We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place to visit!!”
Review of Cabela's

Cabela's
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pinckney, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A fun place to visit!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were staying at the Holiday Inn next door and visiting the water park so we walked over with the grandkids. They loved it! We loved it, too! What a phenomenal wild animal display. It's huge. All the animals are labeled. There is a little stream running through the store and a waterfall. A large aquarium takes center stage in one corner of the store. There are taxidermied animals everywhere! Another section of the store has the "big five" African game displayed. There are plaques that describe things, too. I thought it was a learning experience for the kids. As far the sporting goods part of it goes, I would think that if you can't find it here you can't find it anywhere. We spent 3 hours there wandering around the different departments and looking at all the animals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    38
    13
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We enjoy Cabela's because there's so much to look at besides merchandise inside. they have a very nice freshwater aquarium as well as hundreds of stuffed/mounted animals. They have a nice selection of sporting equipment and apparel to suit many different interests.
If you've never been, it's worth a trip just to check it out. This one in Michigan is supposed to be much larger than some of their other stores in the U.S. This one is also much bigger than any Bass Pro we've ever been in. Pretty n eat place to see!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank au322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a hunter but it was a good experience!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I'm not an outdoors activity type of person, and have not ever done any hunting so did not think seeing the animal exhibits would have been of interest - but it was!
The animal exhibits are of museum quality and very, very well done - all throughout the store. There is a stream and bridge in the middle with fish swimming around, and an aquarium you can walk through.
There is a plcae to eat (which did seem a bit over priced) and a lovely fudge shop (I had some of it and it was great - all made on site).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mpmhawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison GA
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The best Cabela's we've visited”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What an amazing property! The animal exhibits are spread throughout the store and are more extensive than any other store of this type regardless of brand. There is a stream running through the store with trout swimming in it. Look a little further and there is a walk through aquarium. Don't miss the bargain cave! Have you seen the new Cabela's tractors... We're getting a brand new Cabela's but we were told that they are no longer building the Dundee type stores. If you're in the area, don't miss this Cabela's.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Perky51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool place to just visit!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Alot to look at! Kids had fun. Husband and son picked up a pretty cool gun. Where can you eat some buffalo and buy homemade fudge at the same time? They had so much merchandise to look at as well as stuffed wildlife. My kids loved taking pics of them and with them:) Across the street was a nice hotel with a waterpark. Small but the kids enjoyed it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelleytodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cabela's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing