We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, but crowded” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sloan Museum

Sloan Museum
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Flint
Attraction details
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun, but crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We we here for the grossology exhibit and it was very very busy. It was very hard for the kids to do any of the hands on activities because of so many kids trying to do the same thing. The grossology exhibit was made out to be this huge exhibit and in reality it was just a little room of stuff to do. The kids did have fun but wish it could have been a little bit bigger, and more of the museum not just the one room.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great family fun/educational day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We took our daughter here and enjoyed the Space exhibit. There were lots of hands on activities and plenty of fun even for the adults. We actually bought a Family pass so we could go back later in the year and utilize all that it has to offer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun for everybody!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have visited museums across the country, and the Sloan is one of the best. Their exhibits are fun, entertaining, and interesting. It's great to see places where families can have fun together.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“History of Flint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Sloan Museum is located in the Flint Cultural Center. It has many exhibits detailing the history of Flint. We spent the night there for a Girl Scout outing so we had hands-on participation with many of the exhibits. When we were there the main exhibits were the Bugs! and the Pierson Doll Collection, both of which were amazing. The great thing about this museum is the diversity of the exhibits, which they are constantly adding to. And quite a few of them are hands-on exhibits. You can hear the phone ring and talk to someone from the UAW sit-down strike in 1936. You can view and live a day in the life of a dinosaur, play in a grocery store or follow the history of Flint in every aspect from the 1950's to present day. And cars! Any automobile lover will be fascinated by the antique cars on exhibit. A great place for the family to spend a Saturday!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,137 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
“Touch a moon Rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The current SPACE exhibit, from NASA should not be missed! In this exhibit, you can touch a moon rock, ride a centrifuge, see real NASA artifacts and stuff from space. Admission is now $9 a person but you can buy a "share-a-pass" yearly membership that allows you UNLIMITED admissions to this museum, The Buick Gallery, the Longway Planetarium, and hundreds of museums in the ASTC reciprocal program, all for just $40. WOW!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sloan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing