemade coffeee (we always take some home with us). You will feel at home in this B&B (we have stayed at 2 others in the area, and this is our favorite). One February we were driving to Kirby House from Chicago and there was a terrible snow storm-the driving conditions were terrible and we were tense when we finally arrived late Friday night. As soon as we walked in and smelled the freshly baked cookies, were handed a glass of wine and went to our room where Jim and Ray had put on jazz music, we knew we were in for yet another great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Essie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
3.6 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
345 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pines Motor Lodge
The Pines Motor Lodge
#2 of 4 in Douglas
144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kirby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kirby

Property: The Kirby
Address: 294 West Center, Saugatuck-Douglas, Douglas, MI 49406 (Formerly Kirby House)
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kirby 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirby is a boutique hotel where old world meets new world... an 1890s Victorian with a modern, hip interior. The Kirby has a restaurant, wine bar, outdoor dining, a garden and pond. It is perfect for a romantic getaway for 2 and to host special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Kirby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kirby Douglas, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing