We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Due for a gut rehab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 East Lansing/University Area
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Reviewed 4 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I thought our first stay the previous month was bad. Carpet was stained and loose, sheets didn't fit bed. Blankets seemed over 10 years old, tv reception was beyond terrible, you had to again hold the toilet handle for it to flush, the shower ceiling paint was all peeled, wall was warped from an obvious flood of some sort, entrance door appeared to be broken into. Door didn't fit the frame. Terrible room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hollywoodpalms1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I've stayed here a few times over the past year and I guess I've learned the trick to this hotel which I'll mention in the tips. The place doesn't look too amazing and for the price you can't expect 5 star everything but it does have some good rooms, of course some not so great rooms and a great location in my opinion. My first stay here was a dated older room in the back that had a tube TV and goofy paint with bad lighting but it was okay for the $60. I talked to Val the front desk woman who let me know that they had newer rooms near the office and ever since then she has been my main contact for the hotel. So now when I stay I usually get rooms 102, 205 or 207. All those rooms are newly renovated with flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses and better Wi-Fi connections. Definitely an improvement to the original derpy room. Like people have mentioned the water does take a bit to get warm but barely over 2 minutes and it's good, breakfast is really basic but I don't stay at hotels for their breakfast and for the times I've stayed I never had to deal with smelling smoke or anything else in my rooms. It's a shame so many people have had problems staying here because the staff has been quite helpful to me when I've stayed and bar that first room, all of my stays have been great. I'm sure if they fully renovated the rest of the hotel this place would make a killing. I'll post pictures at a later date.

Room Tip: Either ask for a suite or rooms by the office, they're better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were forced out of our home by a recent ice storm and lost power. Unlike every other place I contacted, the Super 8 did NOT take advantage of our situation, price wise. Which was good, because the room was not very clean and in a sad shape of disrepair. But it had heat and hot water, so we were very happy! A working dead bolt on the door should be their first order of business to repair. Raj Patel is the GM and he did everything in his power to help us. I am handicapped and he gave us the room nearest the parking lot and always helped me from above the steps, so I didn't have to come down to the desk. He allowed us to call him between 12 and 1 every day, after we checked to see if our power came back on, even though check out is 11. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful. I noticed Raj treated every guest with respect and was so helpful and patient with everyone. So, yep, they need to ramp up housekeeping and repairs, but for the price, well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor, if you have trouble walking. No elevator to second floor. Although second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
#19 of 26 in Lansing
182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#2 of 9 in East Lansing
52 reviews
3 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 26 in Lansing
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 East Lansing/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 East Lansing/University Area

Address: 2736 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4720
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: £41 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 East Lansing/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 East Lansing/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 University/ East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Super 8 East Lansing
East Lansing Super Eight
East Lansing Super 8
Super Eight East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing