We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza lovers in the sand dunes”
Review of Empire Village Inn

Empire Village Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a day on Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes and a dip in Lake Michigan, the kids were ravenously hungry. The consensus was pizza. Fortunately awesome thin crust pizza is served at Empire Village Inn, a local bar just around the corner from the National Park Service visitor center in Empire. Enjoyed pitchers of micro brewery root beer and plates of smelt while waiting for our pizza to bake from scratch. The family members of Italian descent said the quality of the pizza was well worth the 40 minute wait. Then back to camp for a campfire and s'mores. A perfect day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MICHEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villageinnempire, Public Relations Manager at Empire Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for visiting the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore and for choosing the Empire Village Inn. And thank you for your enthusiastic review of our pizza. High praise to have your family members of Italian decent give a "thumbs up" to our thin crust pizza. It is great to hear from other fans of the "thin crust" (not that we are knocking you "Deep Dish Pizza" people). Our root beer is a custom draft made for us by a local company; Northwoods Soda. We now have it available in bottles so you can take some home with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We picked up 2 pizzas. Not the greatest tasting. Service wasn't good, but they were busy. There are not many options, and all run by the same group anyway.

1  Thank famtrips_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped here after Sleeping Bear Dunes on way back to hotel. Food was good, waitress very nice and informative about area, little pricey but generous portions.

Thank Connie05342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villageinnempire, Public Relations Manager at Empire Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for making Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore and The Empire Village Inn part of your vacation. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience in our restaurant. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We ate Dinner here and watched the Tigers game. Very nice service and great food menu. Not very busy. It also has a Ice Cream/Deli next door.

Thank Solprovider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villageinnempire, Public Relations Manager at Empire Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

So you have found our other two businesses in Empire. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Empire Village Inn. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The food is great! Good chili and pizza. I was charged $4.50 for a very tiny side of bad coselaw. They put my name in as " no name" and didn't tell me when my food was ready. Me and my bf were really insulted: (

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ambblahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villageinnempire, Guest Relations Manager at Empire Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your input about the Village Inn. We are constantly striving to improve our business & we find feedback like yours very valuable. I surmise from your review that you had a bad experience with ordering takeout because "no name" was on your order. On in-house orders the servers name and table number are recorded. The staff member who took your order should have asked for and put your name on the order. The "no name" on your ticket probably caused it to get lost in the shuffle. We will address the staff to make sure everyone is clear on how these orders are to be processed to avoid these mistakes in the future. We are sorry your experience was less than great and we hope that you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empire Village Inn also viewed

Empire, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Empire, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Empire Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing