We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Wingham, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived past midnight to this small motel, which is kinda hard to find, and the proprietor was still in the office, waiting for us, even though we heard his small children in the house behind him. We were passing through on a business trip from Mn, heading towards Mackinaw Bridge. The deer on the highway were everywhere in terrifying numbers, but we managed to arrive safely. The room was good - clean, quiet, and basic. We usually stay at Hampton's, because we like their brand, but this motel had high ratings, and I see why. We would definitely recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    254
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
247
308
71
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I needed a room for two nights in Escanaba. Over the years I have stayed at virtually every chain motel & hotel in Escanaba. I believe that most of them are over-priced for what they offer. When I looked at Trip Advisor I saw that the Sunset Lodge was highly rated. I checked their rates and thought they were very reasonable. I made a reservation online and headed on up. As others have noted this is a small “mom & pop” motel. The owners are very friendly and they have obviously done a lot of work on this property. I was in a room with one Queen sized bed. The room was small but clean. The carpet looked new as did the mattress, sheets and towels. The TV in my room was an older style but I was pretty much just in the room to sleep so it was not really an issue. Unlike a few others I had no problem with noise from the highway. Almost every motel or hotel I have ever stayed in is on a major road or interstate and they all have some degree of road noise. After my first night something came up and I needed to return home. When I asked the owners if it was possible to get a refund for the second night they took care of it immediately. I assured them my early departure had nothing to do with their property. I would have gladly stayed there another night. I will be going up to Escanaba again this summer and if there is a room available I will be staying at the Sunset Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Madison_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We paid another visit to the Sunset Lodge, which has become our half-way stopping place when returning to Warren, Michigan from Minneapolis on the fifth of July. This time the snow was long gone and we had two of our grandchildren with us. We ere once again greeted with a friendly smile and a clean room. It was just the resting place we needed after a long day of driving--clean, safe and quiet. in the morning we walked next door to a restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank truetravelcompanions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spent one night here. Place was clean and convenient. Owners were on vacation but parents were running it and they were very friendly. New towels and plenty of them.
Motel sits right by US 2 and the traffic throughout the night was too noisy for me to get a good night's sleep. Ask for a room in the back and I am sure it would be much quieter.
Family restaurant next door offers a great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lena, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This little gem is the epitome of the old fashioned "mom and pop" motel. It is older, but well kept up, clean and cozy. The young couple that ran the motel were friendly and helpful. The room freshener they used smelled great without being overpowering The wifi and cable service was good. What I liked the most was all the personal little touches they have added to make it more comfortable and home, like a full napkin dispenser on the table and lots of extra, conveniently placed outlets for our electronics. The towels were bright white and nice and thick. There was a sign indicating if we needed any rags for the car or cleaning up, to ask at the desk.
The only area for improvement in our room was the shower stall... it looks quite old with the faucets on the far wall, causing you to reach through the flow of water to turn it on and off, BUT it was still fully functional, clean and had good water pressure.

The price was very reasonable, especially in a tourist area. We were delighted with our stay and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just spent a couple of nights at the Sunset Lodge and this is a great place. It was very clean. Jen and Jarred are great hosts and did a great job for our group that stayed there! They are making improvements as they can and had even spruced it up some more while we were gone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We chose the Sunset Lodge based on the other reviews and we normally stay at the other typical name brand places--Sunset Lodge turned out to be a great place for us to stay on our quick trip through the area. Check-in was fast/easy, clean, newly remodeled room, morning coffee/donuts, good bed, and we could literally park outside the room which made luggage transport simple.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
2.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#7 of 10 in Escanaba
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Property: Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing