We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRC - a memorable get-away in the mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AMC Cold River Camp
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“CRC - a memorable get-away in the mountains”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family's fourth generation continues to go to Cold River Camp each summer. What is nice is that they have opened up partial weeks for folks that can not come for a whole week. You may come either from Saturday to Wednesday am, or Wednesday am to Saturday am. The weeks runs from Saturday to Saturday.

Cold River Camp is great for families, couples, singles, empty nesters, older folks, really anyone who enjoys making new friends, and appreciates nature and all the White Mountains of New Hampshire have to offer. We have made life-long friends over the decades that our family has been coming.

Cabins are rustic but clean, with kerosene lamps, and you have all you need to make a crackling cozy fire as you drift off to sleep. You awaken to a foggy sunrise over the mountains, birds singing, and a scrumptious breakfast served family style in the main lodge by friendly "Crew", as is dinner. Breakfasts are pancakes, or french toast: with sausage or bacon, alternated with egg dishes, such as spinach omelet, or eggs benedict/florentine.

The meals are delicious, and plentiful, whether it is BBQ night outside or Friday "dress up" night, inside with tablecloths. At this meal they served butternut squash soup, salad, mushroom risotto and swordfish steak!
The Lunch table has makings for a brown bag lunch, with many selections from which to choose.

Although Cold River is predominantly a hiking camp - we have gone on many of the shorter and longer hikes up beautiful mountains. The hikes are varied and led by knowledgeable leaders. However, there are many other activities nearby. There is canoeing and kayaking, swimming in mountain pools, rivers and lakes. The Cold River is a late afternoon favorite. Bicycles are available to borrow, or we bring our own and cycle the scenic Evans Notch road.

Slightly farther, Mount Washington auto road and cog railway (train) take you up to the alpine summit of the tallest mountain in the east. Additionally, "Santa's Village", and Whale's Tale Waterpark promise a day of fun for families.- we often went there when we were younger.

Antiquing, browsing in stores of quaint nearby towns, or outlet shopping in North Conway,- one of our favorite rainy day activities - offer opportunities to bring home souvenirs and treasures.

But the best "treasure" and memories are those found reconnecting with family and friends, away from the pressures of daily life, and the friendliness and camaraderie experienced with others at this mountain escape!

Room Tip: "Ravine" cabins are for two, and many have a view. Cox cabin has a lovely porch, and Notc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Toscana, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a perfect place for a family vacation, with activities ranging from relaxation by the stream to serious technical hiking in the local area. Family-style meals served in the lodge, private cabins throughout the wooded property, evening activities together. A little paradise that time has forgot nestled into the White Mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our family has been going to Cold River Camp for 20 years and I hope we keep going for another 20. My wife and I have been White Mountain hikers since we were teenagers but our daughter is not a big hiker. It's a big part of her summer because of the community of kids that develops each week and the fact that there are always easy hikes as well as more challenging ones. And of course she always looks forward to there being one rainy day in the week which usually means a trip to Zeb's General Store in North Conway. The managers are great, the college kids who serve breakfast and dinner and put out the makings for trail lunches are hard working and friendly, and the cook's offerings are always plentiful and good to excellent. The volunteer hike leaders and naturalists are well trained and make hiking on unfamiliar trails safe and rewarding. I very familiar with all the mountains in all the White Mountain notches: Franconia, Crawford, and Pinkham. Evans Notch, where Cold River Camp is, is different in that there's more variety; more medium and small mountains, more wildlife, and more fields, ponds, swimming holes, and blueberry patches.

Room Tip: Couples without children can stay in two person cabins on the "Ledge" with great morning s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Bring your friends and share the rustic setting with a spectacular view of Baldface Mountain. You drive into the camp to your cabin and unload, then the cars go over to the lot and kid's bicycles become the mode for them in camp and to the river. The camp manager "parents" take care of your needs, and hike leaders and a camp naturalist offer various level hikes or walks, and an evening program each night. Sometime the week is very musical with fiddles, harp, piano and songbooks depending on the crew and guests. Sometimes there are wild board games or card games or word games. Sometimes there is yoga, bird watching, geology, star gazing, watercolor painting, a 4th of July parade, etc. The area is unique in the availability of mines and the opportunity to go prospecting for amethyst, feldspar, quartz, beryl, and mica. Camp has geological hammers and safety goggles. Sometimes moose are spotted. We have been going for 20 years and bring our friends, and have a fabulous week.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Meaderview M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I saw a write-up about Cold River Camp in 1974 and signed up my family (children were 2 and 4 that year) for a week in August, figuring if we didn't like it we could always bail out. We liked it -- a lot -- and we've gone back every year ever since (except the year I broke my ankle in July). It is more than a hiking camp. It is a social experience and some of the best friends in my life are folks I've met at Cold River Camp.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonDevine2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Silver, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Cold River Camp has been an AMC facility for almost 100 years, and evokes the feeling of a bygone era in the best of ways. Lovely lodge with inviting hearth and porch for relaxing; rustic cabins; in a beautiful secluded valley away from the touristy venues of the White Mts. Terrific hiking locally, but also within striking distance of the Presidentials. Or North Conway if that's your thing. Family atmosphere where kids play together; informal elective evening activities. Shared bath houses with flush toilets and hot showers so we can clean up good at the end of a day. We were first guests there 30 years ago, and keep coming back. Our two now-grown sons still come back. We love day hiking in the Whites and treasure CRC as a quiet, comfortable, sociable place to unpack and settle in for a week, from which to venture out, on led hikes or on our own.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Cold River Camp is a traditional White Mountain hiking camp with a range of experiences and opportunities. It is a place to discover the social aspects of hiking with family or with friends. Qualified leaders hike with groups every day or get expert advice of less traveled paths for your preference in places- challenging 4,000 footers, easy paths to water features for lunch or ledges with great views. The Cold River is dammed for nearby swimming when you get back, small cabin lodging and delicious breakfast and dinner served with trail lunches provided. A welcoming porch with rocking chairs and a view of Bald Face is the option for those who sit a day out with a book. Weekly led canoe trip and evening programs. Relax and remember what it means to have the time to spent with family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2twins91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to AMC Cold River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMC Cold River Camp

Property: AMC Cold River Camp
Address: 32 Amc Rd, Chatham, NH 03813-5201
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Chatham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Appalachian Mountain Club's Cold River Camp has been providing guests an authentic traditional New England hiking camp experience for nearly 100 years. Cold River Camp is a community-oriented camp in the beautiful and unspoiled Cold River Valley in the eastern portion of the White Mountains. Daily hiking is the primary activity, on led group hikes or on your own, with a swim in Cold River afterward as a particular reward. Evenings are spent relaxing, perhaps with a book or chatting with other guests, feet up on the lodge porch or in front of the massive stone fire place, or engaging in lively board games, weekly dances, or presentations by trip leaders, and other low-keyed activities. Appetizing dinners and breakfasts are served family style in the lodge; you make your own trail lunch from provisions put out in the morning. Accommodations are rustic cabins. Separate male and female hot showers and flush toilets are provided. Locally there are terrific trails, summits and water features. Guests are also within striking distance of the Presidential range and much of the rest of the White Mountains area. In addition to hiking there are great opportunities for canoeing/kayaking and road (paved and Forest Service) biking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing