We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic art”

The Rust Belt Market
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Ferndale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted "Best Place to Buy Original Art and Local Craft" by HOUR Detroit magazine, The Rust Belt Market is the intersection of creativity and business. Its founders transformed a vacant big-box store into an event venue and hub of 50+ independent retailers-offering a unique mix of goods both handmade and collected by local artists. Explore and leave inspired.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Plymouth, MI
Level Contributor
191 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Eclectic art”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Interesting artist market. Only open 11-7 on weekends. Artists rent booths & display their items in unique ways. Fun music plays in the background. Enjoyed my visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique, Local Vendors Under One Roof”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Heard about Rust Belt Market from a friend so my sister and I made this our first stop after lunch on the 17th of May.

The Market is all indoors and each vendor has their own unique space to display their goods.

We took our time walking around and spent about 45 minutes. The walkways were very roomy, but access "inside" some of the vendors' areas was a bit more restrictive (i.e. not stroller friendly).

We didn't end up with any purchases but we both agreed to come back
again.

There are restrooms on the premises.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Local Gem and a Variety of Vendors”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Let us start off by emphasizing that you DO NOT have to be a hipster to enjoy this compact conglomeration of local entrepreneurs. Yes, some of the wares are a little expensive but there is plenty of affordable stuff here. Lots of vintage clothing,( the kind of clothing my daughter is loving), delectable palate ticklers, jewelry, woodcarvings, Speedcult steel designs and it is all indoors. Love the idea of buying local. Combine a trip here with some Ferndale eateries and make a day of it. A BIG go to place in my book.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinGault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Pick up a gift for a friend, your mom, your significant other or maybe yourself! Browse all the booths for new quirky items or maybe something vintage. There's art, there's handmade soap and lotions, there's t-shirts, home decor & more! Don't forget to pick up a coffee or some beans from the amazing Henrietta Haus coffee roasters. YUM.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jesikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Why havent I gone sooner?”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This place is so cool! Lots of neat vendors under one roof on the weekends. I went one Sunday afternoon with my daughter and had such a great time. We ended up with a few great finds for bargain prices. There is art, jewelry, clothing, soaps and creams, food, vintage artifacts and housewares, plants and much more. I cant wait to return!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank daystar40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rust Belt Market also viewed

 

Been to The Rust Belt Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing