We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice getaway"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Certificate of Excellence
River Rouge, Michigan
1 review
“"Nice getaway"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Me. my nephew and my grand children had the best time of our life. I woke up that evening and made a quick reservation on-line and drove an hour and thirty minutes. The Bavarian Inn Lodge is very comfortable and fun for the kids to enjoy the pool. I also enjoyed the food at both restaurants. We had great room service and I spent plenty money at the gift shop. Yes, we will be back and I recommend everyone to at least try it once.

Room Tip: All of the employees are very nice and I recommend the chicken sandwich with parmesan and cheese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valetaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear ValetAward:

THANKYOU for your kind review and your stay with us at the Lodge. Sounds like your family had an opportunity to have a great time together and that is what we are ALL ABOUT! We will keep the place sparkly and clean and the food tasty for your next arrival!

With Great Appreciation,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,804
    476
    168
    82
    57
See reviews for
1,791
765
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I got away from our kids for one night in just shy of 3 years. This was a terrible place for a couple to go. The room had no insulation. Normal conversation next door kept us awake until well after midnight. We tried to order a bottle of wine and the bartender had no clue about anything they had. The room was 80 style small and thin bedding. The TV required moving furniture and manipulating the plug some before it would turn on. The next morning we were met with a cold showers. When we tried to express our frustration the front clerk didn't even try to apologize. She just said to leave a note and housekeeping would bring it down. Somehow I have my doubts. Don't waste your money. Really this is barely a notch above a motel 6.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Audry,

I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your get-a-way to the Bavarian Inn Lodge. I'm not able to identify your guestroom number or date of stay from your review, but I am surprised your had such a noise problem. It is always disappointing when neighboring guestrooms are disruptive. I am not aware of any room with continued long-term noise issues between rooms due to insulation. Rooms with connecting doors are at higher risk of allowing noise but there are two insulated doors for every connecting location.

You definitely should not have to have unplugged and replugged in the TV. It sounds like you had to and that is a known problem I have experienced on rare occasion with our current Televisions. I am sorry you had to do this.

We did have one morning recently where a boiler burner had failed and did have a lack of hot water for a portion of the building. I suspect if you had cold water, this must have been the date.

I understand how multiple challenges accumulate and clearly impact a stay. The TV alone, might have been nothing, but with cold water and noise from neighbors, it is a bad experience. I would ask that you email me (jimengel@bavarianinn.com) and I would like to make this up to you. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We loved our stay at the Bavarian Inn Lodge, and can't wait to come back again!! Our 8 grandson's had so much fun!! It is very versatile for different generations to enjoy, and we all hated for the weekend to end. Everyone at the Hotel was friendly, and accommodating in every way, the Hotel was very well maintained and clean… loved the Sunday brunch!! Can't say enough good things about this stay… Linda M

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Linda M.,

I'm so glad that you have fun with our staff, the amenities and food within the Lodge. Thank you for joining us over the Holiday Break. We truly hope we can be a part of your future visits to Frankenmuth!

Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

My family and I visit the Bavarian Inn Lodge regularly. We just love the warm welcome we receive when checking in and in each area of the lodge. The staff is very friendly and makes us feel like we are family. The décor is very charming, the amenities offer something for everyone. The food is great too! The service is absolutely top notch!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for your frequent visits and for sharing your kind words with others on this site! We will keep working hard to keep the place FUN for your next return visit. Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have stayed at the Bavarian Inn several times and every time has been a wonderfull experience. We recently stayed there on December 20th for 3 nights, and had a wonderful time. When we were ready to check out we had some car problems and had to take the car to a repair shop, we know the car would not be done by check out, the extended our check out time until 3 pm at no extra charge so we would not have to wait in the lobby. That is why this is our favorite place to stay, they are always so wonderful to there guest. The hotel and all the amenities, the staff, the rooms and the food are the best.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all parts of the hotel all the rooms are within walking distance to whatever you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Charlene K.,

So glad we could assist you in the small way when your car failed you. Thank you for your loyalty. We will always look forward to serving you again in the future. So glad you enjoy the amenities, food and especially our team. I'm so very proud to work with all of them!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My family was one of the thousands of Michigan residents who lost their power for several days during the Christmas holidays. The Bavarian Inn and Lodge was one of only a very few area hotels that offered a discounted rate to those affected by the power outage. My son and I could not stay in our cold house, so we were very grateful to have a warm, safe place to stay. It is encouraging to find that a local business is run by people who care and who showed us kindness throughout the three days that we stayed there.

From the time we checked in until the time we left, we were treated professionally and politely. I'm disabled, and since it was winter, I was concerned about a long walk from the parking lot to our room, but the front desk clerk easily managed to accommodate my request to be near an entrance and close to an elevator. We were given a first floor room, and there were plenty of handicapped parking spaces near all of the entry doors. There are several entrances to the hotel, and the parking lot is very large, so we had no trouble at all with this issue. In addition, we wanted to go into town, but not worry about parking, so we were able to take a free shuttle from the Bavarian Inn Lodge to the Bavarian Inn and back again. This was very convenient and we never had to wait very long for it--it runs every ten to fifteen minutes and also stops at the cute little River Place Mall which is quite close to the lodge. Our room was very comfortable. The beds have several pillows and very soft blankets, and the t.v. is a newer style flat-screen t.v. The shower was updated with a curved shower rod and a wonderful shower head. My only discomfort was that the bathroom was very small. I remembered this from a previous visit, though. Changing clothes and drying off after a shower were both very challenging in such a small space, so I ended up having to open the door and dry off in the area right outside the bathroom. This could be difficult for people traveling with a large group. For me, I just waited until my son was asleep to take my shower. Just know that this is an issue, especially for anyone who is larger than average.

In addition to a friendly staff and comfortable rooms, the inn has a lot of activities for kids to do. My son is ten, and he had a wonderful time in the arcade area and playing miniature golf on the indoor putt-putt course. He also enjoyed the pools and the water slides. There was a lot to do to keep his mind off of the fact that we were not in our home for Christmas. When he was done playing, we were able to get take-out pizza from the Ratskeller cafeteria area near the arcade, and take the pizza back to our room. It was delicious.

We will be back to stay again. I'd recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a comfortable, friendly place to stay, especially if they have kids. It is conveniently located and the people there have heart.

Room Tip: Join the "Perks" club . It will save you money and the points add up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Skye9988:

We are so pleased we could serve you when you lost power during the recent ice storm. It certainly was a wild time where it took almost a week for some to get power restored. Thank you for your detailed description of your stay. Glad your 10 year old son could have some FUN when Christmas was a bit disrupted!

We hope to serve you again some day, when there is no personal stress of a frozen home.

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The whole family enjoyed themselfs. There are a variety of activities to do under one roof. We plan on making this a yearly adventure :) My kids really enjoyed the 2 pools and hot tubs. It felt like we had a lot of options to keep us entertained.

Room Tip: We had a room with an outside view. I would book this room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Engel, General Manager at Bavarian Inn Lodge, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Stacy,

Thank you for bringing your family to the Lodge and taking in some of the indoor fun in the warm waterpark environment when it is snowing outside! We will work hard to keep creating entertaining experiences! Hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jim Engel, C.O.O.
Bavarian Inn Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankenmuth
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
The Marv Herzog Hotel
The Marv Herzog Hotel
#4 of 8 in Frankenmuth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Frankenmuth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankenmuth
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Frankenmuth
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn Lodge

Property: Bavarian Inn Lodge
Address: 1 Covered Bridge Ln, Frankenmuth, MI 48734-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Frankenmuth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Frankenmuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bavarian Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian Inn Lodge is a treasure in the heart of downtown Frankenmuth - Michigan's #1 tourist attraction. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Cass River, the Lodge is a world-class getaway destination for families and couples. The Bavarian Inn Lodge of Frankenmuth is about gathering. For generations, millions of people have come here to stay and play, to be welcomed with our home-cooked chicken dinners, delightfully cozy beds, and warm Bavarian hospitality. It's like stepping into the heart of Europe without a passport or the jet lag! •360 European-themed guest rooms, including whirlpool, family suites and balcony rooms •Indoor water park with four indoor pools;three whirlpools & two large waterslides.•Four tennis courts (two with nighttime play). •Three-story European-style courtyard with one indoor pool and whirlpool reserved especially for adults. •18-Hole indoor miniature golf. •The largest Family Fun Center in any Midwest hotel with 110+ video and redemption games, air hockey, and pool tables.•Two-story Children's Village play area. •Two lounges, two restaurants, two gift shops (stop in at Michael's Gift Shop to check out board games galore).•Gourmet Coffee Bar in Martha's Gift Shop.•Free live nightly entertainment including sing-a-longs and Karaoke. •Free WIFI internet with over 50 hotspots throughout public areas and in guestrooms. •An abundance of public areas for your family or group to gather and socialize. America's FIRST Living Room Styled Water Park! Yet... A couples paradise with an adult only pool and whirlpool! Oh yes... Parking is always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bavarian Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Frankenmuth
Bavarian Resort Frankenmuth
Frankenmuth Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Inn Frankenmuth Mi
Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn Lodge Resort
Bavarian Lodge Frankenmuth
Bavarian Frankenmuth
Bavarian Inn Lodge Frankenmuth, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing