We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's do girls weekend again !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The House on the Hill
Ranked #1 of 5 Ellsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The view from the front porch is to die for. There are babbling brooks and hiking trails, kayaking and paddle boarding. I was extremely comfortable in my immaculate room. I found Marci and Phil just the right combination of accommodating and attentive while respecting privacy. BunnyoftheGlen did not appreciate the utility room. To me this room was quite clean being the "working guts" (washer and dryer and water sports storage) of the B & B, it did not bother me a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I returned to the House on Hill for a long weekend visit up north. This trip we stayed in the main house in the Rose Room. This room is very spacious and comfortable and has a lovely view of the lake. The room was immaculate! Each day was a gourmet breakfast, it was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful!
We decided to rent the new paddle boards the B&B has supplied to use on the lake in front of the house. What a fun experience that was! I definitely recommend!
The house is set on beautiful grounds, very peaceful with amazing views all around you. We had a great time visting with Marci and Phil on the front porch in the evenings. The common areas are very comfortable and a nice perk is the utility room stocked with beverages. Marci and Phil are always the perfect hosts! Thank you for another memorable weekend at the House on the Hill! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeSnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My mom and I took a mother/daughter weekend up to House on the Hill. It was so relaxing and comfortable. I felt right at home almost instantly. Our room was beautiful and very clean with a very comfortable bed. I slept like a rock. The breakfasts were delicious and Phil and Marci were wonderful hosts. They helped make a great weekend greater!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Two things stand out for this B & B: the view from the front porch and the innovative breakfasts. Some guest rooms need renovating and the porch definitely needs a new railing. A major turnoff is the utility room which has a well-stocked guest refrigerator, coffee supplies and sports equipment: the floor was filthy and piled with several days of dirty laundry. Cans and bottles overflowed the recycle bin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunnyoftheGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the House on the Hill for 3 nights and truly had a perfect experience. We have stayed at many B & B's and feel we have very high standards, which often leave us disappointed. Not here. Phillip and Marci were wonderful, relaxed hosts and the weekend we stayed was the weekend before their daughter's wedding! The food was excellent as expected from other reviews, the lake sublime for canoeing and the activities and restaurants within easy driving distance restful and rejuvenating. We couldn't think of ANYTHING that wasn't "just right" and will definitely make The House on the Hill a destination in the future!

Room Tip: We loved the detached house behind the main house. Lovely porch overlooking the creek. When we sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spent two nights here and ate at the Rowe Inn, just down the road. A great place to spend relaxing or hiking around the property. There is plenty of things to do, kayaks and canoes are there for guests to use. There are numerous places to visit nearby, Charlevoix, Petoskey. The accommodations are first class. The breakfasts were very good and the owners exceptionally friendly. If you are going to be in the north part of Michigan, you'll want to considers this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I went to the House on the Hill for a special event which was a cooking class in partnership with a Matter of Taste at Tapawingo and Fustini's Oils and Vinegars. My timing could not have been worse since the drive was terrible as it started snowing terribly the day I drove up. But despite the harrowing drive my stay at the House on the Hill was a welcoming and relaxing retreat. My room, the Birch Room, was comfortable, clean and had a very nice view. The owners Marci and Philip Palajac are wonderful innkeepers as well as hosts. The breakfast is definitely gourmet and I hated to return home to my mundane scrambled eggs but thanks to Ginny and Gregg McCallum, a Matter of Taste, and Maxine from Fustini's I know how to liven them up.

The cooking class was held at Matter of Taste at Tapawingo was very informative and the dishes prepared by Maxine featuring Fustini's Oils and Vinegars were delicious. I cannot wait to use their products. Our dinner prepared by Ginny and Gregg was simply divine and I can easily say I can't wait for the opportunity to do this all over again even if it means driving in a snowstorm.

P.S. The coffee butter is to die for and make sure to buy some jam to take home or give as gifts, Marci's mom makes it and they are good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittygirlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The House on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Hill

Address: 9661 Lake St, Ellsworth, MI 49729-9671
Region: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ellsworth
Price Range: £154 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House on the Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Michigan's Premier Bed and Breakfast overlooks peaceful St. Clair Lake, part of the Chain of Lakes. Paddle Boards, Kayaks and Canoe available during your visit. 53 Wooded acres, groomed hiking trails, spectacular gardens and sitting areas. Walking distance to the restaurant The Rowe Inn. Memorable sit-down full breakfasts. King or queen beds in every room, along with private bath. Elegantly appointed. Winter packages. Open year-round. Charlevoix, 11 miles. Petoskey, 25 miles. Traverse City, 38 miles. Voted #1 Best Bed & Breakfast in Northwest Michigan for two consecutive years . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The House on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing