We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Japanese Bistro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagano Japanese Bistro

Sagano Japanese Bistro
Ranked #4 of 344 Restaurants in Flint
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sagano Flint offers 14 Hibachi Style tables for at your table cooking. Our chefs will prepare your food right before your eyes. We also have a bistro side of the restaurant featuring traditional Japanese food and the best sushi around.
Davisburg, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Japanese Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

WE've been to plenty and the seasoning and food quality can not be beat, the entertainment is the best as well. The sushi is delish!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    14
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The sushi is good, the soup and salads are delicious. The hibachi is also good. I am not a sushi buff, but my friends who are have stated that this sushi restaurant is a lot better than other places they've been to. It's beautifully constructed and delicious.

The staff is nice and helpful, but sometimes there's a female manager (I think) in there and she's really not respectful towards the customers and acts rudely towards them in front of everyone if the customers have an issue. It's childish.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanuka113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mi.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hibachi Dinning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Love this restaurant; the atmosphere is fun, food is excellent and the chef's are entertaining. The soup they serve is to die for and love their salad dressing as well. A top choice for a great meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DocX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Eat grill side and watch the fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Fun hibachi style restaurant. We had chicken, scallops and calamari dishes and all were great. Be sure to save room for dessert though as the fudge cake is to die for.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank momtomitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Let me just say I am not a fan of sitting elbow to elbow with people I do not know. If you are a party of two you will get seated at a table for 10, and there is not a lot of elbow room. It's a very uncomfortable feeling especially if the other people are not very friendly. The few times I have been here I have felt so rushed and so hurried. As soon as they serve you your meat they are bringing you your to go boxes. The food is good, but very pricey for the amount that you get. I just wish that you could order the food at a private table and without all the showmanship. Once you've seen it once you don't really need to see it again, and you should be able to get your own table and order the same stuff. I also wish they would slow down and not rush everyone so much.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sagano Japanese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing