We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love This Place”
Review of Heritage Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fennville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heritage Manor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Fennville B&B and Inns
Angola, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Love This Place”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We are from Angola,IN., 2 hours away. We spend many weekends in South Haven ,MI. in the summer. We have stayed in the Heritage Manor Inn and love the place. We are headed back there for a Winter weekend in Jan. of 2014. Our favorite rooms have the Jacuzzi's and fireplaces. It makes for a very romantic night. I know there are some people out there that just can't be pleased no matter what ya do for them, But we Love this place and thats all that matters.

Room Tip: Book far ahead so you can get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

With high expectations, we booked a suite at Heritage Manor. We have had some experience w/ B&Bs over the years, but this one was a bit strange. First our room. After climbing some steep stairs we found ourselves staring into a bathroom and a large jacuzzi tub (fits 4) in the middle of the room. Windows looking out the back and a fireplace opposite the windows. A room w/ a small bed, a chest, and a TV on a stand completed our "suite." We also had two wicker chairs, a wicker side table, hassock, and a closet. Second, the breakfast was scrambled eggs from a box, sausage links, various breads, fruit, cereal, and an occasional waffle. It was a bit better than the Motel 6 down the road a piece. We did not try the jacuzzi, nor the small indoor swimming pool, so we missed out on 80% of the features of the Heritage. We will take a pass the next time, as there are plenty of B&Bs in the area that offer a better value for both the bed and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Look first !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Trying to find clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations for sixteen middle aged couples in the Saugatuck Michigan area with a common gathering area large enough for all to eat, drink, and be merry and to share fellowship can be quite a challenge. Many inns are too small to accommodate our group or have a number of their rooms on the expensive side.

Our group has had five wonderful years of great fun at a local very well run establishment only to find out that they were closing their doors permanently. The Heritage Manor Inn has filled that void, meeting all of the needs of our group while not breaking our retirement savings accounts. The owners of the Heritage live on site and are almost always available to answer any of our concerns even replacing an unexpected broken bed in one of the rooms.

The breakfast food was plentiful and tasty with nice variety. They will adjust their breakfast serving times to accommodate the groups request as long as it is reasonable. The inn is conveniently located in a rural setting roughly five miles south of Saugatuck and a reasonably short drive North to Holland or South to South Haven MI. Plenty of off street parking is available and the inn is family friendly should kids be included in your travel plans.

Having stayed at many B & B's over the years including inns in Europe I find the Heritage Manor's management to be typical of those that really care about their paying guests.

After reading many on line reviews of various B and B's I find it appalling to read the criticism given by a small percentage of "guests" about their stays at these inns. We Americans need to support these hard working owners that put in many many hours striving to accommodate all of the various guests that "knock" on their doors. The Heritage Manor Inn is a rural B & B, not a five star hotel charging nightly rates that could equal a small homeowners monthly mortgage payment! They charge fair nightly rates and offer exceptional value for the dollars that we offer them. If you have a legitimate complaint let the owners try to resolve the problem before you verbally beat them down. Contrary to some unfair online reviews of these establishments, when you spend a night at a well run B & B take time to read the little guest books on the dressers or night stands for your entries and you will find many sweet stories of relaxing stays and even some marriage proposals that have been documented by happy couples. Many folks desire to spend their anniversaries here too. And many guests return for annual visits.

After our groups Sunday breakfast I asked each couple if they would like to return next year for our annual gathering, all but one (due to family concerns) expressed their desire to book a room. We wholeheartedly thank Diane and Ross for a well spent, enjoyable time!

Room Tip: Nice variety of rooms in three price/type categories. Some have outside entry only. Ask proprietors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here over the holiday weekend with six other girls for a college reunion and loved every minute of it. Even from the beginning when I called to book, the owners were so accommodating. They helped me book two rooms that were adjoining suites, so it was very convenient for all of us girls to visit without having to run between separate rooms. We had the Poster Suite and the Sunrise Suite which was a comfortable fit for all seven of us. We had everything we needed including a mini fridge, microwave, and a small coffee pot. If the room didn't have something we needed, the main kitchen in the house did. The rooms were cozy and clean. The back yard area had a grill and patio and access to a volley ball court. We also made use of the basketball hoop in the driveway.

The building itself was beautiful with a cute wooden swing surrounded by flowers. We made use of the pool which was a nice convenience. In the morning, we went down for breakfast, and they reserved a table for us so we could all sit together (which I loved). The breakfast was pretty tasty with lots of options. The owners were accommodating the whole time for anything we needed and were very friendly.

We were really close to Oval Beach and downtown Saugatuck - great location.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone. We all had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We came to celebrate our 10th anniversary & had a delightful experience!

Ross & Diane were fantastic hosts & made our stay warm & welcoming....

We had booked another B&B nearby but they had to cancel their guests stays, pretty last minute, because of their health issues, but they recommended this place to us. We were so thankful they even took us & because the room available had a jacuzzi that did not work (which we knew before coming) they offered us a great discounted rate.

My husband has many food allergies/ restrictions, & they did great job to accommodate us. They also allowed us to use the guest refrigerator to bring a few items we wanted to bring to add to their breakfasts. While we were looking to borrow a few DVDs from their family room, Ross went to install the DVD player in our room.

The first morning we had breakfast there, there were not many other guests since it was a weekday, so they sat down & talked with us when wee were almost finished.
They were super kind, friendly,interesting people & we loved getting to know them.

It's not a fancy place but very nice, homey, comfortable, warm, clean, bright, & convenient.

Our Room, Spring Bouquet, was lovely, clean, & had a skylight which I loved.
The bed was the only area that we thought could be better by being a bit softer.

The location was close to all te places we wanted to visit including South Haven, Saugatuck/Douglas, & Fennville.

Room Tip: We liked our room & feel that if 2 people were staying there, they would want the larger room su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justsaygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I loved the owners at Heritage Manor Inn, Ross and Diane. They were perfect hosts, very knowledgeable about all of the local attractions, treated us like family and gave us some great dining out tips considering my husband's diet restrictions. They were kind enough to include things he could eat in the breakfast, and they let us pick what time we wanted to eat in the morning. The only thing I would have done differently is upsized to the Jacuzzi Room, since the Charming Room we stayed in was a little sparse as far as decor and atmosphere. But there was free wireless and cable TV, and for what we paid, we definitely got our money's worth because of the great hosts. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Suites would be more spacious and comfortable, but the room was great for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in the Tiffany jacuzzi room. The room itself was lovely. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. We were surprised with a bottle of sparkling white grape juice and chocolates waiting for us in our room. The fireplace in the room definitely worked as we had to open the window because it got so hot! The jacuzzi was perfect and was a perfect temperature. The lid to the jacuzzi could have been replaced as it was kind of falling apart, but not a big deal. The bed was a bit hard but my husband and I both have bad backs so any bed is uncomfortable for us, really.They supplied cups in the room, shampoo/conditioner, soap and unlimited towels. Breakfast was delicious both mornings and they keep popcorn, hot drinks and homemade cookies stocked in the mini kitchen available for all guests. When I asked about a blow dryer, as I forgot mine, they didn't hesitate to let me borrow one. And when we said we were used to sleeping with a fan they offered one for us to put in the room. The Inn is close to many restaurants and right down the road from Saugatuck. We felt very welcome and would love to return in the summer when we can enjoy the fun that the warm season brings.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi rooms are the way to go if you are on a romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesman515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fennville
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
12.4 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#8 of 11 in South Haven
144 reviews
5.1 mi away
Seymour House
Seymour House
#5 of 16 in South Haven
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
341 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
3.2 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#4 of 10 in Saugatuck
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Manor Inn

Property: Heritage Manor Inn
Address: 2253 Blue Star Hwy., Fennville, MI 49408
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Fennville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Fennville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Manor Inn offers its guests friendly hospitality set in a peaceful countryside atmosphere. Accommodations include ?Romantic? Jacuzzi/Fireplace rooms and suites, ?Charming rooms, and spacious two bedroom town houses. All of our rooms include queen beds, private baths, cable TV, and air conditioning. Each morning a full buffet breakfast is served in our dining. Our newly remodeled heated indoor pool and whirlpool are great places to unwind, cool off, or take an evening swim. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing