We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UN-satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Splash Universe Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dundee
Reviewed 19 March 2014

As a employee of the Hilton corp, I was un- satisfied with my visit to this hotel. Water park was closed. No information on site about this. Then the pool was extremely COLD . We informed the desk clerk. Then had to call again and ask about a terrible sewer smell in the entire room, which the night auditor came up and sprayed alot of extremely strong spray that choked my son all night Also the bed seemed worn out and very uncomfortable to sleep on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Splash Universe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear janet h,

Thank you for your staying with us and for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an email with additional details.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at this Holiday Inn Express February 24, 2014. Had to stop here are my husband has surgery. The handicap room was spacious and cozy... Everyone made us feel welcome. My husband is in a wheelchair noticed that your facility had a lift for your swimming pool. We weren't able to use it but we now where we can come too.... ALSO nice to see that you are close to CABLEAS!!!! Happy Man!!!! :)

To all of the staff & to the two front desk crew Jessica & Courtney AMAZIBG Girls..... They were both soooo help me. Anything I need they helped me with and went over and bond....

Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queenie1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here during business trip, mostly because it's a Holiday Inn property and I'm a Platinum member. The front desk crew were friendly. Was disappointed that the fitness center included a treadmill that was out of order and an eliptical unit that the control center did not work. Not much to offer int he fitness center so it's additionally frustrating when two thirds of the machines have problems. Less than friendly greeting at the restaurant for breakfast so I skipped breakfast. I don't want to spend more for a hotel breakfast with somone who acts like they don't care if I'm there or not. Room was ok. All said, i would probably stay here again next time I'm here on business but I hope they fix the fitness center machines and cheer up their restaurant staff. At least the greeter.

Room Tip: If you just need a place to sleep and you're here for business or the nearby Cabella's, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minus5torr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Splash Universe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear minus5torr,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the facilities. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed since we were going to the water park. the hotel was crowded. Our kids were worn out and in bed by 10:30, but it seemed as if every other room around us was horsi g around until about 3am. Our kids slept through it, but my wife and I didn't.

The water park is not worth the money at all. About 6 water slides. 2 big ones and about 4 medium ones. no pool per se, there was a lazy river with a tiny center "pool-like" area. We left and went to the pool in the hotel.

The staff, however, was rather cutious and very helpful. The food was a little better than average.

This hotel would be good for 10-15 year old kids that want to ay all night, not anyone who wants to get a good nights rest.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robbieb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Splash Universe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear robbieb79,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by your water park experience. I want to assure you that your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Took the kids here over winter break; chlorine smell so strong we couldn't stay long in waterpark, waterpark and its restrooms not very clean and had broken places that didn't seem very safe (nets the kids used for ladders had broken places). Stayed at the Holiday Inn overnight, beds were good but shower was the worst I've ever seen, with poor water pressure and small showerhead; took forever to get wet then rinsed. Noise from the hall seemed excessive. Kids liked the arcade despite several games not working. Wouldn't do this trip to the waterpark again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Splash Universe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Carla B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of our facilities. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We took our daughter and her friend here over winter break and they had a real good time. The place was great for the kids but kind of a bummer for the adults. Upon entering the water park I went into the men's locker room and it smelled a little of mildew, and had no place to change. We were staying at a hotel nearby not the one connected to the park so we purchased day passes. After changing we had to purchase 2 lockers that were completely packed because they were too small. Then we went to find somewhere to sit so the adults could enjoy their day. No where to sit so we had to take chairs from the food court and sit them in the middle of the water park next to a bench so there was enough space for the four of us. The food was bad and very expensive, but the service from the attendants in the food court was excellent. The only full service bar was upstairs and not easily accessible. The water park was small and when the next days hotel guests checked in the attractions became very overcrowded to the point that I became concerned for my daughter and her friend being in the lazy river. having been to water parks in Frankenmuth, and Boyne this one is kind of disappointing especially for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rf2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Splash Universe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear rf2316,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review of our hotel water park. It was great to read you like our hotel staff service. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore I am sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We regret that we were unable to meet your expectations with our hospitality and water park facility. Management has been made aware of these issues and it will be addressed immediately.

We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We went with friends for an overnight stay at the Holiday Inn and waterpark. Our family visited Splash Universe several years ago and didn't care for it (thought it was very dirty) but thought we'd give it another try. The renovations completed a couple of years ago were badly needed and made the waterpark much more enjoyable for our kids, However, no matter where we went the service was poor and very understaffed. You'd think they would plan for more people during the holidays but obviously not. There were long lines and long waits at the snack shack and Tree house restaurant. Our room was fine but door on bathroom was broken. Unless we are making a trip to Cabelas and need a place to stay, we wont be back.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank GreatLakesBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Splash Universe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear GreatLakesBeauty,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
955.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dundee
904.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Dundee
904.1 mi away
Quality Inn Dundee
Quality Inn Dundee
#2 of 4 in Dundee
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Universe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Universe Resort

Address: 100 Whitetail Dr, Dundee, MI 48131-8607 (Formerly Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark)
Region: United States > Michigan > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range: £64 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Splash Universe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests must purchase Water Park Package Rate to access Splash Universe. No other rates apply. The water park will be closed certain days in April, May & June. Call hotel for hours and days of operation.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites and Splash Universe Water Park Resort is located right next to Cabela s and designed to mirror and complement the great outdoors signature of the world s foremost outfitter. Ideal for those traveling on business or the vacation-minded family looking for an exciting getaway, Splash Universe is a year-round destination. The resort features: 163 themed guest rooms and suites, Shooting Star Arcade, The Trading Post Gift Shop, The Tree House Pub & Grub Restaurant and individual party rooms, ideal for any type of Splash Celebration. The resort also features over 70 bunk bed suites including a separate TV in the bunk area, refrigerators, microwaves, DVD players and much, more! The Splash Universe Indoor Water Park features: Goldmine Adventure Water Slides, Hot Springs Adult Hot Tub, a Lazy River, a zero entry Lil Squirt Pool, and Treehouse Water Fun play area. After a long day of work or play, have a seat & enjoy dinner in the adjoining Tree House Pub & Grub overlooking the water park.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located near downtown Historic Dundee. Dundee offers many shops including Swan Creek Candle Co. and St. Julian Winery. The hotel is also located near many company offices & plants with local and regional bases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splash Universe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Dundee Hotel Dundee
Holiday Inn Dundee
Dundee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing