We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME FROM HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed only for one night mid june,a wonderful location ,great gardens and a great place to stay to relax and unwind. The family dogs come to meet you when you arrive , as does the cat l.o.l .The hosts are great and the breakfast is great . You fill like you are at home here .I have only one bad thing to mention , they do not give you biscuits in your room , now come on old rectory, a cup of tea without a biscuit is not on lol . Such a silly error . I still will give them a big A++++++

Room Tip: Any room will give you a lovely time .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renee1reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    20
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
73
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed in this lovely house with a wonderful garden on our way to Lincoln. There were four of us in our party, two couples. We were greeted by the butler who attended to our immediate needs. The butler explained that the owner/host would not be with us for our stay as he was in London.
The house has wonderfully proportioned rooms all with views to the garden which surrounds the property. The butler was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed but I feel we may have missed out not having the regular host and owner of the property be in attendance, having read other reviews.
The breakfast was fine but for the kippers served to two of us. They were filleted and somewhat tasteless with a strange colour.
It was a very windy night on which we stayed and our bedroom windows rattled somewhat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We booked The Old Rectory for a family house party to celebrate our Golden Wedding and my birthday. It was a unique experience. Thirteen of us ranging from a four year old to us golden oldies were treated with wonderful warmth and courtesy. The food is good, the rooms are superb and it was great to have the little ones in the stable block where they could run straight out into the garden without waking the rest of us! We were welcomed down to breakfast with a blazing log fire in the dining room and came back in the evening to a generous supper. Frank and his excellent butler worked hard to make us all feel completely at home. We will be back very soon to enjoy it as a couple. Peter and Liz Murray

Room Tip: All rooms are first class, the stable block is great for families, the house for couples but even in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I wanted to take my two girls away for half term and this was the perfect escape. They loved Frank's labradors and were treated like princesses at breakfast. We had a wonderful morning walking around the gardens and throwing balls for the dogs, followed by tennis and then a gorgeous glass of wine served in the beautiful living room. It couldn't have been a better break and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I have just returned home after two glorious nights at The Old Rectory. A charming owner, delightful bedroom, piping hot water in the bathroom, log fire in the Drawing Room and we both thought the breakfasts were excellent. This is the place to stay in South Suffolk.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MVR190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My family and I stayed in the Old Stables for 3 nights and our stay was wonderful. The rooms were furnished to a high standard and we felt very much at home. We would definately stay again and also recommend it to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night at this lovely old country house. I have to say we were very impressed with every aspect of our stay. We were warmly greeted by the owner Frank who could not have been more helpful and attentive to our needs. We stayed in the delightfully furnished Hopkins Room and had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. Plenty of choice for breakfast and we enjoyed a great cooked breakfast in front of a log fire. Unfortunately we did not have time to take in the surrounding gardens but left thinking what phenomenal value this luxury B&B represented. A truly great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeJulieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, Owner at The Old Rectory Country House, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Waldingfield
3.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
3.4 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
15.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
21.3 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country House

Property: The Old Rectory Country House
Address: The Old Rectory Rectory Road | Near Lavenham, Great Waldingfield, Babergh District CO10 0TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury > Great Waldingfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Waldingfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Country House is a 5 Star rated, Grade II listed historic country house offering Bed and Breakfast in the style of a boutique hotel, situated just minutes from the centres of Lavenham, Sudbury and Long Melford in Suffolk. A member of The Historic Houses Association, with accolades from Sawdays, Wolsey Lodges and Charming Small Hotels (amongst others), we are located in a conservation area surrounded by thatched cottages. We offer large luxuriously decorated double ensuite bedrooms with all the trimmings you might expect including Hi-speed WiFi, HD TV's and Minibars plus toiletries from either Penhaligons or Gilchrist & Soames. We have been rated "Excellent" in 2015 by both Tripadvisor and Trivago. Extensive gardens with a swimming pool and tennis court create the perfect setting to unwind. Enjoy the personal attention of our in-house butler and relax in the drawing room by a roaring log fire where you will also find an honesty bar and stack of good reading material.   *Chosen by Tatler as one of the 12 smartest B&B's in the country and recommended by Country Living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Rectory Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing