We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked this place for my daughter's wedding so that both family could all stay together.
This is a beautiful relaxing country house and stable block That sleeps up to 14 people. Fank and his staff Tamsin and Ann were delightful, and the hospitality was second to none and they could not be more helpful. The house has a swimming pool so it meant that whilst the bride and women were getting ready the men were also entertained. We would recommend this to all that we speak to wether it be for a family gathering or just a couples retreat.
This is the place to stay.
Thank you to all at The Old Rectory.

Room Tip: If you want to book a family get together or a retreat this is the palce to do it. Would highly reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sBdB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

One of the most pleasant country houses we have ever stayed in. Beautiful house, bedroom, bathroom indeed all rooms and so tranquil a location. We were very sorry to have to leave after two nights. Both the owner and the manager were charming and could not do enough to help us.
We shall recommend it unhesitatingly to our friends.

Room Tip: No bad ones , ours was the morning room with the bathroom a roll top bath and large rain shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here for our daughters wedding. The house was luxurious but in an 'old world comfortable' way. We stayed in the St Lawrence room which overlooked the beautiful walled garden, and the en suite bathroom had an extravagantly large bathtub that my wife delighted soaking in. Breakfast was served at the long oak table in a room that had almost a baronial feel. Frank, our friendly and courteous host, told us about the fascinating history of the house which dates back to Roman times. The village itself has a beautiful old church, while nearby Lavenham is possibly the best preserved Medieval village in this part of England. All in all it was an outstanding place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kassbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our family celebrated two significant birthdays in this beautiful country house. The staff were exceptionally attentive and kind, and professional in every detail. This is not a typical hotel and that is why we liked it so much. It was like having one's own country house for a weekend (and what a house it is!). The facilities are good enough but don't expect what you'd find at the Hilton or Radisson chains or anything like that. This is special, personal and exclusive. Low on stress, low on posh bling and unnecessary false luxuries. This is proper comfort in every sense, but perhaps not suited to the 5 star business traveller type with fussy requirements. The staff worked hard to make us at home, although they might have benefitted from an extra person from time to time. The adjoining stables building is also very good and a great place for complete privacy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived at 4 pm and were greeted by Chitraj who gave us a warm welcome and we were told about a number of things, i.e. fire muster point, to let them know when we were going out and where breakfast would be served. We were helped with our bags to our comfortable rooms.

Our first concern was the tea and coffee facilities. The kettle was not a cordless one and was not easy to use as the cups and kettle were some distance apart from one another in the room.

My biggest disappointment was the first breakfast that we had as it can only be described as lukewarm at best and cold at worst. I had my in-laws with us and did not want to spoil our break so I decided to go back down and talk quietly to the owner, Frank, who was most concerned. The next day the breakfast arrived hot although the toast was still cold. It took until the next breakfast on the final day of our stay for this to be put right after me asking if we could have the toast as soon as it was done rather than waiting for the remainder of the breakfast to be cooked.

The improvement saved our three day break as I had been considering a change of establishment. As my breaks away are very limited I am not prepared to put up with second rate service at what was a first rate establishment. I just feel there are a number of things that need to be changed before I return.

Firstly the rooms need to be serviced every day and it ought to be standard procedure rather than at the request of the guest.

The issue of security and having to ask for the door to be unlocked each time you go out side needs addressing but I understand that this is in hand.

The issues concerning breakfast also need to be addressed. It needs to be hot and cooked in clean pans with individual pots of marmalade rather than half-full ordinary jars, particularly when meals are served on an attractive banqueting table.

The Old Rectory is a beautiful location with a most welcoming host. It just needs a few little details to be attended to to make it a relaxing experience that guests will remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heliman1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked this expcting to find the elegant country house hotel that is advertised, but when we eventually found the property it was basically a B&B run by one person ("the butler"). It is remote, not signposted from the village, no signs at the propery entrance,and the entrance is through a closed electric farm gate on an unsigned driveway opposite the church. There was no external lighting, and check-in was due by 9pm but the butler let us arrive at 10:30pm - after showing us our room he let and we were left in a dark house with no bar or rereshments (or staff). The bathroom was small, one step up from the bedroom, and the toilet seat was not properly fixed. The bedroom had an old style TV plugged into a poower bar with three other devices, and that was plugged into a 3-way adapter in the wall outlet so all the electrical divices (including a kettle) were in a shared outlet - not safe, but maybe that is why there was a torch on the night stand. Breakfast was 9am to 10am but we woke at 7am hungry and could only make tea and eat some shortbread from the mini bar (we were charged for that on departure). We ate breakfast and left, thinking we had no value or money and should just have stayed in a proper hotel like the Angel in Bury St Edmunds where we were the previous night. We paid a lot of money expecting to have a romantic experience in an elegant country house, but this was a one man show like Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, Owner at The Old Rectory Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

You are probably looking at this review because it is the first poor one we have received on Tripadvisor, coming just days before being featured in Tatler Magazine (“The Smartest B&B’s in England”).

Most of what is written in the review is 100% correct.

1. We are in a remote location – we love it that way but we are still less than 5 minutes from Lavenham, Long Melford and Sudbury
2. We do have an electric gate. It is closed for security (but opens automatically when you drive up – not mentioned)
3. There is NO large “B&B” sign – we pride ourselves on being remote, private and tucked away – we think this is one of our best points – directions are on our website!
4. The bathroom is smaller in this room. But, the bedroom is magnificent, probably the best –It’s a compromise in this case.
5. The electrics are 100% sound, PAT tested each year by a certified electrician (last done this summer) and judged 100% “safe” and all connected through to a modern fuse-board (vital in a historic house)
6. This bedroom is in the oldest part of the house, around 600-700 years old. We don’t feel a big flat screen TV on the wall is appropriate – our choice. But, the TV is a Sony, of fabulous quality and pretty large. We love it, as it blends in extremely well with the rest of the room.
7. Breakfast at the weekend is from 9.00-10.00. We find that our guests like to sleep in at the weekend. The times are advertised on our website. If a guest requests breakfast at an earlier time, we will do what we can. But, of course it does help if we are asked.
8. External lighting – All our external lighting is on motion sensors. We pride ourselves on our eco-status (lots more about this on our website), so lighting is there automatically when needed. We do not light our buildings for show.

However, there is once critical point in this review that is wrong and on which the entire rating rests.

Contrary to their assertion, we are in fact a “5-star B&B”. We do not, have not and never would, market ourselves as a “5-star Hotel”. As far as we are aware, there are in fact NO five star hotels in the whole of Suffolk or Norfolk.

As such, we have contacted both the couple who posted it and Tripadvisor, asking them to remove this comment. They have not replied, hence our delay in posting a response.

So there you have it… In many ways an excellent review as it demonstrates quite well what we offer. And we are genuinely sorry that this guest expected something different.

So, if you’re looking for the English Country House experience, please come and visit us. The latest edition of “Tatler” magazine seems to think that we are one of England’s smartest B&B’s.

We’re not sure that we would go that far… Our Labradors can definitely be a bit scruffy…

Myself and the team hope to welcome you very soon… Thank you…

Yours Basil eeeee Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed only for one night mid june,a wonderful location ,great gardens and a great place to stay to relax and unwind. The family dogs come to meet you when you arrive , as does the cat l.o.l .The hosts are great and the breakfast is great . You fill like you are at home here .I have only one bad thing to mention , they do not give you biscuits in your room , now come on old rectory, a cup of tea without a biscuit is not on lol . Such a silly error . I still will give them a big A++++++

Room Tip: Any room will give you a lovely time .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee1reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Waldingfield
3.4 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
15.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
542 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,033 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country House

Address: The Old Rectory Rectory Road | Near Lavenham, Great Waldingfield, Babergh District CO10 0TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Sudbury > Great Waldingfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Waldingfield
Price Range: £83 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Country House is a 5 Star rated, Grade II listed historic country house offering Bed and Breakfast in the style of a boutique hotel, situated just minutes from the centres of Lavenham, Sudbury and Long Melford in Suffolk. A member of The Historic Houses Association, with accolades from Sawdays, Wolsey Lodges and Charming Small Hotels (amongst others), we are located in a conservation area surrounded by thatched cottages. We offer large luxuriously decorated double ensuite bedrooms with all the trimmings you might expect including Hi-speed WiFi, HD TV's and Minibars plus toiletries from either Penhaligons or Gilchrist & Soames. We have been rated "Excellent" in 2015 by both Tripadvisor and Trivago. Extensive gardens with a swimming pool and tennis court create the perfect setting to unwind. Enjoy the personal attention of our in-house butler and relax in the drawing room by a roaring log fire where you will also find an honesty bar and stack of good reading material. *Chosen by Tatler as one of the 12 smartest B&B's in the country and recommended by Country Living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Rectory Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing