We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot tub room”
Review of Hiawatha Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hiawatha Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Engadine, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hot tub room”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

loved the size of the hot tub and the lights, the bed was comfy, and the shower was great it has two shower heads. the people were very friendly. cant wait to stay again. it was close to everything we were there to see. the price was great, most rooms we looked at was double in price and the hot tubs were one person tubs with jets.

Room Tip: the hot tub room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    15
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
14
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We have been driving past this place for more than 20 years, so we found a discount for the hotel, and one weekend, when in town, we tried it out.

-The rooms were sadly outdated, and in need of remodeling.

-Our room had a stale odor in it, but we think it was from the old, old carpeting.

-The bed and bedding/linens were clean, and we got some sleep.

-No fan in the bathroom, only a window, but in winter, in Da UP, it gets a little cold leaving the window open.

-The heat in the room worked, and there was a heater in the bathroom that also worked well.

-There are some cable channels, but you had to dial through twice as many disconnected channels to find the real ones. We do admit that there was a channel listing sign on top of the TV.

-The hotel has a good location, and in real estate it is all about location, location, location.....this hotel needs renovation, renovation, renovation..

-If you cannot find a room elsewhere, you will survive a nite here, and you know the saying, if the hotel room scares you, and you still stay there, it just makes you stronger...

-For you gamblers, they do offer a free casino package, with some freebie coupons at the casino, $5 food coupon for each person, $5 free slot machine play each person, 1 free drink of choice for each person....

-Do ya fell lucky..???

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenoMIchiganYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My first stay in Escanaba. The hotel was an older property. The room was clean, but there was a definite odor of some kind of air fresher or something that didn't go away after 6 hours of running the air conditioner unit to bring in fresh air. Everything was very well used. The box spring looked threadbare, like it was the original from when the place was built. Carpets worn. Bathroom door wouldn't close all the way. All the caulk around the tub was poorly applied/maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayTripDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is your basic two bed motel room. The owner/operator had a small video library with VCR's for rent in the lobby and also a table full of books. He seemed to really care about the upkeep and appearance of the place. He had nice benches, tables and ashtrays outside for the smokers. Our room was a "basic" but it did come with a larger than "dorm-size" refrigerator. Walking distance to Walgreens, gas station conveneince stores and a Donut place. There was also free coffee, hot water and donuts in the lobby after 7 am. A restful night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neesie818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

What a pleasant stay! This is a privately-owned motel that is definitely worth visiting. We stayed in their honeymoon suite which was beautiful. Huge, deluxe spa, spotlessly clean room. Good coffee & donut in the morning, though not really continental breakfast. Good location. Overall outstanding value, & great stay! We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yooperman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

No ammenities except for fridge that didnt work i stayed before it wasnt this yucky fight in parking lot guests had to call cops motel person asleep guy n girl next door doing n selling drugs i guess if u have no where else to stay but under a bridge it'd be ok under the bridge might be more restful n secure...not real clean older place people at desk were nice cat was quite polite...but i'm not sure that polite cat is enough to bring me back....probably not......

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101katra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Manager at Hiawatha Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2016
New Owners at Hiawatha Motel. We are very aware of the bad reputation and poor matinence of the rooms. However in the two years since takinig ownership we are happy and very proud to tell you we have seven fully renovated rooms (more to come soon) and our dedication to hard work, cleanliness and customer service has made us the new owners one of the top rated motels/hotels in Escanaba! If you come through check out the improvments I gaurentee you wont be disapointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here two nights on a 2.5 week tour of the U.P. and we all agree that this was the only property we would not choose to stay at again.

The room was mostly clean, except for the carpet. After a few minutes of walking on it our daughter's feet were very dirty so we had to keep our flip flops on in the room. The beds were comfortable and it was mostly quiet to sleep.

We were glad for the free Wi Fi (but it seems like most of the mom and pop places had it--we were surprised how often we saw it on the signs as we drove around the U.P.) and for the little fridge--though ours was stuck on the highest setting so it exploded a pop and froze some tomatoes.

The desk clerk was very friendly, which is something we found all over the U.P. The friendliness of the people was one of the best parts of the trip!

There was frequently a couple guys hanging out, outside our room smoking (not sure why they were sitting in the chairs directly outside our room) that made it kind of awkward to come and go. They seemed to be there day and night.

The motel has a big sign next to the door in the room saying they are not responsible for valuables left in the room and with the flimsy locks they had on the doors and the people just hanging out we never felt comfortable leaving anything of value in the room. It was the only place we saw in the whole U.P. with a sign like that so my sense is they've had a problem in the past, though we experienced no trouble.

If we were to do it again, we'd choose to stay at a different property in Escanaba. The Hiawatha Motel was adequate, but we could have done better for nearly the same cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2snorkel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Manager at Hiawatha Motel, responded to this review, 2 September 2016
New Owners Brand New Rooms And Now A Top Rated Establsment. Come give us a try I gaurentee our dedication to cleanliness and customer service will make you happy to be a repeat customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escanaba hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiawatha Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiawatha Motel

Property: Hiawatha Motel
Address: 2400 Ludington St, Escanaba, MI 49829-1327
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiawatha Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hiawatha Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing