We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 for a week and found it to be comfortable as well as quiet, the room was clean, as was the bathroom and bedding. I was situated on the first floor and had a lovely view of the early morning sunrise. The free coffee from reception is very good, but the one complaint that i had was the quality and cost of the wi-fi, it was slow and unreliable.. The staff were all very polite and friendly which made my stay even better.

Room Tip: Because of the traffic on Grand river i would opt for a room in the back block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moodygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
4
2
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you're looking for a clean, simple, cheap, quiet, convenient place to crash for the night in this area, look no further. The rooms are very spartan, typical of Motel 6, but the two times I've stayed there they've been spotless. It's amazingly quiet; I've yet to hear a single sound from an adjoining room. Plus there's a good assortment of restaurants right across the street. I was charged $45 for a senior, all included.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Horrible. I booked this place 2 days in advance. I drove from Chicago. You would think in 2 days and 5 hrs. they would have had time to have the room ready for me when I arrived. Nope. I was told it wasn't clean yet. I needed first floor. Nope. I was told no first floor rooms were clean yet. It was 2:30 in the afternoon. Once I got into a second floor room, it wasn't close to what I reserved. I needed a micro-fridge, No fridge in the room. The bed was dirty and about near to fall apart. I checked for bugs because that is how bad it was. The carpet smelled, and was dirty. The manager Sonja was completely worthless, but the staff was nice. I felt sorry for them as they were helpless under this manager. I called an complained to Corp. They informed me that this location in independently owned, so there is no oversight here. That explains that horrible conditions. I went to the Ann Arbor location on S. State Street and it was 100% better! Do not stay at this place. The riff raff roaming the parking day and night was enough for me never to go back.

Room Tip: Stay at a Corporate owned Motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farmington Hills hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

As you have possibly heard in the radio advertisement for Motel 6, we will leave the light on for you. Here at Farmington Hills I was given prompt service, received a clean room and at a budget hotel price. Nothing fancy here, very basic, but everything worked well. Internet was an xtra price at 2,99 for 24 hrs. Nice quiet area in a corner of the metro Detroit area

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnrobertHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

For the price, you can't go wrong with this motel. It was decent, clean, and CHEAP. Wi-Fi was terrible, slow connection and they charged $2.99 a 24 hour period. The area was good, lots of motels and restaurants in the area. It's not a luxurious place to stay, but it was clean enough to spend the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed here on and off over the course of a couple weeks while I was moving between houses and waiting to get keys for my new house. My #1 concern was affordability. This place is definitely affordable if you are just looking to crash for the night.

Excellent access to all major highways. Lots of choices for food. The mall is a couple miles away. The area is very good - you are on the border of west Farmington Hills and Novi. That's about as good an area as it gets for suburbs of Detroit. If you're afraid to be over here, you're probably better off in a protective custody unit in the county jail.

No frills obviously, but I was just looking for a place to stay that was cheap and close to work. Rooms were clean and typical design of a Motel 6.

They charge you per day for wifi access, but I have 4G wifi through my phone so that wasn't a huge deal.

Staff was friendly.

This place is usually fairly packed at night. It's also located on a main road by some major intersections, so expect some road noise. It's not the quietest place ever, but it's not like being next to an airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I was low on my budget, so I chose Motel 6. My boyfriend kicked me out and I had to sleep somewhere where I could afford. This place was actually pretty nice and clean. The staff was really helpful. Will definetly stay again. Thank you for your service.

Room Tip: If you want to stay at a nice and affordable place. This is it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington Hills
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
#5 of 12 in Farmington Hills
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Nov...
#2 of 12 in Farmington Hills
169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
3.1 mi away
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills

Property: Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills
Address: 38300 Grand River Avenue, I-275/I-696/I-96 at Grand River Ave, Farmington Hills, MI 48335
Region: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Detroit N.W. - Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Farmington Hills
Motel 6 Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Motel 6
Farmington Hills Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing