We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory Country House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Old Rectory Country House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed here as part of a wedding party the day before 'the big day'. It took nearly two hours to get there from London in horrendous weather conditions but let me tell you, it was well worth it. The rooms in the main house are charming and the family history steeped within the decor is fabulous. Frank, the host and proprietor, offers a warm welcome and leaves you wanting for nothing (even a cup of herbal tea before bed). The food was fabulous, particularly as we had someone in our party with a long list of dietary requirements but Frank excelled himself when catering for her. I would whole heartedly recommend The Old Rectory for any occasion. .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theoneandonlyCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    20
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
72
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Old Rectory is brilliant : Its as if you are staying in a country manor house with one exception.....Frank, who is a delightful, friendly and charming host. Newly opened - I would get there whilst you can still get a booking! This is place is a gem. Great room, breakfast, etc, etc.

Suffolk is a great escape for those needing the country experience but with things to do - its has plenty of high quality restaurants/gastro pubs, churches and lovely villages/sm. towns - many country walks. The people of Suffolk are also very friendly - Just a short drive from London - you can even get back to London with your relaxation in tact.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed recently for one night, wish it could have been more. A lovely house, a charming host set in beautifully landscaped gardens. The room, with a balcony, was large, airy & light. The breakfast a delight, cooked by the host Frank ensures that not only do you want to stay longer but are eager to return. Enjoy this place soon!!

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated and appointed to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were privileged to be among the first to stay at this very fine B&B. Upon entering the grounds, which are, quite simply, spectacular, one is immediately struck by the beauty of this place. The house oozes with character and charm. And the host, Frank Lawrenson, treated us with great warmth, generosity, and hospitality (even though travelling with a 2-year-old meant that some of our requests might have seemed a bit odd). We benefited greatly from his attention to detail. In addition to all of that, Frank is also a really fantastic cook! At The Old Rectory, the welcome is warm, the sleeps are heavenly, the robes are fluffy, the pool is refreshing, the gardens are serene, and the breakfasts are delicious.

We have travelled quite a lot and stayed in many different types of accommodation, but have never written a review on Trip Advisor. However, we had such a wonderful couple of nights at The Old Rectory that we felt moved to write this review. Finding The Old Rectory was such a great discovery for us that we are keen to share it with others and to return again soon.

Room Tip: The Morning Room is very large and great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Between Sudbury & Lavenham (The Great House & The Angel restaurants) sits the Old Rectory Country House. An oasis of calm in a frantic world.

The host, Frank, warmly welcomes you to his family home recently converted to a Bed & Breakfast. Lovely clean, big rooms, communal dining room for breakfast with one long table. landscaped gardens with tennis courts & a swimming pool.

When next in this beautiful part of the UK I will most definitely stay here again before the masses spoil its idyllic charm.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NG1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Waldingfield
3.5 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.0 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
15.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country House

Property: The Old Rectory Country House
Address: The Old Rectory Rectory Road | Near Lavenham, Great Waldingfield, Babergh District CO10 0TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury > Great Waldingfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Waldingfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Country House is a 5 Star rated, Grade II listed historic country house offering Bed and Breakfast in the style of a boutique hotel, situated just minutes from the centres of Lavenham, Sudbury and Long Melford in Suffolk. A member of The Historic Houses Association, with accolades from Sawdays, Wolsey Lodges and Charming Small Hotels (amongst others), we are located in a conservation area surrounded by thatched cottages. We offer large luxuriously decorated double ensuite bedrooms with all the trimmings you might expect including Hi-speed WiFi, HD TV's and Minibars plus toiletries from either Penhaligons or Gilchrist & Soames. We have been rated "Excellent" in 2015 by both Tripadvisor and Trivago. Extensive gardens with a swimming pool and tennis court create the perfect setting to unwind. Enjoy the personal attention of our in-house butler and relax in the drawing room by a roaring log fire where you will also find an honesty bar and stack of good reading material.   *Chosen by Tatler as one of the 12 smartest B&B's in the country and recommended by Country Living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Rectory Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing