We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Chelsea, Michigan
1 review
“Never again!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

TV pictures snowy-could not be corrected by staff. Bathroom fan rattled so loudly we could not use it. No-slip strips in tub need replacing. No bath mat. Skimpy towels. No mattress covering (unsanitary!). Pool closed and filled with green opaque water. Landscape weeding neglected. Sidewalks uneven and hazardous. Outdoor trash cans overflowing and neglected both days of our stay. No soundproofing in ceiling to minimize noise from upstairs guests. Breakfast less than average and no waffles as promised.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear James H.

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We take all of our reviews seriously and your comments and suggestions have been taken into consideration.We are in the process of replacing our ac systems and cable providers to make sure that this issue will cease. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    33
    18
    19
    25
See reviews for
35
20
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had stayed at this property a few years ago after we participated in our first day of the MIS-150 bike ride. We had some issues then, but decided to give the hotel a second try. We will not be going back!
When one of the members of our team arrived for early check-in on Saturday, she was informed that the pool was broken but would be fixed by late afternoon. When the rest of our team checked in after riding 75 miles, we were informed that the pool may not be opened until well after our check-out on Sunday morning. One of the main reasons for choosing this hotel was because of the pool.

Our first room had an issue with the door. It appeared that the door was kicked in. It was rubbing at the top on the door frame, but allowing light on the bottom. We were issued a new room, but had to wait since the room was still being cleaned at 5:15 p.m. in the evening. The maintenance person came to our first room, looked at the door and said it would still be ok to stay in that room. I wasn't staying in a room that had a door that did not close properly.

We waited 15 minutes before going to our new room. The maid said her co-worker was still upstairs vacuuming but we could go upstairs and drop our bags in the room. The maid that was still in the room told me I shouldn't be in there because she was still cleaning. I informed her that her co-worker said it would not be a problem to drop the bags and she made it a point to say something to her in front of us. In my opinion, her behavor was very unprofessional.

The front desk was very courteous and tried to be very accomodating, however, she could have definitely used a second person helping at the front especially since there were several people checking in at the same time.

The property definitely needs some updating.

They had a basketball court, but the ball was locked in the manager's office and the desk clerk did not have a key to the manager's office.

They did have breakfast ready in a timely fashion on Sunday morning. That was definitely a plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSParticipant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Director of Sales at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear MSParticipant,

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused during your stay. We take all of our reviews seriously and your comments and suggestions have been taken into consideration. We have since had our pool fixed, and it will be open for the rest of the summer. We are taking additional measures to increase security on the property as well to make sure that this issue will cease. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Lansing hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

These apartments converted to suites are nicely appointed in the kitchen and living. My issue is the TV was nice but the reception was terrible and we had static and fuzz on the screen, the other thing is the A/C ran all night and it never really got cold. You would be hard pressed to find a better location for the price and the ease of getting to Grand River and campus is prime. Don't plan on swimming in the pool as it is super small and the cigarette butts outside the room door was less than appealing. This place could be nice if managment paid some attention to detail but if you need a quick stay for $111 this will work.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Director of Sales at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hello Brewski000
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I apologize for the issues that you had staying with us. We take all of our reviews seriously and your comments and suggestions have been taken into consideration. We are in the process of replacing our ac systems and cable providers to make sure that this issue will cease. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here in late June, so it might be different when MSU in session --- but for LESS than one room at our usual holiday inn express, we had sleeping room for 8 (if you used sofa bedfor2) ,with two full baths and a full kitchen dining area, not to mention living room and3TVs, decent wifi, and standard breakfast buffet.

There AREsteps to climb, and it is not 5 star like the Redidence Inn downtown Chicago that we love --- but it's also 1/3 the price, and you don't feel crowded at all (there were 4 of us , and we wanted 2 bedrooms)

Some pieces of furniture had stains on upholstery, and the coffee cups were not that clean, (I'd suggest putting your dishes into dishwasher if you're going to use them)... But other than that, very clean with good maid service.

If you want to be guaranteed 5 star hotel, this probably isn't it --- but for the price, we were very happy and will gladly return

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Director of Sales at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed response for your stay! We are currently renovating some of our rooms and have hired a Executive Housekeeper to ensure that all of our rooms meet the same standard of cleanliness. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our layout and pricing and we hope to see you here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We really enjoyed our quiet stay in the penthouse. Having a full kitchen and two bathrooms was a definite plus. Free WiFi was also great. Front desk staff is great. However this place could be a very nice with a little updating. Like all facilities all things wear out. Replace the worn sofa and stained kitchen seating. The beds are a little soft even for my taste. The housekeeping staff needs a supervisor to ensure that the cleaning is a little more thorough. I had to clean the kitchen counters, and bathrooms (tubs and toilet rings) even after expressing my concerns. Breakfast could have offered a little more creativity. How about fresh fruit instead of can and frozen. Add yogurt in containers. Gatehouse is in a prime location. Make it a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front are probably better for people with mobility issues. The parking is closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Hello Jackie,

Thank You for your candid remarks. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Gatehouse Suites. We are in the process during the next few months of changing out the decor. I also recently hired an Executive Housekeeper to ensure that all rooms are up to the highest level of cleanliness. I am working on creating more menu options for breakfast as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I booked this because there was a group of us. The front desk was very good and had no issues moving us when there was an issue with a pipe from the room above. Pretty much a full little kitchen even in the Studio's so you could cook if you wanted. Breakfast every morning and was pretty good for what it was. It's not a 5 star but nice to have food all set for you when you get up. The bed was soft but some people like that. All in all I would stay there again. Thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skippy0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, General Manager at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Skippy0420,

Thank You for taking the time to write a response on TripAdvisor. All of our staff goes out of their way to ensure that you have the most enjoyable experience possible. I look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Read the reviews, pretty accurate. The decor is a little dated but definitely acceptable. Location is very convenient to MSU and numerous restaurants. We stayed in a unit that had a kitchen, BR, loft BR and 2 baths. Very spacious with everything you would want including WiFi, free breakfast, living area and nice TVs. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast nothing to write home about but typical free hotel breakfast. Paid less than for single room with fewer amenities on previous visit. Good value. Already booked again for my next trip to E Lansing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camatisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M, Director of Sales at Gatehouse Suites East Lansing, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Gatehouse Suites. Our friendly staff tries to make sure every guest feels special. Yes, our location is prime real estate to MSU. Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
1.1 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
2.5 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
350 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#4 of 9 in East Lansing
38 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatehouse Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Property: Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
Address: 1600 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatehouse Suites East Lansing 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gatehouse Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
East Lansing Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing