We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

what a great little hotel in Escanaba! I have never written a review of a hotel--ever. But, this one deserves it! The owners are super friendly, the rooms are very clean with lots of cool modern features like TV mounted on wall to reduce clutter, very modern bathrooms, and exceptionally comfy beds. And, it is extremely reasonable! My family of 5 arrived late at night and the owner Jarred was very accommodating...he waited up for us, got us an additional roll away bed, and then made it for us! I highly recommend this hotel! Really.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Can't wait to come back next year, stayed in an updated room and the shower was to die for. The room was clean and we had two beds. Everything was new. Refrigerator, microwave, sink, toilet etc. they are working on it but that takes time. The thing is about the other reviews. Most of the UP have old hotels so you have to give these kids a chance to fix up the place. It's spotless and friendly. Only issue is the internet it needs to be stronger but that's the location of the town. Good job Jarred and Jen you're doing a great job.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very clean but very small room. The bed was made up very nicely. The bathroom was a tight fit with a stand up shower nestled in the corner next to the sink. Could not find a place to plug the coffee pot in, until later when I looked under the table against the wall and there was an extension cord. I would have had to get down on my hands and knees to pull it out to plug the coffee pot in. Having a fridge in the room is nice, but it took up almost all of the table space and the table was a low table. The room had no dresser, the TV was mounted in the corner on the wall. We could have used more plugs to plug electronics in, but realize this is an older building. The mattress in the room we had was very hard. We were told that the young couple who owns the hotel have only been there 2 years, hopefully more improvements are on the way.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ladipierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

While far from posh, this motel offers comfortable accomodations at a reasonable price. Management was friendly and helpful. The room was somewhat small but clean with good, thick quality towels and nice bed linen. Beds were comfortable. There were a few holes in the carpet, but was otherwise reasonably well maintained. The room included a mini refrigerator. There is a certain amount of road noise from the highway right outside. They offered coffee and pastries for breakfast but we chose to eat breakfast at the Family Inn next door.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MichiganWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Whenever we're in the UP, we just need clean and decent, not fancy, and not expensive. The Sunset Lodge fits the bill - and then some. Jarred was very accommodating. He even had a roll-away all ready and "turned down" for us because he knew we were arriving with sleepy kids at 1:00 in the morning. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom (which is due for updating), was spotless. Our experience was so nice, we booked again for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GOG8RSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This property is owned by a nice, young couple who are restoring it. Very clean and accommodating basic hotel is perfect for those looking for a night or two in Escanaba. Really loved the fact that it's a classic "pull up in front of your door" motel from the early days. They provide a nice breakfast in the lobby and are very knowledgeable about the area. The best part (other than the cleanliness) for us was that they're local and not the big chain hotel. Would MUCH rather do business w/ locals than big companies. Also, the Family Inn restaurant is next door for a convenient good meal. Thanks Jen and Jarrod for bringing back the Sunset Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A young couple, Jarred and Jen, own this property. They know what overnight guests need and want: Sufficient plugs, cold fridge, clean bathroom, extremely comfortable bed and good TV reception. Owner greeted us on this rainy night, pointed us in the direction of a terrific dinner nearby and full breakfast at a diner-style restaurant next door. He clearly likes what he does and it shows. The rooms are well-appointed and very comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend Sunset to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GlassHalfFull13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
100 reviews
2.3 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Hearth Inn - Escanaba
2.3 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Escanaba
Super 8 Escanaba
#6 of 10 in Escanaba
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Lodge Escanaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Escanaba

Address: 6386 N. 11th St., Wells, Escanaba, MI 49829 (Formerly Sunset Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range: £39 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Lodge Escanaba 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunset Lodge in beautiful Escanaba Michigan! The Sunset Lodge is centrally located in the heart of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We are conveniently located on US 2-41 and M35 near Escanaba Michigan and Little Bay De Noc. We are just a few minutes from boat launching sites, including the new Escanaba River site. Our area offers challenging golf courses, fine dining, hunting, 4-wheeling, shopping, casinos and snowmobiling. The Sunset Lodge offers clean rooms at reasonable rates. Each of our 24 units has direct dial phones, cable TV, air conditioning, refrigerators and microwaves, and high speed internet. For our fishermen we have ample parking, plug-ins, fish cleaning station and storage. We also offer: * Non-smoking rooms * Free morning coffee and Doughnuts * Park at your door * Restaurant adjacent * Pet Friendly * Free shuttle ride to Casino * FreeHigh Speed Internet * Microwaves and Fridges * All Major Credit Cards Accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Lodge Escanaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing