We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Stay at the Wild Goose Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Lansing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Goose Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 East Lansing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I planned a surprise romantic stay at the Wild Goose Inn for my husband and I to enjoy on a weeknight evening together. From the very beginning of planning our night, Al and his staff went out of their way to respond to any questions I had about reservations, food served for breakfast (I am a … read morevegetarian), and parking. We stayed in the Autumn Arbor room which was BEAUTIFULLY and uniquely decorated (LOVE THE BED) and included so many extra amenities that we never wanted to leave! Al thought of everything a person would want or need when staying away from home. Our room had lovely flowers greeting us upon our arrival, candles galore, a cork screw, bath salts, soaps and lotions to use in the enormous tile shower, plush robes, and of course the fireplace at the foot of the bed could not be beat.

I brought all of our food for our evening and Al was gracious in allowing me to use his kitchen for the final prep before serving. The spa tub was heaven and I would recommend long soaks by candlelight to anyone who stays here in the future. The breakfast left us feeling nourished and full (thank you Paul, we are still thinking about those delicious muffins!) and we wished that we could have been staying many more nights instead of having to check out that day. Our plan is to come back to the Wild Goose at least 2 more times this year and we are already looking at dates on our calendar. Whether you are driving great distances or live locally, we highly recommend this bed and breakfast. We have stayed at many throughout our great state and this inn is at the top of our list! Well done Al!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyloug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

We came for an orientation weekend and left the kids in capable hands on campus while we went to the Wild Goose Inn.

Wonderful experience. Rooms are great. Al was a tremendous host. Breakfast was yummy.
All in all the perfect blend a comfort and access - laid back yet luxurious.

Room Tip: all the rooms are different - the web site is accurate in terms of photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at this inn three times now, each time for about a week.

I was under a great deal of stress, dealing with issues of my mother's health, and the state of her home prevented my staying with her.

There really are not a lot of choices for a traveller around Lansing if you prefer a more ambient environment. I do not like generic hotels, and prefer a personal feel about my quarters.

This inn delivers that and then some.

Each room has a different theme. I highly recommend the Great Lakes Room or the Summer Safari. These were definitely my favorites, although I stayed in nearly all the rooms and found each to have it's charm. The great Lakes room affords a privacy that makes you feel you are in your own house.

The breakfast is good, and the coffee is excellent.

Your host is most charming and kind and it can be hard to tear yourself away from the conversations. These folks made me feel so welcome and kept me de-stressed in a stressful time.

I cannot recommend this Inn enough. My friends who stopped in to visit were equally impressed by the rooms. The fireplaces and decks/patios are so nice. I will always stay here when I go to East Lansing.

Room Tip: Great Lakes room is imho the best. If it's summer the room downstairs with the hosta garden is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djunalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a really wonderful bnb. we stayed in the autumn arbor room and it was beautiful. I just wish we had booked two nights :) Al the host was very kind and it was a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night to celebrate our anniversary. It wasn't too far from home and it served well for our first night away from our baby. We stayed in the Summer Safari room and found the room and tiled bathroom to be great. There were plush leopard bathrobes too! We used the whirlpool tub and they set tea lights all around it. Even though it was summertime we used the fireplace right after our bath. For breakfast we sat at our own little table and a waiter came and took our breakfast order. It was better than expected! We liked the finishing touches that came with it-a pewter goose pick in the fruit. Overall it was a very clean comfortable room. We would stay here again, although we would probably choose one of the other rooms just for something different!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveln5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for an overnight. We found the inn online and the pictures were very thorough. However, they didn't even do it justice! Each room has a huge (really, huge) jetted hot tub that is in its own area, apart from the bathroom, as well as a fireplace and television. The decor is lovely and you can tell someone painstakenly labored over it (we stayed in the autumn arbor room - LOVELY!), and the owner is gracious and kind. The price is VERY reasonable compared to B&B's we've stayed at in the past and prices I was looking at for this time.

Breakfast was scrumptious and filling, and there are plenty of things to do within walking distance. It is right off if the MSU campus. This is very nice if you are visiting. The only drawback, however, was that it's across the street from some frat houses. We could hear a bit of that noise, but honestly not much. We thought parking might be an issue when we arrived, but they validated for us in the adjacent lot.

A wonderful place for a getaway. Lovely, private, peaceful. Will go again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Driveswithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed in the Summer Safari Inn during my daughter's freshman orientation at MSU. I thought it would be awkward staying there by myself, but it wasn't. I was pleasantly surprised with the skylights in the bathroom and the beautiful stone tile shower stall (complete with a bench and rainlike shower head). My room was on the 2nd floor of the main house and had a cute little balcony overlooking the patio. While I was there I noticed the owner and staff setting up the barbecue for other guests who were staying there. This was just a hint of their awesome hospitality! Thankfully the rooms have air conditioners... while I was there it was in the 90s. There is also an electric fireplace and a huge jacuzzi in the room. The pictures don't do it justice... it's very roomy! The bed was soft and comfortable. Tealight candles are everywhere...making the entire room very romantic. Citywide parking is available in the lot next door and the inn discounts your parking for you! Breakfast in the morning was amazing! The handmade muffins are delicious as was everything else... I had the french toast... very good! Plus you get coffee, juice and fresh fruit. The owner was very helpful with suggestions of places to shop. Your in the middle of downtown, close to lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Around the corner on Grand River is a convenience store which came in handy for me. Across the parking lot is a nice restaurant, a coffee shop, and an MSU apparel store. All in all, I will not even bother looking for another place to stay when I go to visit my daughter at college... Wild Goose Inn is where I will be!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catmarie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites East Lansing
0.2 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#2 of 9 in East Lansing
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
#19 of 26 in Lansing
182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
472 reviews
1.6 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 26 in Lansing
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Goose Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Goose Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 512 Albert Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Lansing
Price Range: £92 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Travel and Leisure Magazine as one of "America's Top College Hotels." Unique accommodations in the heart of downtown East Lansing, steps away from the campus of Michigan State University and the new Broad Art Museum. Every suite has a queen-sized bed, private bath, fireplace, Jacuzzi, cable T.V. And free WiFi. Six rooms with a full breakfast to all guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Goose Inn Bed And Breakfast
Wild Goose Hotel East Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing