We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Night Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the nicest hotels I have found. This hotel is very clean and the restaurant has an excellent food menu. The rooms are large, and clean with parking just outside your door. Cable television and free high-speed internet. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    80
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
76
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel outdated - dirty - does not offer continental breakfast - temperature is fan-controlled - extremely hot or extremely cold. no amenities - restaurant terrible - used old grease for potatoes. need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed Valentines day in a jacuzzi king room. Very friendly staff, room was decorated for valentines day in a romantic theme and it made everything wonderful!! Restaurant & bar on site, jacuzzi worked great, room was clean and quiet even though there were a lot of cars (guests) there. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WMIAlleykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The addition of the lounge/restaurant make this hotel rise above the rest in Escanaba. When I'm weary from traveling it's nice to be able to just walk down to the restaurant and have a fantastic dinner and enjoy a few adult beverages!! The food was great and so is the atmosphere!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling in the UP of Michigan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waunakee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were visiting relatives in Escanaba and decided on the Best Western for our sleeping accomadations. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed our stay/

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BadgerRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interlochen, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

happened to stop in Escanaba during recent travel and was pleasantly surprised by the Pioneer Inn. We found the staff more than helpful and very eager to please and any way possible. The Décor for the holidays was so tasteful and pleasant I felt like at home. The room was pleasant and comfortable with all that I could hope for. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 638MichaelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Do not have expectations when staying here, and you'll like it. If staying in winter, bring lots of layers of clothes. Parking is good, lunch and dinner is better. No elevator, old suites that need updating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Malinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escanaba
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.4 mi away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites

Property: Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
Address: 2635 Ludington Street, Escanaba, MI 49829-1332 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Escanaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Escanaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites! Looking for a quiet getaway? The Magnuson Grand provides a great night's sleep and much more! Grab a bite to eat and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere at Pacino's, our hotel restaurant. Our property is conveniently located on the west end of Escanaba. We provide the perfect answer for the business traveler, tourist, sportsman, and senior citizen. Located just minutes from the mall, Family Fun Park, cinema, and downtown. Also located only two miles from Ludington Park on Little Bay de Noc, the beach and the greatest walleye fishing in the U.P. Nature is all around us! Our hotel is minutes from the water and hiking/ORV trails. Enjoy a round of golf at one of our five area courses, all located within ten miles of our property. Our friendly staff is here to ensure that you have a wonderful vacation. SORRY, WE DO NOT ACCEPT PETS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Escanaba
Escanaba Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing