We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, United States
1 review
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stay away from this Hampton Inn. Not the Hampton Inn we are used to. Housekeeping is terrible. My beds were made by pulling over the duvet cover with sheets still the way it was. Breakfast quality/choice poorer that other Hampton Inn, although Breakfast attendant was active and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ishtiaq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Hampton Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    128
    50
    22
    11
See reviews for
172
57
29
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed overnight in a 2 room suite on our way back to Detroit. Excellent facitities and a comfortable bed as usual. There was a kitchen area with microwave and a refrigerator so you can eat in if you wish.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snipsnapsnorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Hampton Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for thinking of us on your way through town. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and were able to get a good night's rest. Please think of us again next time you're in East Lansing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Most Hampton Inn's are good. They are clean, comfortable and the amenities are extensive. Things like electric plug location and choice of television channels are biggest area for improvement right now. I am currently staying at Fort Payne, AL, Hampton Inn and there are no plugs near the bed. Why have this nice computer support table if I cannot access electricity?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Hampton Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I'm sorry you didn't have an exceptional stay last time you were here. The design team worked hard to ensure the electrical box cubes on the desk and nightstand would be an adequate amount of ports for all of your electronics. I apologize that this was not the case for you. I hope you give the brand another chance. I think you'll find that we have some really great hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed two nights in August while visiting Michigan State. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and fresh. The linens were nice, the TV worked perfectly and had the one channel I really wanted, HGTV, and internet access was excellent. Breakfast was very good, lots of choices, and I liked that the coffee station was away from the main eating room; it made for a better flow of traffic. Employees were pleasant and helpful.

My only semi-negative comment is on the bed size; it was advertised as "queen" but it was smaller than the queen I have at home, or have slept in at other hotels. I didn't measure but the bed seemed to be a double rather than a queen. This probably won't be a deal-breaker for future stays but I'd appreciate a truthful description of all the amenities, because I paid for a queen, not a double.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilithanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Hampton Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad the cleanliness of the rooms, breakfast, and employees were all up to your standards. I'm sorry the beds weren't quite what you expected, but I assure you they are queens. However, we also have plenty of rooms with king size beds too. Please think of us again while in the area. We'd love to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Clean, friendly staff. Close to Meijers and college is only a few miles away. Free breakfast and indoor pool. We left an item in the room and the hotel shipped it to us at no charge. Would recommend it if you are a Hilton Honors member

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Hampton Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Melinda-

Thank you for the recommendation! We strive to make our guests' stay as hassle free as possible. I'm glad we were able to ship out your item, and hope we did so in a timely manner. We hope to see you back again for an MSU game this fall!

GO GREEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just checked in and I am appalled at the condition of our room. The air conditioning vent is filthy and the air smells awful. There is mold on the bathroom floor and the air vent in the bathroom is filthy. The bathroom door doesn't close...the bottom scrapes against the floor and gets stuck. The furniture is very worn and there is peeling paint in several places. I can hardly believe I am in the same place as all the positive reviews. There has to be a better place to stay in East Lansing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank caseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We truly appreciate your candid feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. I can assure you that your comments have been reviewed by senior management. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and comments like yours help us identify areas that need improvements. We do apologize for falling short of your expectations during your stay and assure your concerns will be addressed. I do hope that you would reconsider staying with us in the future if your travels do bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It may be lame but sometimes I'll spend a little more on a hotel that has a hot tub as this was advertised. I find the hot tub permanently closed so I now feel that I overspent a good $50 or so. Would not come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kappyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M, Manager at Hampton Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I apologize that you feel you overspent $50 on your stay here. Unfortunately, the management company has decided to close our hot tubs company wide. We are diligent on tracking down websites that still have one listed in our amenities. I'm so sorry we missed one! We have a lot of other great things to offer though, and would love it if you gave us another chance. You should see our large whirlpool suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
2.2 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#4 of 9 in East Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.4 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn East Lansing

Property: Hampton Inn East Lansing
Address: 2500 Coolidge Rd, East Lansing, MI 48823-6315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn East Lansing hotel is located close to Michigan State Capitol Building, Michigan State University and Capital City Airport. Included in every stay is Hampton's free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, access to our indoor swimming pool and our fitness center. Included in every guest room is a 32" HDTV, a comfortable desk and workspace, coffee maker and iron/ironing board and convenient lapdesk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
East Lansing Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing