We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "heart" of MSU”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The "heart" of MSU”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

If you are a true MSU SPartan, the Kellogg Center is a great place to stay on campus. The rooms are small, there is no tub, but it has a "Sparty ambiance".
We like to stay after/before a game. There is a "Theater Package", which we use even though we are not attending an event at Wharton. The package includes dinner & brunch at The State Room, the restaurant in the Center. The State Room is part of MSU Business Hospitality program so the food and service is good, since many are being graded on performance.
Kellogg is so convenient if you are attending events or touring campus. You can walk to Grand River, where there are many businesses.
Kellogg Center is a true Spartan landmark.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara42207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    89
    53
    16
    13
See reviews for
46
23
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I am hospitality business student in The Hospitality Business School at Michigan State University and I am extremely disappointed to be associated with this hotel. Today after my class got out I went to exit the parking garage with a friend. I have had more than a semester of classes at the Kellogg and have never had any problems with the facility or the staff. Today Lester at the parking garage treated me in such a horrible manner that I would never recommend it to any individual. When I tried to leave his rudely asked me where my money was which I explained to him that I didn't bring any because I had never had to pay for parking their while I attended classes. Instead of helping me resolve the situation by offering me options he told me he was full-time and had never let any students out. While explaining this in such a rude manner, he proceeded to talk on the phone to some friend and told me I had to talk to my professor because he was not going to let me out. I asked him if he could please call his manager on the phone that he was using for a personal phone call to which he responded that I could go get her. After talking with the manager Rebecca who seemed more cooperative than Lester, we explained our situation to which she told us that we would have to pay in the future, (which was not the issue), and that she didn't know why Lester was acting that way. She told us to tell him Rebecca said we could go. After returning to our car where we told Lester what Rebecca had said he still didn't let us go and insisted that we call her on the phone because he didn't believe us. We were extremely upset and asked him if he could call her on his phone with which he was talking to a friend again and he told us no we had to use our own phones. But we didn't know the number and he wouldn't tell us and told us to get out of the car. He flagged everyone behind us by and never charged a person. I sat in the car while my friend went inside and got the manager out. After that he demanded out ticket, (which had been an hour for class) and let us out only after his manager had to stand over his shoulder and tell him too. Why would I ever stay or recommend this much hassle to anyone?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed here so we could tour the campus as she will be attending in the Fall. (If you have a student already attending you get a great discount on your room). They are in the middle of remodeling, but that did not make any difference. Staff was excellent, Our room was SUPER clean!! (I own a cleaning business so I always look). The Sparty store in the lobby was stocked! And you get a discount coupon just for staying in the hotel. Parking is covered and validated!! And the hotel sits just across the street from the newly remodeled Brody Hall. Within walking distance from "downtown" E. Lansing and bordered by the Red Cedar River to the East. Breakfast is included and is excellent! Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibabyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed there for a conference. The hotel has decent restaurants and bars, but the room is minimal. The bathroom does not have a bathtub, and shower is not convenient for use due to very limited space. I would say the hotel is designed efficiently for conference, but not good for other use.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here for an MSU football/basketball game weekend. The location was fantastic (walking distance to everything) but the room was tiny and the bathroom was cruise-ship-esque - miniscule but functional. Even though the hotel was sold out, we didn't hear a sound from anyone around us; it was fantastically quiet. Queen bed was comfortable. Restaurant downstairs was really good. Overall - adequate place to stay in a great location.

Room Tip: It sounds like there are larger rooms/suites somewhere in the building - upgrade if you can!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STFPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and I attended a conference here in early October, and we were really pleased with the facility and the always-smiling staff. Our room was a bit small, and the bathroom was -- well, odd. Instead of a shower, there was a shower head attached to the ceiling and a curtain to separate the shower space from the rest of the bathroom (think semi-private hospital room curtain). However, you really have to give it to them for their efficient use of space!

For a conference, this was ideal. For a wedding reception, probably not so much. First of all, I don't know if I'd want my guests staying in the rooms. They're perfectly adequate and tastefully-decorated, but I don't know if they're worth the price. Second, there were multiple wedding receptions there on the two days that we stayed. Maybe it's just me, but walking through 2-3 conferences and 2-3 other wedding receptions (and potentially running into another bride) is just not my idea of how I want to celebrate my "big, special, supposedly-unique" day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrissyPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslett, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The entire staff of the Kellogg Center is to be congratulated on tending to every detail of my daughters wedding from the initial event staff, guest services at checkin, the quality of the rooms,the set up of the reception site, the quality and quantity of food preparation, wait staff and others I have failed to mention. If I needed a do-over (only daughter) i would come back to the Kellogg Center again and have mentioned these accolades to many, many others. Can't go wrong with this venue, they truly Deliver an Outstanding Customer Experience. The wedding was outdoors at the MSU South Horticulture Gardens, a truly spectacular ceremony venue.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.7 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
1.0 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
254 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 219 S Harrison Rd, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI 48824-4551
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Michigan State University hotel gives you access to the best in Spartan activities and attractions in East Lansing, Michigan. Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center's prime location on the MSU campus gives you proximity to cultural, educational and athletic events, unique shopping, numerous dining options, museums and much more. Accommodations The Kellogg Center has 160 comfortable, contemporary guestrooms that boast pay-per-view movies, Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions, plush bedding and more. Dining Housed in the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center, the State Room Restaurant and lounge is one of the finest restaurants in the area, with an award-winning wine list, diverse seasonal menus, and private dining rooms. The restaurant received the 2015 Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for the tenth year in a row. Gift Shop The Shop at Kellogg carries a wide variety of MSU logoed clothing, gifts, and souvenirs, as well as sundries, magazines, newspapers, books and an assortment of snack items. Hours are 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Monday-Thursday, 7 a.m.-7 p.m. Friday and Saturday, and 7 a.m.-3 p.m. on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kellogg Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellogg Hotel And East Lansing
Kellogg Hotel East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing