We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still Can't believe it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The front desk gave a key to my room out to a stranger without asking for ID. I went home for a couple hours, and they gave out my key to an employee where I work. No ID required at Holiday Inn. Being on the road months out of the year I have always had hotels check my ID if I had a key problem or lost my key. I advise anyone staying at this venue make sure you lock , bolt and take anything of personal nature or value with you

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Paul5151,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced from our staff. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and secure accommodations.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed in January, 2013 after making reservations online. We received a warm greeting upon check-in. The lobby was clean and the floors were being mopped as we walked in. While I had reserved a room with double beds, we were given a king room, which worked out fine. It was large and very clean. The heater worked well, which was needed after our snowy drive! We used the pool, which was clean as well, but very cold! Because of the temperature, we didn't stay in it very long. The wifi worked well, too. (My one complaint - the TV remote didn't seem to work, but we didn't watch much TV.) The next morning, we enjoyed the yummy cinnamon rolls and breakfast buffet, which was kept filled and hot. Check out was quick and simple.

This hotel was basic, with no fridge or microwave, but we didn't need them. It was very clean and quiet. I've stayed in this hotel before, and I would stay again when in the area. Clean, quiet, friendly... everything we ask for in a hotel. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeybusiness23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had a standard king room. It was a decent size. The decorations were modern, seemed odd to have side-by-side mirrors on the wall. The channel guide said FSD was available, but when we turned it on, it was not FSD...so, we weren't able to watch the game.
The toilet was extremely short. It would have been perfect for a child learning to be potty-trained. The shower pressure was good, but the water was very hard.
We only had coffee and a cinnamon roll for breakfast, both were fine.
Check-in was easy though the girl at the desk didn't seem to enjoy being there.
We would return. The room was bigger and priced less than motels close by.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_those_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear love_those_wings,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stopped here on my way home from Chicago for a night. While the hotel is close to shopping and restaurants (short drive, not a walk) it kind of has a isolated feel to it; not that that is a problem.

It would seem the property is fairly new, and as such clean and modern. Both the exterior of the property and lobby are clean and well kept. Check in was a breeze, and the room was typical newer Holiday Inn Express; roomy, modern and very functional. The only problem I experienced was a horribly soft and cushy mattress; I cannot understand how mattresses in hotels can become worn out in such a short period of time.

The location is close to the highway, and I imagine could be a little hard to find as there really isn't any signage off the main road, none that I saw at least.

Overall, a good choice in East Lansing, once you find the property!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for business. Hotel was clean and convenient. People nice but breakfast was a little bit lacking. I ended up swinging by Starbucks later that morning. Close to the highway but didn't notice road noise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is a nice little Holiday Inn Hotel for anyone traveling for business. I am a platinum club member and have stayed in quite a few IHC hotels and would say this was a nice one as far as friendly and helpful staff, cleanliness, and comfort. For a Holiday Inn, it was very nice. The only complaint would be it is a little difficult to find at night without a GPS, but once you see the layout in daylight, it isn't that hard. Rooms were very large - I was upgraded to a room with two rooms, one king sized bed and two queens, while traveling by myself. Hotel was modern and very clean. I did not eat breakfast there but I did note it was very full of folks eating and did not appear to have any complaints. It is also very convenient to MSU campus and to downtown Lansing and is just a few blocks from the highway ramp. There are several restaurants nearby with variety and a grocery store right behind it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Great location off expressway. Very close to nice shopping and dining choices. Lobby was very warm and welcoming. Only complaint is that the breakfast buffet shut down at 930am on a sunday morning. We were very surprised to find everything put away so early on a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaBirdMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
465 reviews
2.3 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lansing at Eastwood
1.5 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 26 in Lansing
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing

Address: 2924 West Rd, East Lansing, MI 48823-1391
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: £76 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The newest East Lansing hotel the Holiday Inn Express & Suites East Lansing, MI is located near the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility, and the prestigious University Club of MSU. This East Lansing hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center of Performing Arts & Forest Akers Golf Course. For the corporate traveler we also are near; General Motors, Deloitte, Pfizer & KPMG.We offer our hot breakfast bar daily for all guest at all rates featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls, fitness and business center and a refreshing heated indoor pool. Our East Lansing hotel will exceed your expectations. Our East Lansing hotel offers relaxing rooms featuring stylish decor & amenities, including 32 HDTV with HBO, CNN, ESPN and FoxNews, wired/wireless HSIA and the best night sleep ever. Our Holiday Inn Express East Lansing hotel is your home away from home. Our Holiday Inn Express East Lansing, MI professional & friendly staff will welcome you to your home away from home. Once you stay, you will come back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing