We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Retreat, Clean and friendly service!”
Review of Maple Lane Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Empire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maple Lane Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was a wonderful experience for us and we will be coming back! It was clean and the feeling of being a person not a number made a difference. Rick the manager was friendly and accomodating! An excellent locatiot!

Room Tip: Corner Suites are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby29556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Although the Maple Lane Resort was recommended to us by a friend, we were disappointed. We stayed in the main house. The old fashioned decor just seemed old and dreary -just not our "cup of tea" perhaps.There was a large dead bug under the TV remote. The TV was way over at the side of the room so that it was nearly impossible to watch it from the bed. It was difficult to get in and out of the old fashioned claw bathtub and there was nowhere to put soap and shampoo. We realize that some people may find the decor charming, but we prefer something more updated and modern. The bed was very comfortable however, and the staff was nice. Next time we will check out places to stay in Glen Arbor.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank deuxvoyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I made a last minute reservation and Danielle and Connie were very helpful.Rick, the manager, was very polite and professional. My room was very clean and had peaceful energy. The AC and fireplace worked really well. I got thirsty in the middle of the night and had easy access to the bottled refreshments: Dasani water and Coca cola zero. I would recommend this place again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonjour43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The new management Connie and Rick where very nice while I was there. I was comfortable in the bed and the pillows where good. Never had a problem with the room not being clean. Really enjoyed how cosy it was and the nightly campfires that Connie facilitated. It is near several good restaurants and a very nice beach, if you walk to the end of the street they have a lovely view of the lake where you can grab a canoe. Looking forward to seeing all the improvements that they want to do. They where also very good at helping us navigate the area and not miss out on anything.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms had little kitchens where my room didn't but we had the convenience of dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I found Maple Lane to be a very comfortable and cute place to stay! The rooms were clean and simple but perfect for the location. They staff was very accommodating and I am looking forward to going back for another vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krysta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

If you're coming up to the National Lakeshore and you haven't snagged a cottage, this is a great alternative. Nothing fancy but totally comfortable and clean. In the linens department the sheets smelled wonderful like they were dried in the sun but the towels need beefing up and the pillows are foam. Down their road is a small beach on Little Glen Lake and Maple Lane will check out a canoe or kayak for you. The breakfast in the Gathering Room is pretty run of the mill but there is a kitchen and a frig - so you can pick up some supplies at Deerings in Empire or some farm bounty from one of the local stands - and make yourself a breakfast that will be the envy of the other guests. The location is central and it's tucked away so it's quiet. The new manager is very accomodating. If you are looking for something fancy, this is not the place (try the Sylvan Inn in Glen Arbor) but if your are looking for an affordable and comfortable place while up North the Maple Lane Resort may be just your ticket. P.S. Some rooms are dog friendly for those of you traveling with your pooch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bookgirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We loved the maple lane resort. As a family of 5 it was quite different from what we expected. In the back was a bonfire, volleyball net, horse shoes, community center and everything you could imagine. Just down the dirt road is there dock with canoes and the beautiful lake. It was a quaint lovely place. You woke up to birds in the morning with a view of gorgeous maple trees. The only bad part was the mattresses, which we understand are getting replaced. I rate it a four out of 5. The brand new management was lovely and very accomidating. We loved it and the kids didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Epw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple L, General Manager at Maple Lane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Just wanted to let you know, Thank you very much for the kind words about the resort. Also we have just put in new mattress's throughout the entire resort along with new flat screen tv's. Hope you come back and see us again soon and our new website should be coming online by end of Oct
Rick
Maple Lane Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empire
15.6 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
14.5 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
17.1 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
169 reviews
19.3 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
165 reviews
3.9 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#2 of 3 in Empire
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lane Resort

Address: 8720 S Dorsey Rd, Empire, MI 49630-9715
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Empire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Empire
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Maple Lane Resort, time stands still...Nestled in the splendor of wildlife and towering maple trees, Maple Lane Resort is a place of comfort and gracious hospitality. With our spectacular setting just off the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, along with the area's most vibrant landscape and year-round activities. We continue to be the destination of choice for travelers from all over the world. Come celebrate whatever your heart desires under a canopy of maple trees. Make an event out of any occasion here at MLR! We specialize in weddings &receptions, family reunions, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations, retreats, anniversary celebrations and many more! For wedding celebrations, we can make your long anticipated day more special here at Maple Lane Resort. Your reception will be set in a historic yet elegant early 1900s setting providing you with breath-taking scenery for pictures. We have worked with many caterers and other vendors throughout the local vicinity as well as statewide. They prepare their food freshly with care, style and attention to detail all while doing their best to use local foods. Amenities* 25 units including kitchenettes, standard motel rooms, king suites, guest suites & guest rooms. Most rooms accommodate 2 to 6 people.* Air-conditioning in all rooms* Free Seasonal Continental Breakfast* BRAND NEW Sealy Mattresses & 26' Flat Screens in all rooms* Free wifi in rooms and across the site. Private Beach on Little Glen Lake with a dock and moorings* Free use of Bikes, SUP, Canoes, and Kayaks* Volleyball Court & Horseshoe Pits* Bonfire Pit (wood is provided)* Grills & Picnic Tables* Recreation/Gathering Room with Kitchen. We also now have large banquet room available in the new pole barn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Lane Hotel Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing