We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Lane Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Empire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maple Lane Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Empire
Certificate of Excellence
Highland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

On Aug. 8 - 11, 2014 my family, from all corners of the country, converged at Maple Lane Resort for a reunion. We highly recommend this resort for fabulous family fun. Don Schreiber & Connie Savage as well as ALL their employees treat everyone like family. All there went above & way way beyond to ensure we had a terrific gathering! They provide bikes, kayaks, canoes, toys, games, bbq's....all for no extra cost. The fire pit is perfect for s'mores (ingredient kits can be purchased from them), story telling & relaxing after a fun day. They have a private beach at Glen Lake a short walk down the street where we had a great day of water play!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbhaas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    51
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
86
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were there for a family reunion and it was the perfect place for us all to stay. Many of us stayed in rooms with little kitchenettes which worked out great for keeping food that we could cook at night. The rooms were clean and filled with Northern Michigan charm. Our group had people between the ages of 3 and 85 and everyone completely enjoyed themselves. Many of the adults laid out by the beach during the day and hung out at the hotel at night. We also brought a boat along and were able to doc it outside. The kids rode bikes, played volleyball, horseshoe, and flashlight tag. It was a great place to get away and just relax.

Room Tip: Request a kitchenette room if you plan to bring food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennylynn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

A clean wonderful place 200 feet off Little Glen Lake.Well equipped rooms. Big outdoor areas for relaxing...barbqing..games. We were one of two family reunions having cookouts. Plenty of room for each group to cook and eat and talk without bumping into each other.
Manager came out with s'more makings ...started a bonfire with an industrial size flame throwers...and while the adults talked he combined all the kids from both reunions (ages 3 to 14) and led them in a game of flashlight tag for an hour.
Next day we used their dock for a day of water skiing and tubing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank middleagedtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our stay was very enjoyable. We booked 2 nights on a last minute vacation, and it couldn't have worked out better. We have two young children to the access to their private beach area on Little Glen Lake worked out great after a day at Sleeping Bear Dunes. The location is very close to the dunes and sites between Glen Arbor and Empire, which was helpful for exploring the area.

Our children enjoyed using the bikes and an evening bon fire for making s'mores.

The room we had sleep four. It was small, but was adequate for our needs. Only complaint was I wish the bath towels were a little bigger.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here for a night while on a vacation that jumped from location to location. Though we never took advantage of some of their offerings due to time restraints, it's a great place to stay if visiting for a day or several. When we were there they had a campfire at night and also offer breakfast. The place was clean, comfortable and the staff extremely friendly. I would stay there again if in the area.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Don was very helpful checking me in early to my room which was very appreciated! He was then very helpful making recommendations about places to visit and things to see. Their hotel offers a very comfortable atmosphere, it reminded me of when I was young and a few families would go up and stay up north by the water. They had a sand volleyball net, a nightly campfire, a bike I could use, kayak and a private beach area right at the end of the street that was very relaxing.
I slept great and as I made my very early exit, don offered breakfast early and made sure I had great directions to get back to the expressway.
I don't know too many places, if any, that care that much about their guests!

Room Tip: I stayed in the main house in a great room with a fireplace. There was a bathroom but it was not wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWaxQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay. We had 3 in the room (2 queens) and it was very small. The bathroom and shower were even smaller. The room was clean and the staff was great. The lake at the end of the street was great. They have canoes and kayaks available to use for no charge. This is a great place for young kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemsontoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empire
19.2 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
20.8 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
22.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.8 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lakeshore Inn Motel
Lakeshore Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lane Resort

Property: Maple Lane Resort
Address: 8720 S Dorsey Rd, Empire, MI 49630-9715
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Empire
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Empire
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Maple Lane Resort, time stands still...Nestled in the splendor of wildlife and towering maple trees, Maple Lane Resort is a place of comfort and gracious hospitality. With our spectacular setting just off the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, along with the area's most vibrant landscape and year-round activities. We continue to be the destination of choice for travelers from all over the world. Come celebrate whatever your heart desires under a canopy of maple trees. Make an event out of any occasion here at MLR! We specialize in weddings &receptions, family reunions, corporate meetings, birthday celebrations, retreats, anniversary celebrations and many more! For wedding celebrations, we can make your long anticipated day more special here at Maple Lane Resort. Your reception will be set in a historic yet elegant early 1900s setting providing you with breath-taking scenery for pictures. We have worked with many caterers and other vendors throughout the local vicinity as well as statewide. They prepare their food freshly with care, style and attention to detail all while doing their best to use local foods. Amenities* 25 units including kitchenettes, standard motel rooms, king suites, guest suites & guest rooms. Most rooms accommodate 2 to 6 people.* Air-conditioning in all rooms* Free Seasonal Continental Breakfast* BRAND NEW Sealy Mattresses & 26' Flat Screens in all rooms* Free wifi in rooms and across the site. Private Beach on Little Glen Lake with a dock and moorings* Free use of Bikes, SUP, Canoes, and Kayaks* Volleyball Court & Horseshoe Pits* Bonfire Pit (wood is provided)* Grills & Picnic Tables* Recreation/Gathering Room with Kitchen. We also now have large banquet room available in the new pole barn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Lane Hotel Empire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing