We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, simple rooms = great value”
Review of Maple Lane Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Empire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maple Lane Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Can't agree more with other reviewers: family friendly, great location with kayaks and canoes available to use on the lake just a block from the buildings. Breakfast was as anticipated and the rooms simple and straight-forward. No complaints from us and we'll return next time we're in the Empire area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganVisitor404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Maple Lane Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice location! Nice for kids and or relaxing. Under new management from our stay last year. Last years management/maintenance team were much better. Leaky kitchen sink and shower backed up while using. Carpet was filthy and stained. Good breakfast selection and close to dunes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are new and clean. Rooms on the bottom floor and old, smelly and dirty and...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Supergrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple L, General Manager at Maple Lane Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We here at Maple Lane Resort take your review very seriously.
I am personally sorry that your stay was not as good as last years.
We are still in the process of updating a few items in the rooms. We have replaced the beds, all the linens, (which now go to a linen service), new TV's. Carpet is the next big thing on our list.
We have fixed the shower drain in the room you were staying in, we tore apart the entire floor and wall to fix it. However that still does not excuse it improperly working while you were here. We thoroughly investigated the leaky sink that you stated, and could not find any sort of leak. We are still keeping an eye on it however.
We have gotten a new Maintenance Manager this year, however the General Manager is the same from last year.
Again, I am truly sorry that your stay was unfavorable. I hope that you can consider staying with us again, and letting us prove to you that this stay was a fluke.


Connie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As other reviews have mentioned, this resort is very nice and extremely family friendly. With bikes, kayaks, a sand volleyball court and bonfires, it has a lot going for it. The location is great in an area that has become more and more expensive every year, this is really the only option as an alternative to the Homestead. The beds seemed practically brand new. There have been improvements every year I've stayed. However, I'd say that the term "resort" is generous as this is really a motel with lots of extras. It has some very authentic up north charm, but along with that comes a little up north "rough around the edges." The dining area is cramped and a bit musty. The free breakfast is very basic. The bikes are in sad shape. But the staff is extremely helpful, and it offers an old fashioned family fun experience you won't find anywhere else in Glen Arbor/Empire without paying dearly for it.

Room Tip: First floor is generally a little noisier as in most hotels. The 2nd floor rooms face the rear, whic...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

During a recent motorcycle trip around lake Michigan we had a pleasurable stay @ Maple Lane. Our room was clean, large and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. From check in to check out the staff was courteous and attentive to our needs. The included breakfast has everything you would want to start your day off right. A special thank you to Don; his warm and inviting personality is genuine and made our stay all that much better - thanks for the great bon fire!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christof4230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The staff at this resort is very nice and always around to help. They have many bikes, kayaks, canoes for guests. Nice touch. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We didn't have time for breakfast, but heard it's served every morning. My husband loved the fire pit at night. Fun and very relaxing. My only issue with the resort is that it's a bit dated and worn. The rooms themselves need new curtains and bedspreads to give them more of a fresh look. Some areas could use a fresh coat of paint and sprucing up.To be fair it looked like the owners were in the process of updating many of the things at the resort. Overall it was a very nice stay, good location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carriebleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Older accommodations but clean. Stayed in room 20, upper level. Floor was very squeaky, I would imagine it would be annoying if staying below. Room stated slept 4, but would be very crowded with 4 people. Good amount of space for 2. Liked the kayaks, canoes & bikes available to use (no additional charge). Nice small beach area at the end of the road for guests. Located on a quiet dead end road. Close to sleeping bear dune climb & scenic drive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank komee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was a lot of fun. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The place is very clean and in good shape. I really appreciated the things on site that we could use for free--we had a wonderful canoe trip on the beautiful lake. In a very safe area, I felt as if we were in a very wonderful place. Very close to hiking trails as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empire
15.4 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
80 reviews
14.4 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
272 reviews
3.1 mi away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
42 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lane Resort

Address: 8720 S Dorsey Rd, Empire, MI 49630-9715
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Empire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Empire
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Maple Lane Resort, time stands still...Nestled in the splendor of wildlife and towering maple trees, Maple Lane Resort is a place of comfort and gracious hospitality. With our spectacular setting just off the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, along with the area's most vibrant landscape and year-round activities. We continue to be the destination of choice for travelers from all over the world. Come celebrate whatever your heart desires under a canopy of maple trees. Make an event out of any occasion here at MLR! We specialize in weddings &receptions, family reunions, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations, retreats, anniversary celebrations and many more! For wedding celebrations, we can make your long anticipated day more special here at Maple Lane Resort. Your reception will be set in a historic yet elegant early 1900s setting providing you with breath-taking scenery for pictures. We have worked with many caterers and other vendors throughout the local vicinity as well as statewide. They prepare their food freshly with care, style and attention to detail all while doing their best to use local foods. Amenities* 25 units including kitchenettes, standard motel rooms, king suites, guest suites & guest rooms. Most rooms accommodate 2 to 6 people.* Air-conditioning in all rooms* Free Seasonal Continental Breakfast* BRAND NEW Sealy Mattresses & 26' Flat Screens in all rooms* Free wifi in rooms and across the site. Private Beach on Little Glen Lake with a dock and moorings* Free use of Bikes, SUP, Canoes, and Kayaks* Volleyball Court & Horseshoe Pits* Bonfire Pit (wood is provided)* Grills & Picnic Tables* Recreation/Gathering Room with Kitchen. We also now have large banquet room available in the new pole barn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Lane Hotel Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing