We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Michigan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely stay at the Sherwood Forest B&B. The owners were more than accommodating. Only a one minute walk to lake Michigan and a little farther to the entire Oval beach area, I highly recommend this early 20th century home to anyone thinking of visiting the Saugatuck area. FYI, the B&Bs in Saugatuck (Eagleton) are way overpriced for what is actually a much friendlier accommodating village in Douglas (Pawnee), which is where the Sherwood is located. As we walked to Saugatuck for shopping and dinner (a 40 minute walk), we found it a refreshing break from our normal walking routine. Yes our Spring Break was a little chilly, but we found the area extremely pleasant, as it was not inhabited by the typical resort town aficionados.

Room Tip: Look into the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

I did not stay at this bed and breakfast, so I cannot honestly rate the actual rooms, food, etc., but I can speak about the owner. Before you book, ask for the refund policy. No refund policy is listed on their website. I paid dearly for my mistake of booking 3 nights and calling to cancel after the first night. To quote the owner " I have your money and I am going to keep it." He refused to make any accommodation. I was issued no refund, even after going to my bank and protesting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sannieoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irobot, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Fan's of Trip Advisor:

My humble apologies for the one circle rating we received. This person could be no further from the truth. We did charge them for their entire stay for the following reason. They never called and canceled. They booked through bedandbreakfast.com which went into our reservation software. we then sent them a confirmation and directions 56 days ahead of their stay. When they never showed, I emailed them and called them repeatedly. So we thought they were just running late and placed a note on the door. When they didn't come down for breakfast. We decided to charge them. Within 5 minutes, we received a call. We were asked why we charged them when they never made the reservation. (they called from around the corner-the innkeeper called me after we hung up). I was like huh, by some hocus pocus, I miraculously obtained your name, your e-mail address, your home address, your phone number and credit card number with expiration date. We had a paper trail from here to the moon and back. Turned out they told him, the e-mail went into their spam folder or something like that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stand by my rather very positive and very thorough (also very long!) review from April 2011. Whenever I visit the Saugatuck/Douglas area I shall stay here. The house is a perfectly maintained and beautifully decorated (see earlier review) old home steps from a small public Lake Michigan beach (though one can walk for at least an hour or so in either direction along the water's edge), the very pleasant hosts are helpful and attentive without pushing themselves on guests, and the breakfasts are home-cooked and delicious. Located in a quiet neighborhood - but only a minute from the very laid back and small "downtown" Douglas or about five minutes to the larger and livelier Saugatuck. it is a wonderful place to relax, enjoy the Lake's beauties - and, if you like, eat at any of the number of varying types of restaurants to be found in Douglas and Saugatuck (my favorite is Everyday People's Cafe in Douglas) or visit art galleries or shops specializing in gifts, clothing, kitchenware or antiques (the large "antique mall" at the edge of town is large and well-run.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmaEthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Such a lovely setting, just a little drive from Douglas/Saugatuck and within walking distance of Lake Michigan. Absolutely beautiful wrap-around porch - made me want to sit outside with a good book all day! Breakfast was tasty. The hosts were extremely friendly yet not at all overbearing. When we arrived, Keith greeted us, and while we sipped our complementary drinks, gave us his personal recommendations for restaurants, etc. We only stayed one night but I wish it could have been much longer. Oh, and the bed felt like heaven.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MI_Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was the best bed and breakfast we have ever been to. The accommodations were beautiful and full of detail. The breakfast was amazing and the owners were very helpful and nice. They gave us ideas about where to visit and eat during our stay and all of their advice was great. And the scenery and grounds are beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifersalas1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way home from Michigan. Our room was lovely, and clean, with charming appointments. The bed was so comfortable! Sue and Keith are terrific innkeepers, and we felt welcomed and well treated. Breakfast was delicious. Because we were in a hurry to get home, we did not stay and use all the facilities, but we will be back. Biking on the lake shore sounds wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband surprised me for our 13th anniversary with a quick getaway weekend out of town and we stayed here in the log cabin suite. We were very pleased with the room and the hosts,Keith and Sue. Our room was large and the bathroom with jacuzzi tub was awesome. We met Keith and sue in the morning when she made cinnamon French toast and they were very friendly and made us feel very comfortable. They assisted my husband in making the weekend even more special when they purchased roses and champagne and had them waiting in the room upon checkin. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
4.3 mi away
Hop & Vine Inn
Hop & Vine Inn
#1 of 2 in Fennville
37 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
81 reviews
4.2 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 19 in Saugatuck
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
134 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.4 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 19 in Saugatuck
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 938 Center St, PO Box 893, Douglas, MI 49406-5140
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £116 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style, surrounded by woods, this beautiful home offers antique-furnished guest rooms with private baths, cozy wing chairs and Persian rugs. Three suites available, two with Jacuzzi-fireplace. Travel on Safari in our signature suite, the Safari Room, boasting 440 sq. ft. with a large sitting room, walk in shower and claw foot tub, decorated with authentic South African artifacts. Don your terry cloth bathrobe and have breakfast on your own private balcony in the forest. Our Tree Tops room sports a hand-painted mural that transforms the room into a canopied tree loft, complemented by gas fireplace. Heated pool, bicycles, 1/2 block to Lake Michigan public beach and spectacular sunsets. In winter, X-country ski or hike wooded paths. Separate cottage also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest b&b
Sherwood Forest Hotel Douglas
Sherwood Forest Bed And Breakfast Douglas, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing