We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite of ours”
Review of Wood Fire

Wood Fire
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Dowagiac
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A favorite of ours”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We visit Wood Fire several times a year; most recently for our cousin's 21st birthday and the month before for mother-in-law's 91st birthday. Whether we're celebrating something special or just having dinner with friends, we always have a great experience. Food is a little expensive, bur worth it because it is always so good. Great wine selection and service has always been wonderful. Have seen an improvement since the new owner came in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    21
    21
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a GREAT 96th Birthday Dinner for a relative at the Wood Fire in Dowagiac, MI this past week

The staff was helpful and the dinners were excellent. The Chicken Florentine was excellent, as was the special for the night Shrimp and Steak. The Pot Roast and the Salmon were also excellent.

Salads are fresh, large, excellent and easily shared.

Much of the cooking is done a wood fired pizza oven. Servings are generous.

THis was our thrid trip to this resturant with family or friends in the past 2 months.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank none202011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pricy pizza”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Nice venue, its an old retail store with second floor merchandice storage. It had a tin ceiling and nice bar area. The wood fired oven is front center when you walk in. Intitially I was turned off by the pricing. The price for a small 8 to 10" personal pan size thin crust pizza was 12 and change. I think that's steep for pizza. It was a disappointment since I really like pizza cooked in a wood fired oven. There were four of us. Two chose the rib special which came with a choice of soup or salad. Both chose salad. We had pasta arrabiata and wild mushroom lasagna. Both dishes were well done though the lasagna was better. The past arrabiata used spagetti noodles and did not contain any meat. I'm sure they offered that but at additional cost. The sauce was spicy but not overly so. It did have a smokey note which I found pleasing and a nice touch. The ribs had a nice sauce. It was spicy sweet with a smokey note. The meat however was very firm is the way I would describe it. They were not fall off the bone type ribs or the rubbed and cooked variety. They were tougher than that. The salad's were done very well. The olive oil, balsamic vinegar house dressing was very good. They provided bread at the table with an olive oil, grated parmasian, dipping oil to accompany the bread. There was also a hard taco sort of bread that dressed up the dish somewhat. It had black sesame seeds in it. Overall the meal was very good. I'd skip the ribs if your expecting fall off the bone tender ribs. The pizza was a dissapointment... just too costly for what you got.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Out of their League”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Not consistent. Food orders are incorrect at times and the staff in not well skilled.

Menu is Italian in name but not in taste. If you are looking for consistent service and real Italian cuisine look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank F00dy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Dowagiac”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband was not impressed neither was I. Its a regular overprized restaurant. The menu is not the greatest. Their food is not the greatest. Overall its ok. The lunch menu is okay. The diner menu is over prized with two 4oz Chicken Florentine for like $24, very pricy for a very small meal. Service, I can't deny is vey good. Cleanliness...mmm.. I didn't like sitting in a both with crumps all over. If you like food with South, Mexican, Etc. flavor do not try the Walleye fillet it is vey plain no flavor at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 444melissaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wood Fire also viewed

Dowagiac, Cass County
Dowagiac, Cass County
 
Dowagiac, Cass County
Dowagiac, Cass County
 

Been to Wood Fire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing