We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Panoramic views of the Atlantic, Inisturk and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Killadoon, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Smiffy64
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Panoramic views of the Atlantic, Inisturk and Clare Islands and Croagh Patrick”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This area of Ireland has so much to offer and we did so much in one week. We swam and walked on the beautiful and varied beaches (especially the nearest which was less than a five minute stroll from the house), hiked up Croagh Patrick, went on a boat trip in Clew Bay, explored the pretty town and shops of Westport, walked in the Connemara National Park, found out about he history of ordinary people at the Museum of Country Life (in Castlebar) and even had time to relax! The pretty house had absolutely stunning views from all living areas. It was comfy, spacious and well-equipped for ten adults. The Ocean Lodge Hotel, just a five minute walk away, offered a lovely atmosphere and delicious food at a good price.

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibM68
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent location in wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My children and I were lucky enough to find this wonderful stone cottage in County Mayo on the Atlantic Coast of Ireland. As Australians, we are used to breathtaking coastal views, but this location was totally unique. Keem Bay, Achill Island, Delphi, Louisburgh, Thallabawn, Croagh Patrick and Castlebar to name a few amazing locations. We swam, surfed, climbed and explored these historic places and then returned home to our delightfully comfortable cottage at the end of the day to cook a meal in the fully equipped kitchen and eat watching the sun setting over the ocean or enjoyed a pub or restaurant meal at several locations close by. I cannot recommend this cottage and location highly enough and would love to return again soon.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee J
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing property & breathtaking views”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I could not recommend Tranquil Killadoon more highly - the property has everything you could want for, extremely spacious with several separate living areas and absolutely AMAZING unspoiled panoramic views of the Atlantic ocean.

I have never stayed anywhere so beautiful and peaceful in the world. Great walks at your doorstep including short downhill (uphill back) walk to Atlantic. Native animals such as rabbits bounce around nearby unspoilt. There is also a neighboring pony to pat.

Lovely little Irish pub within walking distance serves nice meals too. Locals are very friendly and nearby surf beaches are only a short drive away, with surf lessons also available.

Perfect balance for a relaxing getting away from it all holiday.

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen B
County Laois, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“West of Ireland at its Best”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great house with fantastic views from every room - View from the living room is fantastic - Clare Island, Caher, Inistrurk, Inishbofin & inisshark in the distance. Fantastic Sunsets over the sea between the islands - would make you want to take up photography. Incredibly relaxing place to stay & recharge - we stayed in May for 4 days & went back again in July for another 4. We're quite fussy about our holidays so going back twice in one year is a mark of how much we liked the place. Loads to do in the area - loved walking the hills behind the house (although they felt like mountains when you are carrying / dragging a 3 year old for most of it (6 & 8 year old did a little better) - bring your hiking boots - Scenery was amazing - Croak Patrick, Clew Bay, Beaches, Mountains, Islands. We island hopped to Clare Island and drove some of the Atlantic Way - We loved the Granuaile (Grace O'Malley) connections / history / castles. Derrylahans in Louisburgh was great for food & Guinness. Kids loved the house - picnics on the rocks on the patio & then the beach(es) below the house. Short car hop to so much - Killary Fjord, Westport, Achill -regret not getting to go horse riding on the beaches nearby- We'll go back again as we didn't get to Inishturk and will have to climb Croagh Patrick (without the kids)

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the living room & patio area
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaisli R
Antibes, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: l'Atlantique, la maison et le confort, les animaux
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.