We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay at a Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Lansing, United States
1 review
“Excellent Stay at a Good Price”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is clean, comfortable, quiet, in excellent physical shape, and in a convenient area of the city. The continental breakfast is top-quality, featuring eggs, sausage links, toast, cereal, muffins, donuts, juices and coffee. The staff here outshine every other hotel staff I've experienced. I didnt like my pillows, but I will bring my own next time. This is where I will stay from now on. The restaurant on the main floor, and the bar in the lower level both serve great food and drinks, and are staffed with great people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    80
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
76
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Siren, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
207 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at the Best Western this week while on business. The room was good and had a good night sleep. No exercise room, but i guess when you stay at budget hotels, that isn't required like the big name hotel chains. Breakfast was average at best, and didn't open until 6:30am! so, i didn't have much time to have breakfast. The staff made the comment that the bread and water was ready...very limited items for breakfast, but once again, the big name hotel chains have a bigger selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank steve y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It would appear that there haven't been any new motels built in Escanaba in over 10 years. It's the UP - and I say that with the utmost respect and a little bit of jealousy - I wish I could spend more time in the UP. But it's through that lens that we must set our expectation levels. In some markets this property wouldn't live up to expectations, but in the UP, it exceeds expectations. If you've been there you understand. Adjust your expectation level before you cross the bridge or border. Most of the area motel options are limited service budget fare on the north side of town, the BW Pioneer Inn is as close to full service as you're going to get and near downtown (such as it is) with a basic restaurant and a quaint "pub" that would remind you of your parent's basement rec room bar - it will remind you of that because it is, well, in the basement. But you won't feel like a stranger and the beer is cold. Except for the flat screen TV placed in a huge cabinet that obviously housed its big tube predecessor, it would not appear that an extensive renovation has happened in this century. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, making the 90's colors and decor easy to overlook. The property and its indoor pool appeared maintained and inviting. I would stay again if I required area lodging.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Indiana
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room was actually quite large. I was a bit concerned since it was right next to the stairs, but we never heard anything. It seemed that everyone went to bed early.

The king bed was firm and very comfortable.

there was a big flat screen TV.

the bathroom was clean, but the vanity was very small. not very conducive to placing much more than a toothbrush or comb on it.

the room lighting was OK.

half of the outlets in the room were not working.

the chain lock on the door had been torn out of the wood so it was useless.

The room included free breakfast at the attached restaurant. The food was pretty good, actually.

Overall, while this hotel was older, it was clean and comfortable despite the few faults. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDave16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We feel the Pioneer is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed with, and often go there for a get away, as well as when we are traveling. For less than a hundred dollars, we get a beautiful living room bedroom suite, 2 free drinks, and a great, hot breakfast buffet. The beds and the pillows are terrific, and the hotel is quiet and very clean. The staff is exceptionally nice and helpful. The restaurant is first rate, and have the best prime rib we have ever had, anywhere, ever. They also have a pub that has excellent pizza, you can eat there, or take to your room. They have perfected cheesecake, and if you're full of prime rib or pizza, get one to go. You won't regret it. We stay in many hotels, as we travel often, but the Pioneer is our favorite. They are the definition of true hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryaledup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste Marie, MI, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Best Westren Escanaba was located downtown near where we had to be. the location was perfect. The staff was very helpfull and were very kind, and that is what made the differance. we would be inclined to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very nice property with extremely comfortable beds and pillows. Quiet and clean. Nice breakfast. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Staff was very friendly with our group of riders. Provided towels for cleaning our bikes after a days ride.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
194 reviews
4.4 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites

Property: Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Address: 2635 Ludington Street, Escanaba, MI 49829-1332 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites! Looking for a quiet getaway? The Magnuson Grand provides a great night's sleep and much more! Grab a bite to eat and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere at Pacino's, our hotel restaurant. Our property is conveniently located on the west end of Escanaba. We provide the perfect answer for the business traveler, tourist, sportsman, and senior citizen. Located just minutes from the mall, Family Fun Park, cinema, and downtown. Also located only two miles from Ludington Park on Little Bay de Noc, the beach and the greatest walleye fishing in the U.P. Nature is all around us! Our hotel is minutes from the water and hiking/ORV trails. Enjoy a round of golf at one of our five area courses, all located within ten miles of our property. Our friendly staff is here to ensure that you have a wonderful vacation. SORRY, WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Escanaba
Escanaba Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing