We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if you're visiting Michigan State, however....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great if you're visiting Michigan State, however....”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here recently for business trip. This location is adjacent to campus, which is great if that's your destination. Not so much if you have business elsewhere. Limited restaurants nearby. Trains sounded their horns through the night. I cannot remember the last time I was woken up by a train. Typical TownePlace Suites: basic accomodations, limited amenities, etc., however this location was about $130+ night with tax. This hotel is not worth that much for what you get. Similar TownePlace Suites are $75-85/night. Breakfast is basic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z_1_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P, Manager at TownePlace Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. TownePlace Suites is very close to the Michigan State University. We are also conveniently located to many businesses in East Lansing, Lansing, Okemos and many other area businesses. There are also quite a few restaurants within a five minute walk of the hotel. Several are located in the Hannah Plaza which include Pizza House, Jimmy Johns, Menna’s, and Hannah Coney Island just to name a few. There are also around 20 restaurants within a mile. All of our rooms are suites and though we do not offer room service we do have a number of restaurants in the area who will deliver lat into the night. The hotel rates are based on far market pricing which fluctuates based on season and demand.
Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    37
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
8
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here because of all the great reviews however I would not recommend this place for a family. The location is behind a industrial area on a dead end road near a subdivision which feels fairly safe but not very convenient unless you have business in that area. The room was plenty big enough and clean for the most part however we did have to pick a few small items up off the floor to keep them away from our toddler and the bathtub had hair in it which we had to clean. Overall the room was fine and I have to compliment that compared to other hotels during this trip the walls were well sound proofed and we didn't hear anything once we were in our room and our room was right next to the elevator and there are RR tracks very close by. This property is split into two buildings, we were in the second building across from the one with the office in it. It was nice that we were able to park right in front of the main outside door to our building. We had a corner room which was nice. The outside doors to the building are always locked and you must us your key and then once inside you are at the staircase and to get to our room we had to go through another door which was not locked then turn and go down the hall past the elevator and through another door to get into a hall area where we could access our room with our key. I know that doesn't sound bad but imagine trying to unload your luggage in the parking lot (no covered area to unload under) during pouring rain then trying to wrestle your stuff to the door, unlock it with your key and get inside to only be met with two more doors to get through before you ever get to your room. Anyone who travels with kids knows exactly how much luggage I'm talking about and why this would be such a headache. Now once in our room we had a fine stay. Breakfast is in the main building so the next morning we walked over to the other building to have breakfast and the breakfast area is down the hall off the office and it is tiny. There are 3/4 tables along the wall and a island in the middle with stools. There is hardly room to get around with no one else there and it was very busy most the time we were there. Most the tables were taken by single people who had their stuff in the other chairs and refused to give up a table for the family with kids. There is not exit in the breakfast room as all doors are blocked by the few tables. The breakfast was a basic continental breakfast with little to offer besides packaged pastries and cereal. I think this place would be fine for someone on business in the area but I would suggest families pick another place that is more kid friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building seem like they would be more convenient to the breakfast area and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnchart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P, Manager at TownePlace Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We have updated our interior doors so they are now held open with Magnetic Locks. This ensures guest safety while providing easy access to the guest suites.
We do have many families who stay with us and enjoy the convenience of a full kitchen in their suite as well as the proximity to Michigan State University. We are also directly across from the Michigan Athletic Club and very close to Suburban Ice. There is also a plaza within walking distance which offers a variety of family friendly restaurants.
Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

situated in a nice safe location. My suite was a corner suite, very clean and spacious. windows opened and I had a small oven.. definitely a bonus.. great workspace area. I stayed at a different Marriott property first , cause I didn't think I would like this one.. just the opposite... loved the Townhouse but not the Residence Inn in the Lansing area... what a pleasant surprise..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EL646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P, Manager at TownePlace Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experence with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you come back soon.

Thank you,
Rich Pierce, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Have stayed numerous times at this facility. All visits were pleasent! Suites are roomy. Staff is knowledgable, kind, & informative of your needs. Its very conveinient if you are there to visit your loved one attending MSU. The only problem I had this time around was with housekeeping. Not sure if they have been understaffed, but I felt full attention was not paid to my last stay. Such as little things : replenishing sugar, tea, coffee in room. Noticed vacuuming wasn't done in our room on 2nd day and coffee table was not wiped down. Not a big deal, but was still noticed.

Room Tip: 3 floor stay to avoid anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P, Manager at TownePlace Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stays with us. I am sorry to hear about the housekeeping issue. We will be sure we do better next time! :) Please contact either Tracie or myself the next time you make a reservation.

Yours in hospitality,
Rich Pierce, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torch Lake, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had to bring our dog into emergency at the MSU Animal Hospital in the middle of the night. One of the closest hotels to the campus was the TownePlace Suites. The manager at the front desk was not only compassionate about our situation but went over and above the call of duty when he booked us in the two bedroom suite. It is a beautiful, well designed floor plan with all the comforts of home. All of the staff members that we encountered were very friendly and accommodating. The "frosting on the cake" was when the staff sent a "get well" gift up to the room for our doggie, with a note of well-wishes from the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P, Manager at TownePlace Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
We are so glad to hear we could make a stressful situation a bit more bearable. We have had the opportunity to assist many guests of the MSU Vet Med clinic. We wish your doggie a very speedy recovery! Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments!

Yours in hospitality,

Rich Pierce, CTA
Assistant General Manager
rich.pierce@marriott.com
(517) 203-1000 ext 603 fax (517) 203-1234
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This Mariott property would be a great option while visiting MSU or on business. Overall had a pleasant stay.

Space: Our two bedroom suite was very spacious with a kitchen and a fold-out couch. The kitchen was plenty for our one week stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamchrismai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P, Manager at TownePlace Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed the space it provided. We hope to see you again soon! Rich P. Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
519 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Michigan State University booked me here when I gave a recent lecture. Delightful. Clean. My room had a full kitchen. This is definitely the place to stay if you are on an extended stay in East Lansing. Unfortunately I only had two days. Could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich P, Manager at TownePlace Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
I am so glad you had an excellent stay! We are close to the MSU campus and our full Kitchen allows you the oppertunity to cook what you like! We have just ordered new Mattresses and boxsprings! Hope to see you soon! Rich P. Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#4 of 9 in East Lansing
38 reviews
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
1.7 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
441 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites East Lansing

Property: TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Address: 2855 Hannah Blvd, East Lansing, MI 48823-5367
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott, East Lansing is located on the Souteast edge of Michigan State University accross from the Michigan Athletic Club. All of our suites offer full kitchens. Breakfast M-F 6:30am to 9:00am. S-S 7:00am to 9:30am. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
East Lansing Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing