We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place to stay up northern Michigan with world traveler/volunteer Helen Perez as the owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairn House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Elk Rapids B&B and Inns
Michigan
2 reviews
“A delightful place to stay up northern Michigan with world traveler/volunteer Helen Perez as the owner”
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We have been staying at Cairn House B&B every summer in July for 5 days & love it more each year. It is calm,clean & charming oasis from our hectic days on Elk LAke with our children who are in a rustic cottage. We prefer to sleep in the comfortable room with all the amenities at Cairn House. helen is a gourmet cook who makes delicious breakfasts. I look forward to the homemade grape juice which she makes from the grapes growing at the back of her property.

I highly recomment staying at Cairn House B&B; you are in for a treat of a stay.

Carole Rycus, Ann Arbor, MI

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigander0599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Cairn House bed and breakfast was exactly what we were looking for! A reasonable, nice,clean, friendly bed and breakfast close to all the sites you want to see in the Traverse city area of Michigan.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Clean, pleasant home with great personality. The hostess was very warm and friendly. It is obvious she loves what she is doing. Stayed for one night and full breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havenofrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This is our 2nd year at Cairn House. We love the B&B because it is very quiet for a home like setting-(great acoustics for early risers and those who stay out late). The rooms are very clean and both times, our king size bed was so comfortable. Last June, we had this terrific breeze off the lake that passed through our upstairs room. This year in July, it was hot and muggy and our quiet AC unit and ceiling fan was the perfect solution. Unlike some B&B's Cairn House had ample space and electrical outlet for a C-Pap machine next to the bed. People can visit in the sun room, th deck overlooking a modest and well kept garden as well as having access to the living room -it's such a comfortable place to be. The breakfast menu has always been so good, there's always a bowl of fruit to snack on throughout the day. I love Michigan cherries and blueberries and could store two quarts in the extra fridge. You'll find brochures available to help you with your travels. The owner is gracious & will join you in easy and interesting conversation if you wish. We had travel complications and could call the owner more than once to adjust our arrival time. Once there, we found it so easy to come and go throughout the day. It felt like home. We love Elk Lake, Torch Lake, Elk Rapids and that part of Michigan! (Did I mention it's a 30 minute drive to the vineyards?) This B&B is just easy for getting in-out and the parking is great; you would likely not have difficulty with your boat and trailer (call to confirm). For people who struggle with stairs, you can ask for ground level accomodations. Pricing is fair and equivalent to surrounding establishments. We can hardly wait to return. Thanks, Helen, for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedbreakfastfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cairn House. Helen was very nice and most accommodating to our needs. The house was very clean and well appointed. Breakfast was delicious. Helen joined us for conversation which we enjoyed and found very relaxing - she wasn't anxious to get us out. We would recommend Cairn House to others!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenoraNovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at the very nicely decorated Oriental room. Convinient to downtown Elk Rapids, and we had a great time. Clean, quiet, and nice yard. Helen, the innkeeper, had a full of entertaing stories as well as helpful infomration of the area. Her orange syrup french toast was decious. And don't forget the homemade grape juice! You can expect a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2009

A great place to stay. Helen was a very hospitable hostess and the breakfasts were wonderful. The rooms and grounds were immaculate, and the conversation was interesting. We felt like we had made a new friend and actually felt sad to leave! We would definitely stay there again if we are in the area and would recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meechiemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Rapids
14.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
12.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
14.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City
13.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cairn House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8160 Cairn Hwy, PO Box 858, Elk Rapids, MI 49629-9310
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Elk Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elk Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant colonial style home, Cairn House Bed and Breakfast, a Northern Michigan Bed and Breakfast, welcomes you to enjoy this serene natural setting near the coastal village of Elk Rapids, MI on Lake Michigan, twenty miles north of Traverse City, Michigan. Cairn House B&B takes pleasure in sharing the elegant furnishings collected from around the world. Relax in front of the fireplace in our formal living room or retreat to the sun room to enjoy a good novel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing