We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Dundee

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Inn Dundee
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dundee
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Did not expect Hilton superiority with Quailty Inn – but I did reserve the largest Jacuzzi suite for $130+ so, yeah – I expected decency. Did not get it. We could ignore the fact the alarm clock/radio would only play static. We could work around the fact that weak Jacuzzi jets were on a timer that would only last 15 minutes (felt more like 10 minutes) and every time the timer would stop – you would have to get out of the tub and walk across the room to turn it back on for “15” minutes just to do it all over again – every “15” minutes. We could ignore the super thick cow-webs on the ceiling that gave us a Halloween nightmare feeling. We can ignore the fact that the indoor hot tub was broke down our entire stay. We could ignore the fact that if 2 people were getting food at the breakfast bar – it was super crowded and no room to breathe. Its just a Quality Inn – what more can we expect?! Well – I should be able to expect a decent room since we paid over $130 for a “romantic “Jacuzzi suite. Instead we found ourselves in a room with absolutely no insulation. So the entire time we could hear every splash, every foot step, every sound from the pool area . In the lobby, in the hallway- you could NOT hear a sound from the pool area. Open our “romantic suite” room door – you could hear everything like you were walking into the pool area. Tolerated it at first – we checked it at 3pm and there was a kids birthday party at the pool. Loud as [--] but we put up with it - leaving for our Valentines Date night helped. It was all okay until the pool opened at 8am and the kids started screaming in the pool area again. Not the kids fault – they were there to have fun. But we got the romantic suite for a romantic time – not to be waken up at 8am with pool noises. I called front desk to see if they were aware of the noise issue, and they said “Yes, we cannot control the location of the room”. Really?! The room just appeared there one day?! Or they can’t put a layer of insulation in the room?! Again, you could not hear the pool noise ANYWHERE unless you went in the pool area or our room , same difference. Total waste of money – will never stay there again. Total disappointment for paying so much.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuleeDyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    27
    24
    19
    13
See reviews for
46
31
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I reviewed this hotel back in 2009, and beat it up a little bit because it deserved it. I really had no desire to return, but it was close to a job site, and the weather forcast was calling for freezing rain, and it's in the Choice Hotels chain so I get the points, so I decided to give it one more shot. I'm glad I did. I found out the the hotel in under new management, and the new management seems committed to improving the hotel. The rooms are definately cleaner than last time, and the lighting has improved. They completely rewired the internet, becasue I could barely get it in. This time, it was almost as fast as my connection at home, so I liked using it a lot. They have added a few channels to the lineup, although a few more wouldn't hurt (let's talk about Fox Sports so we can watch the Red Wing games!). They've added the waffle iron to the continental breakfast, so it's on par with other Choice Hotels. They said that eggs and sausage would be coming in the future. The staff genuinely seemed to care this time, which they didn't in 2009. There is still some work to do in improving the place, and the staff told me that more upgrades were in the works. They turned my opinion of the hotel 180 degrees. The next time I'm in Dundee, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbobKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

You make contacting you through E-mailing, nearly impossible. You charged my Visa for a two night stay, but we only asked for one night. that's all we stayed (Thanksgiving day 2010) I wouln't have know if I didn't check my credit card statement. You have tarnished great expectations of future lodging with Qulity Inn's. Probably just an oversite, but why did this work out in your favor? We are very distraught over the inconvienance. Your mistake, you take care of this to our satisfaction. Yes, we are as expected beyond disatisfied.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viper4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed here for one night to entertain our kids during some snowy, snowy weather. We did it for the pool and it was well worth it. There weren't many other guests and we were upgraded to a suite, it was super clean and awesome! with a kitchenette, it's own private balcony overlooking the pool, and an in room hot tub large enough for a family of 4! The room itself was their big suite, or so that's how they referred to it. It was massive, very clean and well worth the money. The pool was super clean, bathrooms by the pool super clean, staff constantly checked on us at the pool area offering us more towels and even to call a pizza order in for us. The hot tub was great and the tables and chairs by the pool were very comfortable. We had a great time swimming for a day while we watched it snow outside!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfuji08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Quality Inn is sometimes just a name, not a statement of reality. The room was average, and the staff was fine. The continental breakfast is well below what is offered in almost every other hotel in the chain (I'm a member of the reawrds program and have been to several.) The t.v. channel selection is horrible. Once you eliminate the religous channel and CSPAN, you have about eight left. Location is its biggest saving grace, because Cabellas is across the road and there are restaurants within walking distance. There are also other hotels within walking distance, and I recommend the Country Inn and Suites just down the road over the Quality Inn any day.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbobKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dundee hotels

michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2007

We stayed at the Amerihost in Nov of last year...found the room in wonderful shape..easy to get to Cabela's...overall we plan to stay there again in Nov.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MichiganGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dundee
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Dundee
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
16.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Monroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
15.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Dundee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Dundee

Property: Quality Inn Dundee
Address: 111 Waterstradt Commerce Drive, Dundee, MI 48131 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Dundee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Dundee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 58 rooms on two floors and does not have an elevator. Please request a 1st floor room if you have issues with stairs and we will try to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn Dundee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing