We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It is a great location to campus and short drive to town. Very spacious as there were 2 of us and we had a studio suite with 2 beds (queen only) and pull out couch, could easily sleep 5 comfortably. That being said, the rooms seemed to be very worn. Our bed, sagged in the middle. Carpet throughout was slightly worn and not vacuumed well. Bathroom floors needed to be mopped. All the furniture was worn and stained. We stayed 2 nights and did not use the fireplace, extra bedroom,or anything in the kitchen. It snowed both days while we were there and the sidewalks were not shoveled well. Glad we used priceline. Would have been very disappointed if we would have paid full price. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a close place to campus and not worried about quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaglem0m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just before Christmas, 2013 the greater Lansing area suffered extensive and lengthy power outages caused by a huge ice storm. My wife and I got a suite at Gatehouse Suites in East Lansing. And so did everyone else who could. The place was completely filled, with no previous notice to the staff that this was coming.

The entire staff performed magnificently. They were way overextended, but you would never know it. They were courteous and friendly, and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed and if that could not be done right away, they explained and gave an estimate of when it would be done.

I cannot praise the staff highly enough.

And yes, the suite was comfortable and well-appointed. We njormally host our kids and grandkids at our home for Christmas dinner (pre-cooked, and just has to be warmed up). We hosted them at our suite instead, with no problems.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room was okay. However, there were several things that needed replacement or repair. The housekeeping service was suspended due to the recent frigid temperatures which we understand. However, when she returned after two days of no housekeeping, she barely touched the place. Floors did not appear to be vacuumed, the dirty kitchen dish rag was not replaced. The internet went out a few times clearly due to the bad weather. However, we initially reported it twice over two hours. The first time we were simply told it was probably due to the weather with no mention of a plan to check into it. The next call an hour later was disconnected. An hour later, we went to the office and the young woman said, "I was going to call about that." We had to wait in the office for quite awhile before she made a call. The next morning, we inquired again and the day staff had no idea the internet was not working! She failed to communicate the issue. The breakfast was okay, but when I got there at 8 am one morning to three staff members just standing around and talking, the hot food was pretty much gone and I had to ask them to replenish. The stay was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Will never stay here again. Stayed here NUMEROUS times while having to dogs treated at MSU i the past 2 years. Won't stay here again. I stayed the night of Sunday OCt 6 to Monday morning OCT 7 at 8:50 am. Our appt for our dog at MSU oncology was at 9am Monday Oct 7. We left our room Monday morning to our appointment and went home to Ludington area after the appointment(about 4 pm that day we headed home). Like at every other time I stayed I left the two room keys on the desk/table by the door of our room when we left. We had the ground floor room nearest to the office. I got my credit card bill for Oct. 2013 and there were two nights charged. We checked in late on Sunday, sometime between 8-11pm(roughly)The girl with blond shoulder length, hair about 5'6", a bit heavy set was the one who checked us in. I don't remember her name but she knows we only asked for one night. Whatever you do if you stay here DO NOT LOSE your checkout receipt!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

First, I like this place. Great location and the rooms are well laid out and very comfy. Staff is very friendly and helpful!

Only problem I have with this place is that they could use some new mattresses (the ones in our room tended to do bend toward the middle) on the beds and a little more cleaning. They have those familiar white paneled doors and they hadn't been touched in months. Grout in the bath was also in need of some cleaning.

Would I stay here again? Yes, despite those drawbacks this is still a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salleng56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a great place to stay! For $5 they gave you a fire log that makes this a place to stay that will you remember! You have a fire and what else do you need to connect to the one you love! I have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed! The breakfast in the morning is FREE and has always been great. Lisa is always wanting to give us what we need above what she has available. She is awesome! Thank you,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here one night after the Spartans game. The suite was large, full kitchen, large bath, couch, fireplace and comfortable bed. The property was clean, and while not decorated in the most current style, more than fine. We were happy with the location to campus and the staff was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#2 of 9 in East Lansing
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
2.5 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 26 in Lansing
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
471 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatehouse Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Address: 1600 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: £118 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatehouse Suites East Lansing 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gatehouse Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
East Lansing Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing