We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dog of a B&B”
Review of J. Paules Fenn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
J. Paules Fenn Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Fennville B&B and Inns
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A dog of a B&B”
Reviewed 24 July 2007

I think I have flea bites from the pets kept at this B&B. Pets are the focus here, rather than the human guests. The three dogs of the B&B owners barked continuously and growled if one of the owners was not in the house with them when we ventured out of our room. While our room was adequate and Paulette makes some great biscuits, the toilet was not overly clean and the owners' llving quarters are also the public guest area. The living room was set up with a leather sofa that the dogs occupied and one big armchair, all facing the big screen TV which regularly played a video on a dietary supplement that Paulette was hawking. In fact, there was a lot of advertising on the product: Samples at breakfast, poster of information set up on a chair in the dining area, CD cued up in the bedside alarm clock/CD player, and pamphlets on the bedroom table. Paulette and her husband yelled back and forth at each other in a very unpleasant way, and Paulette just was not a welcoming person. She seemed out of sorts during our whole visit, and it began as soon as we walked in the door. Perhaps she could tell we were not in love with the B&B as she ran it, and try as we might to be polite, there was not a lot to compliment. We would have appreciated a warning about cats being allowed to stay on beds since one of us has a cat allergy. If you are a pet lover and don't mind things being very noisy and untidy, this is a place you would likely feel comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pallets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
A dog of a B&B:

People are always the focus at our Inn and if you pet will vouch for you you can stay also. That is a joke....We charge for our 4 legged friend, $20 per day per pet, and have strict pet policies, and my I add we have never had flea's... How long do you think we would stay in business if that was true...
The only untidy thing you will find is my work area and try as I might my work desk seem to all was be full of projects, we are a working B&B...

This is a very old, report and at first I may have be over zealous about my whole food product I was taking... but that has changed , so don't worry I will not be bombarding you with taking more fruits and vegetables in to your diet each and every day for better health....LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    13
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2007

My husband and I stayed at J. Paules Fenn Inn the weekend after Valentine's day. We were greeted by the innkeeper, Paullette's, three soft coated, lovable dogs. They were very curious and barked a little and settled down pretty quickly. She allowed us to bring our dear little kitties and keep them in our room. I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, so this was a true treat! The place was immaculately clean and is obviously well cared for.

We arrived early, and Paulette was very accommodating in every manner. She had a table full of cakes, snacks, a variety of fruit and cookies available all of the time, along with a HUGE variety of teas and coffees, even hot chocolate. She gave us a tour of all of the rooms and we were duly impressed with the beauty and uniqueness of each one.

In the bathroom and room We had every amenity we have at home--I realized I had overpacked!

Paulette was coming down with a cold, so I knew she had to not feel up to par, and yet was still so friendly, helpful and accommodating with everything we asked or needed. She gave us advice on the good restaurants in town, directions to the wonderful Fenn Valley winery, to South Holland and to a local area to cross country ski. Her husband Ewald told some hilarious stories.

The best part was after all of the other guests arrived, some with dogs, and we all sat around the table talking and getting to know each other along with Paulette, Ewald and Elaine, I have never such a wonderful experienced before. With all of the dogs, sometimes the residents and visitors barked a bit, but not very often or long. Definitely a piece of American hospitality.

My husband felt like he was home again, because the Inn was just like the house he grew up in, except better. The food was marvelous, and all of the special dietary needs were met, from diabetic to lacto-ovo vegetarian and an egg with cheese allergy.

We definitely will be coming back again, we really want to stay in the Tree Top suite, it is exquisite.

When you look for a good experience, the decorations and place are part of it, but the bigger part is the people. How you are treated colors your view of the whole event. Paulette was sweet, kind, helpful and funny. She, Ewald and Elaine all made the our time memorable and fun. They truly give of themselves.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Shapechanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Wonderful treat:

This is from 2007, what a different review.

This is the one and only couple who we have allowed to bring their new little kitten with them, we do not allow cat normally, why I don't remember why, but we did this one time, I think we aggregated the cat had to stay in the room because of allergies I have with cat., we had no problem with our kittens stay and my allergies were fine.

Ewald and Elaine are no longer at the Inn , nor are my lovely little dogs.... Know I just love the Guest loving pets when they come and send them home like well mannered grandchildren.

Thanks for the lovely right up..... But please no more cats just dogs ; )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 July 2006

Noisy-Our room was outside the Dining/Living Room, and the Innkeepers and their family (at one point 4 pre-teen and teens plus 3 adults) hang out in the Living Room. Their tv was loud, and they were up watching tv, talking, walking until after midnight. It is a good place if you are traveling with dogs (they are dog friendly) and you get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, and all you want is a nice comfy bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulette C, Owner at J. Paules Fenn Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Really!
Sounds like summer to me 4th of July........ by 10 pm all is pretty Quite most of the time Sorry!
Paulette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fennville
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
858 reviews
5.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
7.7 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#3 of 16 in South Haven
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
267 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
7.5 mi away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Paules Fenn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Paules Fenn Inn

Property: J. Paules Fenn Inn
Address: 2254 58th St, Fennville, MI 49408-8414
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Fennville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fennville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private home, has been welcoming guest for the past 28 years as J. Paule's Fenn Inn. Very centrally located and with-in walking distance to Hutchen's Lake with wonderful fishing. Sitting on over 1-1/2 acres of land this 6 bedroom home is in a perfect spot for weddings, receptions, family reunions, or a romantic getaway. Just minutes from wineries and orchards yet so close to the beach s of Lake Michigan, one mile from Fennville and Saugatuck/Douglas are just down the road with all they have to offer. All the rooms have private baths, 2 rooms baths are across the hall. Some have tubs and no showers, so please read the description of the room carefully so you will not be disappointed with your stay. We do take Dog's/$20 extra per day per pet, sorry no cat's, allergies. Please read all pet and Inn policies before you book. Two rooms are on the main floor so if you are a light sleeper you may not be happy with those room, we do have noise machines in each room, but please consider that when booking, again we want your stay to be a good one. We serve a Full breakfast every morning and have no problems accommodating special food needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your J. Paules Fenn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing