We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful three day stay at Bavarian inn”
Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful three day stay at Bavarian inn”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have stayed at quite a few of the hotels in the birch run/Frankenmuth area. Staying At the Bavarian inn just makes us know that we missed the best. The rooms are clean and the family histories make it special. The pools are great. We love swimming so the pools are important. The first night we ate in the restaurant. The four course meal was the best we had this whole time. Breakfasts are great as well. We highly recommend staying here for a great R & R. We will be back again. Hopefully soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisePatrishkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Denise P.,

Thank you so much for entrusting the Lodge with your couples get-a-way R&R recently! So glad you enjoyed the four course meal in Oma's. We LOVE to serve it as it is so FUN! Glad you like the special touches of the family histories. We do feel a closer bond to the community as the entire town helped make these histories and photos come to life in the 360 guestrooms. We look forward to serving you for YEARS to come!

With Sincere Appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,867
    489
    172
    83
    59
See reviews for
1,830
785
40
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

From the moment I walked in I was Impressed!! everyone smiling & asking how they could help! Joan at the front desk was amazing!! Also Constance in the lounge!! food choices were abundant! Room was PERFECT!! Will be back again for sure and will bring others with!!! Hands down the BEST place to stay in all of FRANKENMUTH!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulhenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Paul Henk,

Thank you so kindly for your specifics on what you enjoyed at the Lodge. We greatly appreciate all feedback. I will share your comments with Joan at the Front Desk and Constance in the Lorelei Lounge via their upcoming Department meetings! Your kind words and their amazing attitutudes will be celebrated at that time by ALL!

We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to serving your family for generations to come!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Our family has been staying at the Bavarian Inn the weekend of Thanksgiving for the past thirty years. We gather from different parts of Michigan and meet there to start our Christmas season. I have always received the best service as well as clean rooms and all the entertainment I need, There is no need the leave the Inn after check in as everything is there. I always have the best meals in the family crest room of the Bavarian Inn restaurant. The best chicken dinner anywhere. The staff and all employees couldn't be any nicer. I also appreciate having the option of reserving the same rooms year after year as it makes it feel more like home. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: There all good rooms, if you have kids ask for a room close to the game room and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Keith H.,

We are so honored to have served your family since we opened the Lodge. Being a part of a families tradition for generations and getting to watch children grow up and bring their children is the ultimate "thank you" any hotelier could ask for. We are honored to have these traditions and relationships with guests at all the various Holidays and appreciate YOU entrusting this responsibility on us.

Merry CHRISTmas and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

All of us at the Bavarian Inn Lodge

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have made a tradition of staying at the Motor Lodge on Thanksgiving weekend. We look forward each year to our stay. We are always happy with the food, all the ammenities that are there, and we always enjoy going to the Lorelei Lounge, and listening to the wonderful music of Marty Viers. We book for the next year before we leave. It's a wonderful place to kick off the holidays. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dearu Sue L.,

We LOVE being a part of traditions & are pleased that you have a Thanksgiving tradition with us. Thank you for your kind words on the Thanksgiving buffet and on your overall experience. Wishing you and your family a Merry CHRISTmas and a Happy New Year! See you next year!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Township, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Bavarian Inn Lodge feels like home to me! Several times a year, my daughter and I take a "Girls Getaway" trip to Frankenmuth. The only place I would EVER consider staying at in Frankenmuth is the Bavarian Inn Lodge. From the time you enter the lobby until you wave goodbye to another WONDERFUL adventure, you are always guaranteed to have courteous, friendly, knowledgeable staff that add so much to giving one that "homey" feeling. Without leaving the building, you can dine, shop, zoom down water slides, play miniature golf, swim, luxuriate in a hot tub, play arcade games, and just plain relax on one of their very comfy beds! I can't wait to go again! You would really enjoy your stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge too! I highly recommend this lodge to all!

Room Tip: Every room provides optimum comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMB743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear PMB743,

We are so honored to have you as an Ambassador for the Bavarian Inn Restaurant and Lodge. Thank you so much for your recent visit (and many numerous ones) and for your kind words on this site. We enjoyed your defining your stay as an "adventure" and we look forward to serving you and your family for generations to come!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This place is awesome, especially if you like chicken! The meals in the area are loaded, so you may wish to split a chicken dinner instead of having a ton, I mean a ton, of leftovers that you wish you could keep eating but can't! From the quaint village, brew pub, tourist atmosphere to the authentic German cooking, Bavarian architecture and really nice attendants, you'll feel like you just entered a little village in German or middle Europe somewhere with all that it has to offer. There's a covered bridge built without nails, shops with authentic gifts and trinkets and down the road, there is the largest Christmas store you will ever visit - Bonner's. Lots of charm, lots of grace, lots of wholesome atmosphere and fun!

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view of the river that are probably the most desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frustrated_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Frustrted_11,

Glad you had no frustrations with your stay at Bavarian Inn Lodge! Thank you so much for your wonderful narrative on your overall Bavarian Inn experience. We truly hope to become a tradition with your family in the future! Our goal is to help families create special memories together. We wish for that opportunity to do so with YOU!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O. - Serving Bavarian Inn Guests for 36 Years -
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Bavarian Inn for Black Friday weekend. It was very close to everything that we wanted to do that weekend, including the Candlewalk at the River Place Shops and tree lighting ceremony. We liked that the hotel gave us a coupon book for all the local businesses so we saved money that way.

The room we had was very spacious because we ended up with a corner room near the courtyard entrance. We enjoyed the adult only swimming pool as the everyone pool was packed with kids.

The only downside to the hotel was the elevator malfunctioning near the lobby, which was especially bothersome at 10am on Sunday morning (when everyone was checking out). Luckily we were only on the second floor so we took the stairs.

Overall, a great hotel with a great location and we definitely will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Karen Sue,

Thanks so much for staying with us on the Holiday weekend. So sorry for one of our 5 guestroom elevators having challenges. So happy you started the CHRISTmas season with us at the Lighting ceremony. I too was in attendance and felt so happy singing Christmas Carols with several thousand other people - great way to start the season. We hope to serve you and your family for generations to come!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge

P.S. I took photos of the lighting ceremony and shared on the Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Facebook page. In case you want to share your experience with family or friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Frankenmuth
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Birch Run/Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth
Bavarian Inn Lodge Frankenmuth, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing