We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hotel condition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I am a huge fan of Marriott properties, and of Springhill Suites and Fairfield Inns in particular. The location of this property was awesome, but the condition of the hotel was disappointing. Old, dark formica surfaces on doors really dated the room. And the wallpaper was also dated and, um, ugly. Elevators, a little creepy Pool, very small. The hotel was very clean, but felt like it had been converted from a Ramada. Staff seemed overwhelmed; hard to talk with someone at front desk. Also, they bus in disabled workers (which is a great thing), but they were not well supervised. There was a loud dust-up between two workers while we were headed to the elevator. (Compare this property to the new Springhill in Waukegan, Il, and this one doesn't even register on the "stayable" meter. The new Waukegan Springhill is awesome, awesome, awesome.)

In its favor is the hotel's great location. Frankenmuth is a fabulous town to visit, and we had a great time.

The hotel stay was not a complete loss, since I earned some Marriott points!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TLC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed here for the second time this year. The rooms were clean, roomy and the beds comfortable. There is a coffee maker and fridge in each room, two beds and a pull out sofa bed.

The breakfast was hot and plentiful. The pool and spa were very clean. There were also "adult only" hours in the pool area in the evening that were enforced.

The best part was the location. It is within walking distance of the main attractions of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oaks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This hotel was on the main street at the edge of the business area and easy walking distance for the sights. Suite was fine-only one TV that straddled the rooms. WI FI was available. Breakfast was adequate-the usual continental breakfast fare.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaceA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We came to Frankenmuth to see what all the "hype" was about and were not disappointed. The hotel allowed us to check in early which left us with the 1st good impression. The room was huge with room for an additional cot if needed, with plenty of walking room. The hotel has that cute German "Fachwerk" charm on the outside. Unfortunately, it was not followed through into the inside, but still looked nice.
The indoor pool was one of the largest we had seen on our 17 day trip. The exercise room was also quite adequate. Breakfast the next morning was sufficient, not offering as much as a Holiday Inn Express, but still a nice selection.
All in all, we enjoyed our brief stay in this hotel and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creativetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Our stay at the Springhill Suites in Frankenmuth was good from beginning (with Ed who checked us in) to end (with Darcy who helped us to ship back some clothes). The other reviews on this page are spot on. Clean, convenient, reasonably priced hotel in the downtown area of Frankenmuth with friendly staff and a complimentary breakfast worth waking up for. If in Frankenmuth again, we would definitely stay here and will recommend the hotel to family and friends. Robert & Colette, Newmarket, Ontario

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Perfect spot to stay while visiting Frankenmuth. Many tourist sites are within walking distance of the hotel. Our studio suite was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was slightly disappointing - small seating area, limited choices. Personnel of the hotel were friendly and very helpful to those needing information about the area of Frankenmuth.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMUmomPortAustin_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

A studio suite, 2 queen beds, 1 sleeper sofa, mini frig, microwave and coffee pot in the room, with a very nice seating area divided by a 1/2 wall for $94.00. The beds and linens were wonderfully comfortable and very clean with 4 oversized feather pillows per bed. The room was very nicely decorated and pleasing to the eye. A nice sized, clean pool open until 11pm. A great free breakfast consisting of sausage, bagels, muffins, english muffins, waffles, cold cereals, oatmeal with all the fixings, yogurt, juice, coffee and more served until 9am. We had a great experience with this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joli134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
527 reviews
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Birch Run-Frankenmuth, MI
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth

Address: 530 S Main St, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1618
Region: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth is the perfect hotel in Frankenmuth, Michigan for a business or leisure trip. Our all-suite accommodations are ideally situated in the city's quaint Little Bavaria neighborhood, a short distance from Birch Run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Frankenmuth Hotel Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites By Marriott Frankenmuth Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing