We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Very disappointed from the moment we stepped into the lobby. Our room was located righ next to the laundry room and all we could hear was the humming off the dryers and the loud mouths of the employees. Our view was the underneath of bridge just 20ft from the window. The place was filthy and had a terrible odor. I have never stayed at such a disgusting place and I cant believe all the positive reviews you people must have never stayed at a nice hotel before. Stay as far as you can from this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wesnbec8998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear wesnbec8998,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise and the condition of our property. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

I love the Candlewood Suites chain; have never had a bad experience when staying with them all over the country. But this place was amazing! The hotel is on the Michigan State campus right next to a golf course; really beautiful. The hotel common areas are bright, colorful, and extremely clean. There were several luggage trolleys available at all hours. Oh, and the staff couldn't have been better -- helpful, very nice, and often very funny! I'd go back here in a heartbreat! Five-star accomodations at a three-star price...or less! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO_Mtn_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Had a very pleasant 2 night stay here last week. Each room is a mini-suite with a full kitchen. Ours was all in one room, but that was fine. The rooms have a nice recliner in the corner, free Wi-Fi of course, and even included a package of microwave popcorn in the oven. Our stay was enhanced by the particularly nice staff. Kudos to them. Guests may also eat at the Univ. Club which is all attached in one complex. That was a plus and the food was excellent. The dining room overlooks the pools and the golf course for ambiance, and the waitress we had for Saturday breakfast was also particularly pleasant and helpful. We were there for a wedding which was held on premise, so it was very convenient to celebrate, and then just walk a couple of hundred yards back our room. Worth a stay even if you're just passing through for a one nighter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndmVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Spent the evening at this lovely hotel in East Lansing, on our way to see a show at the Wharton Center. Very quiet location, extremely comfortable, pillow-topped queen bed, recliner (!) chair, free internet, CD player in room, MP-3 player hookup on clock-radio, and very friendly and sincere staff. Loved that it was off the beaten path and QUIET - what a treat! They also have a nice selection of CDs and DVDs/videotapes to borrow for free in the lobby and a small store with a good selection of snacks, breakfast items, ice cream and sodas at reasonable prices. Coffee and tea are available free 24/7. Breakfast is not included but there is a full kitchen in each one room suite and enough things to buy in the little store in the lobby for a quick early rising nosh. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie-liveshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Everyone here was helpful & friendly. The "suite" was small,but really clean and on the ground floor. We only brought our dog this time, but I inquired and they do take cats--$25 pet fee. You get free membership to the University Club next door,too.

Room Tip: Join the priorty club free and get free upgrades; unfortunately they put animals only on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jogger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I just stayed here and the room was great. It has a full kitchen if you would be planning on staying an extended amount of time. Comfortable bed, nice towels, coffee pot,and pop corn for the microwave. Coffee is also available in the lobby area. I booked a room at Quality Suites for a Park and Fly out of the Lansing airport. I had called the Quality 800 number. I was told to call one week before my stay and let them know when my flight was. I called one week before and I was rudely told the Park and Fly was full. So I got on the phone and started calling other hotels. Will, the desk manager was SO helpful. I loved the GREAT service I received. The shuttle was ready to take me to the airport at 4:10 am and they will pick me up when my flight arrives back in Lansing. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again! The only issue - it is a "green" hotel. They don't have ice machines. I had to wait about 45 minutes for my icemaker in the refrigerator to make ice. This wasn't a problem for me. Just wanted to let you know.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sterlingbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Staff was friendly and helpful as they were students from The School of Hospitality Business at MSU. The location is somewhat removed and on the campus border which seemed to be a negative for us. The hotel is connected to the University Club which does provide good dining options but nothing is complimentary.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AS584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
318 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#2 of 9 in East Lansing
52 reviews
2.3 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U

Address: 3545 Forest Rd, East Lansing, MI 48910-3734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: £70 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing-a Quality Excellence Award winner for 2 consecutive years-is located on the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and is attached to the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility and the prestigious University Club of MSU. The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center for performing Arts and Forest Akers Golf Course. With our excellent location with our friendly and relaxing atmosphere, the Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is the best choice for the business traveler. The hotel, which is now a 100% smoke free environment offers high-speed Internet access, our signature Candlewood Cupboard (convenience store), complimentary laundry facility, a quaint fitness center or access to the University Club Full Service Fitness Facility. Pets are welcome (additional fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing m.s.u Hotel East Lansing
Candlewood East Lansing
East Lansing Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing