We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like at home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Empire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Empire B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just like at home”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I felt like I was at my grandparents or other relatives. It was quaint, comfortable. Dark and quiet at night. DVD players in rooms with large selection of videos. I enjoyed it very much. Some rooms with showers, others with tub/hand-held shower...keep in mind if you really feel you have to be standing up to get clean!

Room Tip: Sleeping bear room is right off parlor and kitchen. I thought it might be loud but it wasn't. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldilocks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    8
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed at this B & B for two nights while visiting the area. It was our first experience at a B & B and we really enjoyed it. The owners Susan and Van are very welcoming and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Leelenau Room which had a tub and handheld shower. It was a very cozy and comfortable room and it easily could accomodate 3-4 people, although moving around with that many in the room could be challenging.
The breakfast served was wonderful and since there are no restaurants located right in the area, it was a nice thing to have. Coffee is available earlier than breakfast is served which was nice for early risers.
The Sleeping Bear Lakeshore is beautiful. We spent 2 days touring the area, visited most of the towns, did the Pierce Stocking Drive, and took in all the breathtaking views. I am so glad we had the chance to see this.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and had an air conditioner which we did not need to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4travelers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were 4 adults with two rooms at Sleeping Bear B&B. The rooms were spacious and friendly. The B&B is close to the dunes and Glen Arbor, which was important for our choice.
We would recommend this B&B to anyone spending time in the Leelenau area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ute O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here while up north to attend a wedding. While we did not spend much time at the B&B, our stay was truly delightful and relaxing. When we arrived, Susan and Van cheerfully welcomed us and showed us around. Featuring local ingredients, the breakfasts were delicious. Each morning we were treated to a view that included hummingbirds and numerous other birds. We would stay here again and would recommend it for others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed there recently, and we loved it! We cannot wait to go back! The owners are wonderful and a pleasure to talk to--and the food is great, not just the breakfast, but also the wonderfully prepared snacks around the place. They have a wonderful DVD collection. The rooms are lovely, as is the property. It is close to everything. I have never stayed at a better place.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 35805Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I have been returning to Susan and Van's B&B for nearly ten years; we are now making it a recurring memory for our 5 year old son as well, who also loves it. We truly do feel more like friends than guests. Comfortable and welcoming, it provides an excellent location for exploring the Leelanau Peninsula, one of the most beautiful places on earth, as well as offering easy access to Traverse City and points further north. The breakfast every morning is spectacular - I am not overstating this - and Susan and Van accommodated our son's egg allergy with good humor and plenty of cinnamon toast and fresh fruit. A view of the local vibrant birding community, replete with hummingbirds at the dining room windows, makes every morning there relaxing and enjoyable. Outdoor sitting areas and a comfy hammock could tempt you to just lounge around the B&B all day despite the many small towns, farms, and beaches to explore throughout the peninsula. There's a small library of books to choose from if you forgot to bring your own; plenty of tvs and a dvd library - but really, unless it is raining, Leelanau is a good argument for the pointlessness of televisions in our daily lives; an outdoor herb garden in the back to walk and savor; a bonfire area if the weather is not too dry and the season is right; Van's artwork to enjoy; a killer collection of cookbooks to peruse...in short, there is no reason not to visit, and you will be happy that you did. We always look forward to our yearly trip to visit Susan and Van, and we leave every year trying to figure out how to fit in more than just one trip a year. You will too. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: There are five rooms, each with an AC unit, ranging from small and economical to larger with private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcraigj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

For a girl's weekend, my mom and I wanted to take my cousin and aunt (from China) to Lake Michigan. I saw this place on TripAdvisor... Let me start by saying that we absolutely loved staying with Susan and Van! It was the first B&B we've ever been to, and my aunt and cousin were more than impressed (they took a billion pictures of the house). The B&B is only a short 15 minute drive to the lakeshore and to great food. Although the breakfast Susan makes tops all, the food was aesthetically pleasing and VERY delicious. Don't even get me started on the freshly squeezed juice. I definitely recommend it to anyone! The trip ended with us promising to come again in October/November when my uncle (from China) is coming to visit... AND I CAN'T WAIT! We definitely left as friends.

Room Tip: They DO have rooms with double beds that can fit up to 4 people, so don't think B&B's ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Empire
17.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
20.5 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
6.0 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sleeping Bear Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11977 S Gilbert Rd, Empire, MI 49630-9599
Region: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Empire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Empire
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sleeping Bear Hotel Empire
Sleeping Bear b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing