We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Break”
Review of The English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The English Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eaton Rapids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our third stay at the English Inn, it's perfect for a weekend getaway as it's only an hour's drive from our home, but it's a world away. This trip we stayed in the Somerset Room, a large room at the front of the house. We try to check-in by 3.30pm, and spend an hour in the pub in the basement, then relax and enjoy the room or walk in the garden before dinner. As always the staff are welcoming and attentive but not intrusive. All three rooms we have enjoyed have been wonderful, filled with unique furniture and lots of detail, clean and comfortable. The dinner menu offers a nice selection, the food is excellent and the waiters very professional and accomodating. A piano player entertains in the dining room. As an alternative the pub serves pasties, fish & chips, shepards pie and sandwiches. Tap beer is limited to Bass and Guiness but there is a good selection of bottled beer and excellent wines. This is an old, elegant house and should be enjoyed as such. We are looking forward to our fourth visit.

Room Tip: Somerset is our favorite room but it looks to the West across the main road, the rooms at the rear o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprigrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

A very upscale B&B. Just fabulous. The food was very good was excellent . The service was right on English type. We ate in the Pub. I had the pasty. It was very good. My wife had the chicken wrap.also very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our recent weekend stay was frustrating due to lack of a basic service - water. When we arrived we were unable to wash or brush our teeth because extremely reduced water pressure resulted in extremely limited water flow from faucets. While showering the water flow completely and totally stopped mid-shower. The inn manager said that when the kitchen dish washer was operating water pressure to the customer's rooms can be expected to be reduced. Apparently kitchen needs takes precedence over paying customer's needs.

The inn's staff were professional, courteous, and very helpful but that is not enough to convince me to return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I loved this place, We stayed in the honeysuckle cottage and three couples occupied it. We had dinner at the main house and of course breakfast was served at 8:30am the next morning. How wonderful was our stay. Each couple had their own suite. It was beautifully decorated and had a hot tub in the bath. We weren't celebrating anything special except great friendships. It's a must for a romantic weekend or an overnight special outing. The restaurant was the very best. We had the special overnight and the dinner was included but even an evening just having dinner would be fantastic.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic... check out the website and find one that fits your lifestyle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary in the Cambridge room in the honeysuckle cottage. It is a beautiful place. We ate there for dinner and it was the best (and most expensive) meal I have ever had. The staff was nice and attentive. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAR1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at the English Inn for a too short weekend. The Inn is listed as an Historic Site - the former home of an auto baron. There are guest rooms in both the main building and the "cottage." We stayed in the cottage. Bedrooms were a bit snug but there were three "common areas" plus a porch overlooking the back gardens. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and well maintained. Some might say the furnishings are dated - I think they fit the period and added to the charm. The Inn is on 15 acres along the Grand River - with plenty of space to walk and enjoy the scenery. There is an English pub on the lower level of the main building and formal dining room upstairs. Breakfast was on an enclosed porch. It was hard to leave the Inn and return to the real world! We definitely will go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - the rooms in the cottage are smaller than those in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missinginmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed in a room in an outer cottage. The bed was comfy. The spa tub and bathroom were pretty worn, the kitchen in the common area only had one wine glass, starting a fire proved to be difficult due to lack of kindling and dry wood. Dinner at the inn was tasty, but gave me diarrhea. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn

Address: 677 S Michigan Rd, Eaton Rapids, MI 48827-8242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Eaton County > Eaton Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eaton Rapids
Price Range: £92 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occasionally, when you may least expect it, you come across a spot in the world where time seems to have stood still, where graciousness of spirit and personal attention to detail still thrive, where the hustle and bustle of the modern world are shut and the lingering taste of a good Burgundy on your palate is all that matters. The English Inn is just such a place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Eaton Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing