We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home of the Antrim County Petoskey Stone Festival”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barnes Park Campground
Central Lake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home of the Antrim County Petoskey Stone Festival”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Beautiful Barnes Park, right on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay, is not only a great campground and place to hike and enjoy the beach and forested trails, but also is the home of the Antrim County Petoskey Stone Festival, www.petoskeystonefestival.com, held on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend every year. The festival is filled with fun events, food, music, and wonderful presentations all offered free to the public, so plan on being at Barnes Park in Eastport, Michigan, on Memorial Day weekend. The park is sprayed annually for bugs, so no worries about mosquitoes or black flies, either!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 905Lindag10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    4
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The view is gorgeous, and the sand is nice and clean. Can't say anything about the camping as we just spent a few hours at the beach. The only downside I saw as far as the beach was that from the edge of the water in to the bay quite a bit were rocks. Slippery rocks the size of your palm or more. Not great for little kids. Not great for anyone as we all were having a hard time walking over them.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I am originally from the area and have many options of places to stay, but this is my #1 choice. The campground is one of the best I have ever been to. The sites are wooded and mostly private, the bathrooms are always clean and well stocked. But the best thing of all is the other campers you meet, most are so friendly and considerate of others. I lost my brand new camera right before we were ready to leave, someone saw my flyers and called me that they had found it. They mailed it to me. Nice honest people!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcreller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Nice campground. Bathrooms are clean. That's so important! Family friendly. Dog friendly. Staff seems a bit odd, and a bit unorganized, but were nice. Enjoyed our 4 night stay. The easy access to Traverse City and points north makes it convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmr013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a favorite place of ours for camping. It is always very clean - the beach, the grounds, the well-kept playground and field, and bathrooms/showers. Yes, there are insects outdoors, but this year's weather seems to have doomed the mosquito population. There are several convenient places to get ice and firewood. The campground is quiet, and the staff patrols throughout the night. The highlight is watching the spectacular sunsets over Lake Michigan. We wish more sites were reservable, because arriving during a peak time can be a bit of a gamble. The sites are arranged well, with plenty of trees to provide shade and reasonable separation from neighboring sites.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Wonder camp ground. Everyone very friendly. Only problem is the earwigs and german cockroaches. Yes, I said roaches. Had to bomb trailer. Hopefully got them all!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess121970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We spent the weekend in Eastport, Michigan. As far as I can tell, there are two reasons to go to Eastport - camping on Grand Traverse Bay or Torch Lake. The beauty of Grand Traverse Bay is undisputable and the locals say that National Geographic magazine once ranked Torch Lake as the third most beautiful lake in the world. Eastport is nestled in between the two of them.

We camped at Barnes Park. It is a campground on Grand Traverse Bay and it administrated by Antrim County. We arrived with some friends on a Thursday and found plenty of campsites from which to choose. We selected sites four and five. They were both roomy and were located up a small hill from the beach. It pays to look around before choosing a site. Most of the sites are pretty roomy but a few are small. Most sites have electricity but none have water. There are several places in the campground where campers can fill water containers.

There are two buildings with modern plumbing and showers. We used the newer of the two (located near the stairs that go down to the beach, see map on web site). The front portion of the building had men's and women's bathrooms complete with changing tables. The back of the building was split up into four individual shower rooms which provide complete privacy. Be sure to take some quarters as showers cost 25 cents per five minutes of water. Hot water was never an issue.

They take reservations for some campsites but most of them are first come, first served. Some of the sites designated for reservations we liked, others we did not. We felt the best campsites were amongst the ones not available for reservation.

The friends we were with have camped here for many years but this was our first time. It is easy to understand why they keep coming back. It is a beautiful campground with a great location. From what we are told, the campground is not promoted so many people have never heard of it. Eastport is an extremely small town so if you can find it on the map (north of Elk Rapids on US-31) you will not have any trouble finding the campground.

For more information, see their website at:

http://www.antrimcounty.org/barnespark.asp

Helpful?
4 Thank pinnacle-project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Barnes Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnes Park Campground

Property: Barnes Park Campground
Address: Eastport, MI 49627
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Eastport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Eastport
Number of rooms: 76

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing