We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a weekend getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. We enjoyed every aspect of the stay and found the B&B very welcoming and accomidating. The hosts made excellent dinner eccomendations and would help book resverations. The house is very welcoming and has a nice living room if you need to teak a break from enjoying the nearby towns.

The rooms are very large, and a seperate sitting area is great for relxation. I highly reccomend the rooms with the larger bath-rooms, as the whirl pool tubs are very relaxing. The beakfast is excellent and very accomidating. You're given a two hour window to arrive and a hot plate of food is immediatly brought to you. Coffee is fesh and constantly re-brewed.

It's was within walking distance of Saugatuck, it's a loner walk but very doable. The chain ferry was not in operation so we could not get to the downtown without driving. The nearby beach of lake Michigna is not to be missed.

There is a refrigerator in the bathroom which is great for chilled wine or bringing home a leftover if you need a mid day snack. only negative was the bed was a little firm but hopefully it's a newer matress that is being broken in.

Overall this is a great value for the town.

Room Tip: i reccomend the log cabin or Victoria) other room with large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mookdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just got back from a wonderful long weekend stay at the Sherwood Forest B&B in Douglas, MI. I can't say enough about how much our group of 10 staying at the B&B had. Not only were the owners Jim and Nolene fantastic and accommodating, the place was impeccably clean. The breakfasts that we had during our stay were delicious. I loved the granola offered with the breakfast each morning along with the hot breakfast served daily. Yummy!!! Plan to go back. Keep up the good work and look forward to seeing some of the decorating changes you talked about.

Room Tip: All rooms were wonderful since each of the rooms were occupied by someone from our group and I was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have come at least once yearly to the Sherwood Forest B & B for the past 5 years, and it is because the place is just wonderful. We booked the Treetops room for the first 2 years and then upgraded to the Log Cabin Suite. For about $50 more a night you get a huge suite: two rooms with a living/sleeping area and a gaunt jacuzzi bath with a wet bar, fridge and shower. The new owners are great! Jim bakes and Nolene cooks and the food was amazing! They even made me a special breakfast to accommodate that I am vegan. The older bikes gave been replaced with cruisers and the pool is a delightful 84 degrees. We will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHANNOUSHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friends and I have returned to Douglas, Michigan every Summer and we stumbled across this little gem! The new owners of this bed and breakfast from the moment we checked in made us feel welcome and greeted us with wine! The rooms were top notch with very comfortable beds and each morning we were served the most delicious breakfast! The heated pool was the best part..so very relaxing and enjoyable. The location is so ideal for walking to the beach or taking an afternoon bike ride. So much to do!!!! I highly recommend staying at the Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast..you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Tree Top room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith_of_Sherwood, Owner at Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Brad,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We so enjoyed having the four of you with us and look forward to a fun time at the pool with you next year!! Margaritas on us next year ...
David, Jim & Noelene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary this weekend. I'm telling you, if you plan on visiting the Douglas/Saugatuck area this is the place you want to stay at. It is a 5 minute walk to a beautiful beach and the house is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Victorian Suite and it was amazing! The new owners made us feel right at home and the breakfast they provide is top notch. They have a one of a kind pool and even have bikes and beach chairs for their guests. WE WILL BE BACK!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My friends and I stayed in the Sherwood Forest bed and breakfast over Memorial Day weekend. The ownership of the inn has recently changed and the new owners go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The breakfast was outstanding with a hot entree along with fresh fruit, scones or breads, granola and yoghurt every day. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The veranda is a perfect place to sit and read a book. In the morning, you can take a short walk to the beach or to the quaint town of Douglas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethcotner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely stay at the Sherwood Forest B&B. The owners were more than accommodating. Only a one minute walk to lake Michigan and a little farther to the entire Oval beach area, I highly recommend this early 20th century home to anyone thinking of visiting the Saugatuck area. FYI, the B&Bs in Saugatuck (Eagleton) are way overpriced for what is actually a much friendlier accommodating village in Douglas (Pawnee), which is where the Sherwood is located. As we walked to Saugatuck for shopping and dinner (a 40 minute walk), we found it a refreshing break from our normal walking routine. Yes our Spring Break was a little chilly, but we found the area extremely pleasant, as it was not inhabited by the typical resort town aficionados.

Room Tip: Look into the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kirby
The Kirby
#3 of 7 in Douglas
64 reviews
4.2 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
202 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hop & Vine Inn
Hop & Vine Inn
#1 of 2 in Fennville
36 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 938 Center St, PO Box 893, Douglas, MI 49406-5140
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £117 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style, surrounded by woods, this beautiful home offers antique-furnished guest rooms with private baths, cozy wing chairs and Persian rugs. Three suites available, two with Jacuzzi-fireplace. Travel on Safari in our signature suite, the Safari Room, boasting 440 sq. ft. with a large sitting room, walk in shower and claw foot tub, decorated with authentic South African artifacts. Don your terry cloth bathrobe and have breakfast on your own private balcony in the forest. Our Tree Tops room sports a hand-painted mural that transforms the room into a canopied tree loft, complemented by gas fireplace. Heated pool, bicycles, 1/2 block to Lake Michigan public beach and spectacular sunsets. In winter, X-country ski or hike wooded paths. Separate cottage also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sherwood Forest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest b&b
Sherwood Forest Hotel Douglas
Sherwood Forest Bed And Breakfast Douglas, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing