We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Candlewood suites in East Lansing at the MSU for a week while we were there for the Odyssey of the Mind World finals. Great service, great rooms, kitchens are stocked with pots and dinner ware + serve ware for two. The complimentary laundry facility was very useful. My daughter sure appreciated the snack store.

Room Tip: We choose the kitchenette and got a roll away bed for our daughter. This facility is also pet friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is an older Candlewood. The rooms and decor are older, so expect what comes along with that. Scuff marks and the like. That said, our room was very clean with plenty of space for a couple and two preschool kids in the one bedroom suite. We did have to pay $20 extra for the upgrade because we bid through Priceline and they don't guarantee two beds. The standard room has a single queen. The one bedroom has a twin pullout couch which was great for our 4-year-old and then we set-up a pack n play for our 1-year-old and that worked well.

There was a good size kitchen, great for cooking, lots of pantry space, We only stayed two nights, so we didn't get to use the kitchen as much as we would have liked, but it was a good bonus with kids.

We got a card for access to the University Club that's attached and we had a great view of the golf course. We got all of this for a reasonable price on Priceline!

Two small complaints. 1) There was a previous review that said the water pressure was terrible. It is. And the odds are pretty slim that we were in the same room. He also said the towels are pretty rough and that was true, too. This is really no big deal, but the water pressure is when it takes forever to rinse your hair. 2)This hotel is across from the Ag Farm and they were spreading manure when we were there. You could smell it through the whole hotel. Not their fault, just a heads up.

Overall really good stay and really good value. Thanks, Candlewood Suites!

Room Tip: If you're more than a single or a couple sleeping in the same bed, you'll have to upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Great hidden gem plus access to the Club. Right near campus especially if youre looking for a place to stay for the games. Also access to the forsest hills golf club. Sunday brunch at the club is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scout09, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites in Lansing Michigan. It is truly a plus for our guests to have everything right here - Forest Akers Golf Course & The University Club for fabulous dining options.
I hope you'll stay with us again at the Candlewood Suites when you return to East Lansing.
Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed here for one night as my "normal" Lansing hotel was booked. All in all it was not a bad place. The water pressure in the shower was TERRIBLE. The other little things that bugged me were to start with there was no coffee available in the lobby. I like to get a cup on my way out the door and there was none to be found. Yes, there is a coffee maker in the room though. Another LITTLE issue was there are no outlets near the bed on the night stand. Most places have lamps on the night stands that have power outlets. The last gripe was the wireless internet was really slow.

The rooms were clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. It has a great sleeping atmosphere!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor (rooms numbered in the 200 range).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yachtsman1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scout09, Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank-you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites - Lansing MI. It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity and that the Candlewood Suites can become your "normal" hotel when you travel to Lansing.
Any concerns that our brought to our attention are looked in to immediately as your satisfaction is the most important thing.
I regret that our staff did not inform you of the complimentary coffee we have in our little store located in the lobby. You can also find a variety of snack and food items at reasonable prices, but the coffee is always available and complimentary. I have brought the concerns of water pressure to the attention of our engineer who is addressing the problem. If you have an opportunity to contact me at the hotel so I can learn what your room number was, we can see if the pressure was specific to this room as we have not found other issues of water pressure. I have also contacted our internet provider to trouble shoot any internet slowness.
thank-you again for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to the Candlewood Suites - East Lansing.
Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze, CHA, CTA
General Manager
517-351-8181 xt 419

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here in Feb while in town for a conference. Really liked the convenience of the kitchen. Enjoyed recliner in room. Had a nice view of the golf course and the scenery would probably be great in spring, summer and fall. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thrash29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scout09, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank-you so much for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites, East Lansing. We hope that you will once again be able to stay at the Candlewood and yes, it is beautiful with all the flowers in the spring and summe
Myself or any of the staff here at the Candlewood Suites would be happy to assist you with any future reservations.
Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze, CHA, CTA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I won a hotwire bid for this reservation...when i looked online i was skeptical...the pics looked outdated BUT the place was great! Newer tv's, the kitchen is bonus, clean and comfy bed...i was expecting disappointment and ended up being thrilled! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scout09, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank-you so much for your comments on your stay at the Candlewood Suites, Lansing MI. I am delighted that you were thrilled with your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Candlewood when you return to the area.

Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I had a nice stay here last month. My friend was married at the University Club which was connected to the hotel (a big plus). Our check-in was a little rough since there was another wedding party checking in and the rooms had not yet been cleaned. We had to wait over an hour for our room, but the general manager was very nice and provided us some sweets for our wait which was very nice. One word of warning, the pull out bed in the suites is a twin.

Room Tip: The larger suites have a pull-out bed, but it is a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seiderjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scout09, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank-you so much for your comments that you had a nice stay at the Candlewood Suites at MSU.
I am so sorry you had to wait to check in to your guest rooms and I am delighted that you enjoyed my offering of our fresh baked cookies.
I hope that if you are in the area again, you will once again chose to stay at the Candlewood Suites.

Sincerely,
Michele L. Uhaze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
318 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#2 of 9 in East Lansing
52 reviews
2.3 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U

Address: 3545 Forest Rd, East Lansing, MI 48910-3734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: £70 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing-a Quality Excellence Award winner for 2 consecutive years-is located on the Michigan State University (MSU) campus and is attached to the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development, a state-of-the-art conference and convention facility and the prestigious University Club of MSU. The Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is conveniently located just a few minutes from the Michigan State Capitol, downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, The Wharton Center for performing Arts and Forest Akers Golf Course. With our excellent location with our friendly and relaxing atmosphere, the Candlewood Suites Hotel East Lansing is the best choice for the business traveler. The hotel, which is now a 100% smoke free environment offers high-speed Internet access, our signature Candlewood Cupboard (convenience store), complimentary laundry facility, a quaint fitness center or access to the University Club Full Service Fitness Facility. Pets are welcome (additional fee applies). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing m.s.u Hotel East Lansing
Candlewood East Lansing
East Lansing Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing