We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Norma Jean is a Gem, Hotel is Standard HIE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flint
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Norma Jean is a Gem, Hotel is Standard HIE”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Standard Holiday Inn Express, room 321 is average size, two queen beds, only drawback is right near the elevator and ice machines. Room was decorated well, was obviously not built as an HIE, but was renovated to be one. Heat worked well, bathroom clean, yet needed a bit of maintenance. Wallpaper edges not clean, shower faucet works backwards and the tube spigot tile is broken. Noise was minimal.

Norma Jean, who works the breakfast buffet, is a superstar. She held her own with a busload of people all trying to get breakfast at the same time as the other guests, with a line sometimes 10 deep, she kept filling, running and insuring guests were getting what they wanted. She stood out as an amazing employee, and when talking to her (she kept the overflow breakfast room going too) she mentioned that she loves to be busy and that her son works there too in security.

Some notes about the area... If staying here be aware there is no on-site restaurant and none in the immediate vicinity, so a car or taxi ride will be necessary to get food. There are a lot of good restaurants a 10 minute drive, but none withing walking distance. Hotel is right by the Michigan's Flint Campus, and a short drive from other area schools and downtown flint.

Would definitely stay again, this time hopefully not on black Friday (the busload of tourists was for Canadians who came to Michigan to black friday shop). The elevators were always packed with the busload moving around when we were. Overall a standard HIE experience, but Norma Jean helped make it special.

Room Tip: 321 was right at elevator... stay at least 3-4 numbers away to keep noise down from ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fistandantalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    48
    24
    17
    19
See reviews for
41
32
12
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I checked in late to the hotel (11:30 pm) and by 9:00AM, my car had been broken into despite having security guard on duty at the time of check-in. When reviewing the damage one of the clerks indicated that she noticed the damage at 7:00am but I wasn't told about the break-in until 9:00AM. The vehicle was parked in front of the hotel and was in clear view of the front lobby. They only response was that you park at your own risk. There were about 10 cars in the parking lot and it took them over two hours to contact me in the room. It was raining as well so the inside of the vehicle was soaked as well. My advise to anyone is to stay there at their own risk and avoid the hotel completely.

Room Tip: Stay away from any hotels in the downtown area of Flint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UBYIDIDIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear UBYIDIDIT,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Flint hotels

Walton, Ontario
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A friend and I who were shopping at the factory outlets at Great Lakes Crossing and Birch Run chose this hotel as all the hotels at Birch Run were either full or too expensive this weekend. This HI Express was the most reasonably priced in the area ($99 for a room with 2 queen beds) and available at the last minute. (Could have got a room in Birch Run, but the rate was quoted at $160, which is ridiculous for a room that would usually be under $100... but the weekends before Christmas are very busy ones at the outlet malls, so prices increase.)
Breakfast was good and exactly what you would expect from any HI Express. Both the front desk staff and the breakfast room attendant were personable and polite. Gina from the front desk called up to the room just after we arrived to check to see if we needed anything, which was a nice touch. The room was spacious, pleasantly decorated and very clean, as were the common areas. The beds were very comfortable. We would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This was a very nice and clean place. I was very comfortable and relaxed. I would totally recommend!!! They had a continental breakfast in the morning that was very good also. I most likely would return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MZTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is unsafe and is misrepresented online. Unsavory characters congregate in the parking lot at night as well as sit in the lobby all day. Rooms are outdated, not as seen in pictures. I had booked a 6 night stay for my mother and I . We checked out after first night and holiday inn Express REFUSED to reimburse us. We were scared to stay there! Under the same circumstances I would do the same again. Got a room at the holiday inn express in Grand Blanc. Great, safe and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Txrunnergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Txrunnergrl,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received services and accommodations that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed here along with my bridal party this weekend. I was getting married at Crossroads Village so my bridal party and I stayed the night before as well as the night of and I cannot say enough great things about this place!!! They gave us a great rate and the rooms were amazing! I was upgraded to a jacuzzi suite for both nights and the room was awesome. Very clean and nice. They even called me the morning of check in to let me know that they had my room ready early for me so I could get checked in and not have to worry about waiting around until the normal 3pm check in. They provided their airport shuttle to take us to and from the venue on Saturday and were so friendly that even I was a little surprised. One of the girls checked into her room and it smelled like the previous visitors had smoked in there so they immediately got her a new room on the same floor without any hassle or waiting.

Norma that does the breakfast is the BEST! The day of the wedding the hotel was pretty full so she opened up a conference room for the girls and I to be able to have breakfast together and kept checking on us asking if we needed anything else. She literally acted like we were the only ones she was focused on and I loved seeing how she walked up to each guests tables while they were eating to make sure everyone was taken care of. You can tell that she truly loves her job and it shows.

After the wedding the shuttle driver called the front desk to have them open a conference room back up for us so we could continue to socialize and enjoy our night without having to worry about disturbing other hotel guests and they gave us the number to have pizza delivered to the conference room for us.

I highly highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area or having a wedding nearby. Everyone there was so excited to see pictures and hear about the wedding and it was great having such wonderful people taking care of us during our stay. We will surely be back on our next trip in town and love how close it is to everything in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedempse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

First, I have to say that we were only in town because of a family member's passing and to attend the funeral services. No one actually visits Flint, MI for pleasure, do they? The room was TINY. I booked 2 for our 6 person family. One with 2 Queens and one with a King & Sleeper Sofa. The only reason we went with the Holiday Inn Express was because they are the only hotel within a 10 mile radius of our location that had refrigerators in the room, guaranteed. If not for that, we would have chosen the Comfort Inn which was about 7 miles away or so. Also, I thought they had an indoor pool for some reason which I hoped would be a nice distraction for the kids under the circumstances...wrong, they didn't have one. Anyway, the rooms were tiny, barely any room to walk around in, and definitely uncomfortable with a baby and toddler and all of their toys/gear! We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and I'm sure housekeeping only came 1 of those days. We also requested a crib when we booked the rooms and when we arrived, they said it (there's only 1 crib for the entire hotel!!!) wasn't available. So the baby slept in the bed with us the entire time. Also, the walls are so thin that the the folks next door to us woke my kids and myself up 3 times in 2 nights having sex so loud I thought they were making a porn video. I actually ran into the guy the second day in the hallway, with my family, so he was aware we had kids in the room and they still went at it the next night. I had to call the front desk the second night at 3 am and they said they'd send security up but that never happened. Look, I'm not against people having sex, but have some respect for your neighbors. And if you know they have kids, do you really want them to hear that? This isn't Motel 6! Moving on...there were no real restaurants in the general area and we had to drive approximately 10-15 minutes to find fast food. I'm not blaming the hotel for this...I'm blaming Flint, MI. Anyway, overall, the price wasn't bad...we paid about $85/night and the breakfast in the morning was the best part of staying there. Sausage, scrambled eggs, pancakes, pastries, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, the whole shabang. The kids definitely enjoyed that. So, if you're looking for a decent place to stay by yourself or as a couple, and enjoy a free breakfast, this is the place for you. If you're looking to be near shopping and/or restaurants or are staying with small children, this is not the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colemangc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flint, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear colemangc,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flint
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
4.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flint
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flint Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Flint
Holiday Inn Flint
#6 of 17 in Flint
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
5.8 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Flint / Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flint

Property: Holiday Inn Express Flint
Address: 1150 Robert T Longway Blvd, Flint, MI 48503-1851
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Flint
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Flint Campus area, built in the heart of Flint College, cultural, and business districts. Hotel is located within walking distance of Flint Cultural Center. Campus includes Sloan Museum, Buick Gallery, Longway Planetarium, The Whiting, Flint Youth Theatre, Flint Institute of Arts, Flint Institute of Music, University of Michigan, Flint and Mott Community College. Kettering University, Baker College, Flint CMU & Eastern MI Campus, Delphi, General Motors, Hurley Medical Center and McLaren Regional are just minutes away. Nearby attractions include Cross Roads Village, Sports Creek Raceway, Golf, Perani's Arena, Ice Mountain Complex, Cage Field House, and Flint Iceland Arenas and we are just blocks from the start of the Crim Festival of Races. If it s shopping or dining you seek, several are located in close proximity.'Flint, MI Special Events': Buick Open, Crim Festival of Races, Back to the Bricks, Bikes on the Brick, Sloan Auto Show, MI Renaissance Festival, Flint Jazz Festival, Flint Art Fair, Flint Art Walk, Flint Film Festival, Carry Nation Festival, Assenmacher 100 Bicycle Tour, Golden Memories Car Show, MI Glass Artist Invitational, July 4th Festival, Genesee County Fair Festival of Quilts Please ask about our 'Park Stay & Go Package'. Stay with us, we'll take you to the airport and pick you up, leave your car with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Flint Hotel Flint
Holiday Inn Flint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing