We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING STAFF!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flint
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed here along with my bridal party this weekend. I was getting married at Crossroads Village so my bridal party and I stayed the night before as well as the night of and I cannot say enough great things about this place!!! They gave us a great rate and the rooms were amazing! I was upgraded to a jacuzzi suite for both nights and the room was awesome. Very clean and nice. They even called me the morning of check in to let me know that they had my room ready early for me so I could get checked in and not have to worry about waiting around until the normal 3pm check in. They provided their airport shuttle to take us to and from the venue on Saturday and were so friendly that even I was a little surprised. One of the girls checked into her room and it smelled like the previous visitors had smoked in there so they immediately got her a new room on the same floor without any hassle or waiting.

Norma that does the breakfast is the BEST! The day of the wedding the hotel was pretty full so she opened up a conference room for the girls and I to be able to have breakfast together and kept checking on us asking if we needed anything else. She literally acted like we were the only ones she was focused on and I loved seeing how she walked up to each guests tables while they were eating to make sure everyone was taken care of. You can tell that she truly loves her job and it shows.

After the wedding the shuttle driver called the front desk to have them open a conference room back up for us so we could continue to socialize and enjoy our night without having to worry about disturbing other hotel guests and they gave us the number to have pizza delivered to the conference room for us.

I highly highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area or having a wedding nearby. Everyone there was so excited to see pictures and hear about the wedding and it was great having such wonderful people taking care of us during our stay. We will surely be back on our next trip in town and love how close it is to everything in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedempse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

First, I have to say that we were only in town because of a family member's passing and to attend the funeral services. No one actually visits Flint, MI for pleasure, do they? The room was TINY. I booked 2 for our 6 person family. One with 2 Queens and one with a King & Sleeper Sofa. The only reason we went with the Holiday Inn Express was because they are the only hotel within a 10 mile radius of our location that had refrigerators in the room, guaranteed. If not for that, we would have chosen the Comfort Inn which was about 7 miles away or so. Also, I thought they had an indoor pool for some reason which I hoped would be a nice distraction for the kids under the circumstances...wrong, they didn't have one. Anyway, the rooms were tiny, barely any room to walk around in, and definitely uncomfortable with a baby and toddler and all of their toys/gear! We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and I'm sure housekeeping only came 1 of those days. We also requested a crib when we booked the rooms and when we arrived, they said it (there's only 1 crib for the entire hotel!!!) wasn't available. So the baby slept in the bed with us the entire time. Also, the walls are so thin that the the folks next door to us woke my kids and myself up 3 times in 2 nights having sex so loud I thought they were making a porn video. I actually ran into the guy the second day in the hallway, with my family, so he was aware we had kids in the room and they still went at it the next night. I had to call the front desk the second night at 3 am and they said they'd send security up but that never happened. Look, I'm not against people having sex, but have some respect for your neighbors. And if you know they have kids, do you really want them to hear that? This isn't Motel 6! Moving on...there were no real restaurants in the general area and we had to drive approximately 10-15 minutes to find fast food. I'm not blaming the hotel for this...I'm blaming Flint, MI. Anyway, overall, the price wasn't bad...we paid about $85/night and the breakfast in the morning was the best part of staying there. Sausage, scrambled eggs, pancakes, pastries, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, the whole shabang. The kids definitely enjoyed that. So, if you're looking for a decent place to stay by yourself or as a couple, and enjoy a free breakfast, this is the place for you. If you're looking to be near shopping and/or restaurants or are staying with small children, this is not the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colemangc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear colemangc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A nice, clean and cheap place to stay. Don't be fooled with their driving service-- they are over worked and VERY SLOW to respond to calls! Close-ish to downtown, but the shuttle service's slowness really negates any continence to be had!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLadyof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flintexpressgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for writing a review on the Holiday Inn Express - Flint / Campus Area. We are pleased to hear your wonderful comments about our cleanliness and the value of our Holiday Inn Express. Thank you and we hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's an average hotel. We book it ever year for our family reunion in Lapeer or Flint. (Now I hear there's a new Holiday inn in Lapeer) No pool. No bar even close. Not even a gas station or corner store. Vending machines didn't work except for first floor. Nothing has changed since we last stayed here. This is our last year coming to this hotel.

Oh yeah.....Staff was nice except the one girl who wouldn't give me a late checkout for being an IHG member but gave the rest of my fam of 7 rooms a 1 or 2pm check out. I asked before them and after them and I am the only IHG member in the group. But whatever ;)

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleD1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear MicheleD1066,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept our sincere apology for the issues you have encountered during your stay with us. Rest assured, your valuable comments are noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate department to be addressed accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our travels to the Upper Michigan began here and was a great experience. The area was chosen to allow a good rest before a marathon 4-day tour, and it was a great choice. We have traveled for years, and the "free breakfast" deals have many times been "vending machine" options. Not so here; the breakfast fare was extensive and well prepared. I cannot recall the name of the hostess, but she was fantastic. There were 53 in our group and we all agreed it was far superior to the menu at the #1 rated hotel in Mackinaw City, MI. The facility was clean and the staff was attentive to our needs. The area around the hotel is limited, but the pizza delivery and "party" in the lobby as we headed home made it a memorable end to a enjoyable week.

Room Tip: As there are no specific sites in the area, any room would be acceptable to me when I visit again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatHBlanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were in town to run the Crim 10 mile. Even though we are from the Detroit area it was more convenient to stay in Flint as the race started at 8AM. I am not the most morning oriented person so felt it was better to stay within walking distance of the starting line. This hotel delivered on that accord.

We made our reservations late and I am certain that hotel rooms are at a premium when this race is run however I found it to be a bit of gouging in that they charged us $189 plus tax in order to stay at this hotel. It is kind of like when there is a hurricane and the gas station owners hike gas up to $4 per gallon. Regardless I cannot fault them for trying to make a buck or two as I am certain there is not a ton going on that brings overnight guests to Flint throughout the rest of the year.

Arrived at about 7:30 in the evening and checked in. The ladies at the desk seemed a bit flustered as I am sure they were busier than what they typically would have been. Normal check in procedures. Asked for a late check out and was informed that since "everyone" staying there was running the Crim it would be impossible to give us a later check out. I have been staying at HI Expresses for business and pleasure for many years and have never been refused a later checkout. I was a bit miffed but what are you going to do. Was a little bit PO'd that I just spent $189 on a room and they were going to kick me out by 11:00 the next day. Considering the race would not be done until about 10:30 I would be unable to shower and remove my stuff from the room by checkout. That was most of the rationale for booking the room at that price. Come on! - why else would I pay $189 for a hotel room in Flint??? More on this later.

She also informed us that breakfast would be offered starting at 7:00. Not real good as we would be leaving for the race by then. It turned out that they started breakfast for racers earlier but she never bothered to inform us of that fact. In all she was rather rude and not very helpful but giving her the benefit of the doubt they were probably busier than usual.

The room was standard with a Jacuzzi tub, microwave, and mini fridge. The entire hotel is in need of an update however everything was in working order and clean. The walls seemed thin when comparing to other HI Expresses as I could hear people in the hallway as well as stairwells pretty clearly.

The next morning I made my way to the front desk and spoke with a very pleasant young lady and asked again for a later checkout. I informed her of my Priority Club status (I also informed the attendant the previous evening) and she immediately told me that 1:00 would be fine. That was great customer service by recognizing customers that give their brand repeat business on a regular basis. This hotel just redeemed itself, in my book, by having a professional at the front desk. We were now able to run the race, enjoy a bit of the festivities, and return to clean up and get on the road without having to worry about being charged for an additional evening. We checked out and went to the farmers market across the street. Convenient to that and one of the better markets that I have been to.

All in all I would probably stay here again if ever in need and next year for the same race if we run it. The place would have been rated 4 stars but the rude front desk lady, property in need of updates, and no pool or hot tub knock it down to three.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear CPAExplorer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

There were very few cars in the parking lot and very few people at breakfast, so I suspect a Sunday night in August wasn't a busy time for this Holiday Inn. Maybe it doesn't have any busy times, since it's located in Flint, a blighted city if ever there was one, with vacant property apparently the main industry. I was assured that "there are nice parts of Flint", but I didn't see any on a drive of several miles; in fact I didn't see anyplace I could even get some dinner, except an Arby's. In those surroundings, and in a neighbourhood that consisted mostly of empty space, the Holiday Inn was bright, well-run, and (as far as I could tell) safe. It had the usual comforts, though no pool, and I had no troubles with cleanliness, bugs or anything of the sort. The young man who was working the evening shift at the main desk is an enormous asset to this business and should go far -- he was helpful, courteous, cheerful, well informed, and articulate, and he even remembered my name. Of course there weren't many names to remember that day, but still, I was impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halifaxborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flint Airport Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Flint
Holiday Inn Flint
#4 of 17 in Flint
194 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Flint / Grand Blanc
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flint

Address: 1150 Robert T Longway Blvd, Flint, MI 48503-1851
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range: £63 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Flint Campus area, built in the heart of Flint College, cultural, and business districts. Hotel is located within walking distance of Flint Cultural Center. Campus includes Sloan Museum, Buick Gallery, Longway Planetarium, The Whiting, Flint Youth Theatre, Flint Institute of Arts, Flint Institute of Music, University of Michigan, Flint and Mott Community College. Kettering University, Baker College, Flint CMU & Eastern MI Campus, Delphi, General Motors, Hurley Medical Center and McLaren Regional are just minutes away. Nearby attractions include Cross Roads Village, Sports Creek Raceway, Golf, Perani's Arena, Ice Mountain Complex, Cage Field House, and Flint Iceland Arenas and we are just blocks from the start of the Crim Festival of Races. If it s shopping or dining you seek, several are located in close proximity.'Flint, MI Special Events': Buick Open, Crim Festival of Races, Back to the Bricks, Bikes on the Brick, Sloan Auto Show, MI Renaissance Festival, Flint Jazz Festival, Flint Art Fair, Flint Art Walk, Flint Film Festival, Carry Nation Festival, Assenmacher 100 Bicycle Tour, Golden Memories Car Show, MI Glass Artist Invitational, July 4th Festival, Genesee County Fair Festival of Quilts Please ask about our 'Park Stay & Go Package'. Stay with us, we'll take you to the airport and pick you up, leave your car with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Flint Hotel Flint
Holiday Inn Flint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing