We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Hudson, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night and was really looking forward to it based off the reviews on here as well as a recent stay at a RRI near Chicago.

Was very disappointed. Smoke detector was hanging from the wall upon entry to the room. From the start it made me feel that who ever cleans the rooms was not concerned about the appearance.

Top bed sheet had female body odor and other sheets appeared wrinkled, had long hair on them. Didn't seem like they had been changed since last visit. I would have contacted the front desk about this issue at 11pm when I was getting ready for bed but I figured they would not care or do anything about this. I felt this way because when I checked in at 5pm the lobby was already closed and I had to do the transaction of getting the room through the tiny night window. The person at the front desk that evening did not seem overly friendly nor did the lady that checked me out in the morning.

You can see day light around the door when it's shut as well as around portions of the AC


The good? The room smelled good and the AC worked great. Good hot water in the morning. Other than that. I didn't enjoy my stay here and will have to find another motel to find my regular spot when visiting te area for work.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JoeyBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmhills, Owner at Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Joeybowman,

Thank you for sharing this feedback so that we may improve on specific issues such as the fire detector and housekeeping isues. I am dissappointed that your experience was not the level of service you recently experienced while in Chicago. These photos will be great training tools for our staff to use to better accomodate all future guests. I would like to invite you to stay again to show you that we can correct these and regain your trust in Red Roof Inn.

Andrew,
Red Roof Inn
Farmington Hills Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    40
    15
    11
    14
See reviews for
30
23
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

good clean quiet spot>>> AND, seems to be the ONLY red roof in the Detroit area, that has a FOXsports channel, (a LOT of , including MYSELF, people like to watch the TIGERS_especially when they leave the city) ...Pat @ reservation desk gets six Stars out of five...Lua is very helpful also, in the guest rooms area....
THANKS AGAIN RED ROOF IN FARMINGTON, MICHIGAN_ FOR KEEPING THE FOXSPORTS CHANNEL... GO TIGERS!!!!

Room Tip: all are good ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here while in town for family funeral, 5 minutes from downtown Farmington where it took place. Small room, but clean and updated. Other family members stayed at nearby Holiday Inn Express and paid more than twice as much. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Went to the ballgame in Detroit and stay here after, work out great. We got the room on Priceline for a great price. The area is clean and safe with plenty of choices near by. Check in was easy and front desk clerk was friendly. The room was dated but very clean, and had all the amenities we needed. Only issues were the bed was too soft for my liking and the toilet was real loud. That being said would have no problem staying a night here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My Husband and I stayed here Easter weekend so we could visit family... Very clean, staff was pleasant, and close to shopping and dining areas... The only thing we found not so good were the beds... A little old and kinda worn out... Otherwise stay was great for the price... We would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charissa121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,162 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is what my wife got for bidding cheaply in the two star range in the Novi, Mi. area. A good deal for the low price.

We got the King bed mini-suite (with the refrigerator and microwave). The bed mattress is basic, yet comfortable enough to get a good night's rest.

No free breakfast. One water bottle per room. Coffeemaker in room. Slight smoke smell (with chemical deodorizer smell), not bad enough for a late-night room change.

If you want a basic, clean room, this is a good way to go. If you are wanting luxury, I'd suggest bidding three stars or better in the area (or pay full price for a three star or better). Many nearby restaurants. I would suggest "Breakfast Club" restaurant as the best local breakfast place.


The driveway is a little difficult to find late at night. Don't drive into the first driveway you see from the Highway 5/ Grand River exit. Take the drive near the auto dealer.

Room Tip: Upstairs (no elevator) is quieter. Pick a room away from the expressway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peotone, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

When I pulled up I was thinking oh no, this is going to be a bad experience. From the outside, old and bad looking. Very good staff, nice and clean rooms. The room was perfect!! Fix up the outside a little, other than that perfect!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington Hills
3.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Farmington Hills
Extended Stay America - Detroit ...
#9 of 12 in Farmington Hills
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Novi
Holiday Inn Farmington Hills/Nov...
#5 of 12 in Farmington Hills
175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Novi - Haggerty Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmington Hills
Radisson Hotel Detroit-Farmingto...
#3 of 12 in Farmington Hills
360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
Comfort Inn Farmington Hills
#7 of 12 in Farmington Hills
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills

Property: Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills
Address: 24300 Sinacola Ct, Farmington Hills, MI 48335-1621
Region: United States > Michigan > Farmington Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Farmington Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Farmington Hills Hotel Farmington Hills
Farmington Hills Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing