We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“East Lansing's Best Kept Secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I have stayed at many hotels in the East Lansing Area, and by far, this hotel was one of the nicest. The rooms were quiet and clean. The staff were most hospitable. Great Job! The breakfast bar had lots of hot and cold foods to please most guests. I will stay at this hotel for my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Gatehouse Suites East Lansing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed for one night and were very upset with the condition of the room. We paid extra money for a "penthouse" room (loft, queen bed, and pull out couch). The couch would not open and we could not use bed. When we called the front desk the Marriot employee was very nice and came to the room to try help. When it would not open she did reduce the price of the room. Unfortunately one of us had to sleep on the couch. In the main bedroom the dust ruffle was torn and stained. The room needed a good cleaning and new linens on the bed. While the staff was great I would not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

I am Marriott Gold and spend many nights on the road. This Residence Inn is in need of renovation. The fridge in my unit was so loud I have to unplug it. The dishwasher was broken and the cable TV reception was haphazard. Lastly, the mattress was so soft I had a hard time sleeping - even after flipping it and removing the padded mattress cover. On the plus side, the signature RI breakfast was well attended and fresh, as was the evening meal. I was at this hotel for one week and every night they offered a selection of various local resturants - mainly national chains - but it was well presented and a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rggsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I have been to East Lansing several times in the last month to visit my son at Michigan State University. The Residence Inn is by far the best place I have stayed. My extended family has visited us there from Detroit, and the suites are easily big enough to accommodate guest visits. The Inn is right on the Red Cedar River. Two-story suites are available, with two beds and baths, a full kitchen, dishwasher, living area, deck or balcony. The Inn is beautifully landscaped and looks like an upscale condominium property. Kids can play outside on the full-sized basketball court, swim, hike in the woods by the river.... A grill and picnic area are on a deck over the river. Exercise room, business center (simple but functional), giant complimentary breakfast every day. The beds are very nice, with comfortable linens and pillows and extras for pull-out sofas. Not those horrible plastic blankets you get at so many budget hotels. Service is genuinely friendly. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel like a welcome guest, and they will make special efforts to meet your needs. It is not a luxury hotel, but it is so comfortable and the surroundings are so charming it certainly could be. The price is extremely reasonable for all of this. I paid $149 for a two-story suite with two bedrooms and two baths. I have also stayed in the $120 studio unit, which has a king sized bed, pull out sofa, living area, full kitchen, desk, pretty much all the amenities of the bigger suite except only one bath and one level. All units have working fireplaces! I will never stay anyplace else in East Lansing, if I can help it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willanoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We were here for a wedding. This place was nice I could live in one of these suites. It had comfy beds,nice lay out with full kittenette dishwasher, Fireplace, Great desk/table with rolling chair, you can bake a cake while doing computer work.Nice little pool next to a river, was like a little community. Thank You Tracie

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana7Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

I was in East Lansing MI. for a wedding and all the big hotels in the area were booked. In a last ditch effort I decided to call the residence Inn and was lucky to get the last room they had .We were really pleased with this hotel every one working there was very friendly and check in went very smooth. The room was exceptionally clean And the room was very big and it had everything you would need for agreat stay .I would recommend this place to all my friends and I plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pkh1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

First, always check that the particular Residence Inn property does indeed have a room with a King-sized bed, this one doesn't despite the web-site claiming you could ask for one. Second, we ended up in a nice, clean room with all the necessary amenities if you were a long-term guest - that Marriott has gotten correct. Our room rate also had a charge of $75 for the dogs. Marriott needs a clue that charging that much for dogs and not cleaning up the grounds outside the doors of the rooms is rather galling. Third, because we were on the ground floor our door was positioned under the stairs leading to the upper rooms. This created a bad blind spot that was very dark and caused some concern over personal safety issues. This hotel sits right across the street from Michigan State and let's face it, college towns are known to have hotel security issues. Final gripe is that the parking lot is tiny. While it has enough spaces for one car for each room, don't invite friends over as they will have no where to park and there is no street parking because it sits on the two main streets on the eastern side of the campus. The pluses include the river that runs through the back of the property a place to properly air your dog in the back and pick up after it. You are a block away from the dorms on the east side of campus and while it is a bit of a hike, you could easily stay at this hotel and walk to a football or basketball game, just take your mace with you if you are coming in after dark.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lizzietig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lansing
1.1 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
#4 of 9 in East Lansing
43 reviews
2.5 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 26 in Lansing
358 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatehouse Suites East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Address: 1600 E Grand River Ave, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > East Lansing
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in East Lansing
Price Range: £66 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatehouse Suites East Lansing 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gatehouse Suites East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites East Lansing Hotel East Lansing
Residence Inn East Lansing
East Lansing Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing