We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canyon Falls & Gorge - A Crown Jewel”

Eben Ice Caves and Canyon Falls & Gorge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
368 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Canyon Falls & Gorge - A Crown Jewel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Located on US-41 in Baraga County, this area is also known as the "Grand Canyon of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula". The trail is an easy walk along a combination of boardwalk (through swampy areas) and a well defined dirt trail passing through a mature forest. Soon, the trail parallels the Sturgeon River and we begin to see a series of cascading water sliding over black rock. A short distance later, is the viewing platform for Canyon Falls. The falls drop 15’ into the canyon. Beyond the falls the river has cut a gorge into the rocks, and a rustic trail continues along the rim of the gorge. We spent about two hours hiking and photographing the trail, the river, and the canyon. We didn’t regret using insect repellent! The parking lot has picnic tables and restrooms. This is a lovely area not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgman, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Super cool!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It's well worth the drive out there- about 20 miles from Munising- There is approximately a one half mile hike from the parking area to the caves. The snow was so packed by the time we had visited that we did not need any equipment (just had snow boots) to get out there. You cross an open field before reaching the park land. That open field is actually private land. The owners are some kind of cool though because they not only allow the public to trek across their property in order to reach the park land they've installed a couple of porta-potties in the parking area. So thank you awesome land owners- whoever you may be! The caves in the winter are a pretty stunning sight!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eben Ice Caves”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I rode our snowmobiles out to Eben Junction via snowmobile route 8. There is a small sign that points to the direction of the Ice Caves and where parking is available for cars. Snowmobile'rs are allowed to park closer to the trail head by the trees. It's a good walk into the caves. The sign says it's one mile round trip. If you have yak tracks they are highly recommended. There were some slippery slopes. We had on our snowmobile boots and did okay but there were some spots which were very slippery. It's was a nice break from sitting/riding the snowmobile and walking some to see the beautiful caves. They Lady who was at the concession was very nice. They have port-a-potty's for your use. Overall a great day and experience. Nature at it's best!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank iselamroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Engaged here!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We trekked in right before noon and had the place to ourselves! I have to say that in -25 degree weather I was a little annoyed at the never ending trail that leads up to it but was very awe struck when finally it appeared like a mini mt. everest right around the trail bend. It's smaller than what the pictures looked like but hey! I'm not complaining. Glad there wasn't anyone else around, had a great time. The trail was a wee bit treacherous as the signs indicated. We ended up on all fours crawling around up hills trying not to die going uphill and down hill. If you happen to go when it's super cold and super icy take my word for it, BRING CRAMPONS OR SKI POLES! Don't forget snow pants either and we were so happy we brought those little warm glove heaters with us for added heat. And I guess if you have access to a snow mobile it would help get you across that freezing ice field you have to walk through. I give it 5 stars simply because I got engaged here and because nobody else was around. Avoid on the weekends, I hear it's a zoo. Happy Yooper-ing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Redeeming winter!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

If it's gotta be cold we may as well see the amazing sites! The walk to the caves is beautiful thru old growth maple. The trail is well packed with many choosing snow shoes beside the trail. With reasonable care we didn't find it slippery or dangerous while we were there. Once at the caves take the time to go inside and go behind the ice walls. Inside and right by the caves it is icy do be careful.

The owners of the field where you park are lovely. They have a snack shack and provide porta-potties. Leave a donation!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sueslager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eben Ice Caves and Canyon Falls & Gorge also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Eben Ice Caves and Canyon Falls & Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing